We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“old fashioned but warm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porcupine Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saranac Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Porcupine Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Saranac Lake B&B and Inns
Biella, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“old fashioned but warm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

you can breath the atmosphere of the past here. We stayed in the Bartlett suite which is very big and confortable, but the room we liked best is the beautiful dining room where Amy (the innkeeper) served us a delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    12
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
69
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

It was our first stay ever at a B&B and when we first drove up we were a little reluctant that we had made the right choice choosing a B&B over a hotel, based on the outside appearance of the Porcupine. It has a very "haunting" look to it! However, once we were greeted at the front door by Meg, and we stepped inside, our whole opinion changed. The inside was very clean and cozy and Meg was very informative as to sites and restaurants to visit. If you are looking for a nice relaxing place to stay after site seeing all day, the Porcupine is the place to staty. Thanks for everything Meg!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5greatkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

It is not the lap of luxury, but that's not why we come to the Adirondacks or Saranac Lake for. The Porcupine Inn was built as a 'cure home' for a TB patient and has a lovely back porch where you can envision patients taking the outdoor 'cure'. It was stifling hot outside but the non-airconditioned home stayed cool and we slept under blankets with only a ceiling fan on low and windows open.

Meg, the owner, was helpful and well meaning, anxious to give a real B+B experience and succeeded with a wonderful breakfast, helpful advice, and nurturing a welcoming atmosphere (the pool table lighting is cool).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChasFed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

Pros: Quiet location, large rooms, decent breakfast (although meager in size), pool table, hottub

Cons: The place is run down,not clean, beds are from Motel 6, the property is overgrown and not well tended. I paid $543 for two nights and and would say this is surely not a luxury Inn...I would expect the price for this to be in the $90 to $100 per night range based on how tired and unattractive the whole property is.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TinaFaye48301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We had an absolutely fantastic time at this beautiful b&b. The property is very well cared-for and the owner is very charming and very knowledgeable about the area. The bed was very comfortable and luxurious and the breakfasts were outstanding. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KellieM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saranac Lake
2.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
#1 of 8 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
10.1 km away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
12.4 km away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
11.3 km away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
6.0 km away
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
Kiwassa Lake Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porcupine Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcupine Inn

Property: Porcupine Inn
Address: 350 Park Ave, Saranac Lake, NY 12983
Region: United States > New York > Saranac Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saranac Lake
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,055 - ₹ 16,758
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself with Adirondack charm in Saranac Lake's largest, luxury inn overlooking the forest and mountains. This one-of-a-kind historic lodge features 6 fireplaces, an outdoor jacuzzi, a billiard lounge, wine & beer bar, gourmet kitchen ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porcupine Hotel Saranac Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing