We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will NEVER stay there again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Saratoga Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I would only recommend this hotel to individuals who are looking to over pay for sub-par accommodations. We attended a wedding reception in the “Courtyard” at Longfellows. The reception was lovely and the food fantastic, however, our stay in the hotel was horrific. A number of our friends stayed in the rooms attached to the hotel- the decor is outdated, the rooms are dingy and the bathrooms are old and in need of repair. We stayed in the other building which although much newer, was very poorly constructed. The tiles on the bathroom floor popped under your feet as did the shower stall. The caulk around the bathroom was dirty and peeling, the walls were sticky, and the door to the bathroom hit your knees as you sat on the commode- a very poor design. The air conditioning in the room only had a HI/LO setting consequently, we were either freezing or sweating. Moreover, the floor would have been more comfortable than our King size bed. In fact, my Husband and I had such a poor night’s sleep we got up at 7am and checked out to drive home! To add insult to injury, after the hotel charged our credit card for the full stay at the time of booking (90 days before our stay-an almost $400 charge), then they had the audacity to charge our credit card again upon check-in for any “incidental expenses” which we might incur (as opposed to simply settling your bill at check-out). I wouldn’t stay at Longfellows again if you paid me. Next time, I’ll go down the road to the Marriott.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jdberner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 403 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

Great place, fresh air, nice rooms, and what a restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReneSheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Review is based on overnight stay and attendance at a wedding at Longfellows. We came a day early and reserved the lower level suite at the Inn. Rooms were exceptionally clean and large. For $300 a night, we would have expected a few upgrades- two ply toilet paper and a newer mattress. The mattress must be from day one when this place opened. Absolutely no comfort! Don't plan to sleep much since you will hear the guests in the next room and all the mechanical equipment outside. The biggest surprise (or disappointment) was the "deluxe complimentary breakfast" that included coffee/juice and a few muffins. Definately not a bargain for the price paid.

Anyways, the wedding was awesome. Food was very good and service was adequate. Lovely atmosphere and very well maintained.

Would recommend....

Room Tip: Call directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Stayed at the Inn for one night (thank goodness) to attend a wedding reception there. The king bed/loft room we were assigned looked as if it was constructed and furnished during Longfellow's lifetime. Peeling wallpaper, old fixtures, and a TV so decrepit that I thought turning it on would bring back "The Ed Sullivan Show." Lofts are generally not a good idea in a hotel room, especially if there's ready access to a bar or restaurant that serves beer, if you get my meaning, but the experience is good for the leg muscles. But the room's highlight, or, if you will, lowlight, was its skylight. Ah, a room with a skylight you might say, gee, that sounds bright and cheery. Well, yes, that would be true if the large (something like 6 by 2 feet) aperture wasn't placed directly over the bed! So, you go there for a restful weekend and are awakened at dawn by the impending day, though I must admit it's kind of interesting to lay there wide awake and mark the passage of the clouds for the hours you would otherwise be slumbering. I thought we might have been assigned a room for the blind but could find no braille messages, so I guess we were just unlucky because not all rooms are so benighted or, better said, belighted. I complained, the staff stared and lowered their heads. What else could they do? One can't expect them to undo a stay ruined, certainly not by offering a refund of the stiff, off-season rate of c. $180. The upshot is that if you have a farming background, or perhaps rise early for a run or to catch the very beginning of 6 AM TV programing, this is the place for you. As for us, don't think we're going to be, ahem, alighting there again any time soon.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TMS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Go for the indulgence package - you can't beat the great massages by Jill and Gwen, the dinner package which includes just about anything on the menu and the friendly and personal service from the hotel staff and especially the manager!
Would love this rate in the summer, but for now we will settle for this mid-winter treat!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenfromSyracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LongfellowsTeam, General Manager at Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2011

From all of us here at Longfellows...Thank You! We're all working very hard to make sure our guests have the kind of experience you've described! We're thrilled you had such a wonderful escape and sincerely appreciate your words of kindness! We've shared with all our staff your compliments and hope we'll see you again...before those August rates!

Dan Fortier
General Manager
Longfellows Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saratoga Springs hotels
5.7 km away
The Gideon Putnam
The Gideon Putnam
#9 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,221 reviews
5.2 km away
Saratoga Arms
Saratoga Arms
#2 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
612 reviews
5 km away
The Inn at Saratoga
The Inn at Saratoga
#8 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratoga Springs
Embassy Suites by Hilton Saratog...
#3 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
900 reviews
5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Springs Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Saratoga Sp...
#5 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
1,515 reviews
5 km away
Pavilion Grand Hotel
Pavilion Grand Hotel
#6 of 34 in Saratoga Springs
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center

Address: 500 Union Ave, Saratoga Springs, NY 12866-6426
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Saratoga Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saratoga Springs
#11 Business Hotel in Saratoga Springs
Price Range: ₹ 7,995 - ₹ 12,380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We specialize in making the everyday exceptional; providing outstanding service; and offering an experience you will treasure. Located one mile from the Northway, we are nestled on the countryside just minutes from downtown Saratoga and away from the hustle and bustle. We pride ourselves on offering a relaxing, stress-free environment where we get to know our guests by name. We’ll take care of your dinner reservations, shuttle you to and from town and remember your favorite paper. We offer spacious guest rooms, luxurious lofts and executive suites with numerous amenities to provide all the comforts of home. At our adjacent restaurant, you’ll enjoy award-winning cuisine and a wine list that’s earned Wine Spectator’s recognition for over eight years. Please be advised that menu items and prices are subject to change based on market prices and at Chef's discretion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longfellows Hotel, Restaurant, Hotel Saratoga Springs
Longfellows Hotel Saratoga Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing