We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You, Winter Clove for another great vacation!”
Review of Winter Clove Inn

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Winter Clove Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Certificate of Excellence
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank You, Winter Clove for another great vacation!”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We've been vacationing here since I was a child. Now my husband and I bring our children! We love Winter Clove for it's laid back, relaxed, friendly atmosphere. We enjoy the hiking trails - there are many walks that children can do and there are more difficult trails for the enthusiast! We can get away from it all. There are no tv's in the room but there is wifi! It's just a nice place to get away for a while!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    50
    11
    13
    15
See reviews for
110
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynbrook, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This was our first time at the inn and I was a little nervous because of some of the reviews. Stayed the first weekend of August, went with family, kids and adults. Our rooms were very clean, and looked similar in style to the rooms on the website. The food was not gourmet, but very good. Service was great, our waitress was very friendly. Outdoor pool area, playground, and tennis court are lovely. Indoor pool could use some TLC. It rained on Saturday afternoon and through the night, so the bonfire was cancelled. Spent the time in the bowling alley...had to teach the kids how to score on paper the old fashioned way! We went for a hike in the woods before the rain and found the waterfall and swimming hole...the kids loved swimming in it! Played board games with the family on the beautiful front porch both nights until 12am. It was a quiet, relaxing weekend with the family. Will definitely go back next summer.
Tips: If you're going with kids, bring plenty of snacks and drinks, the nearest conv. store is about 10 miles away.

Bring a laptop for the kids incase of rain, there is wi-fi in the house. Also we brought dvd's and a portable dvd player for our room at night. (no tv's in the rooms)

If you get hungry at night (my son didn't eat his dinner) or just want some entertainment, there's a german bar/rest down the block open to the public. Found out about it after we got back home, would have been nice to go especially since it was raining.

Take the kids to Puttin Plus in Saugerties. (exit 20 NYS thruway 1 mile up RT 32) They have the best go cart track we've ever been on. Also played mini golf and used the batting cages. The kids loved this place.

Room Tip: This is a 200 yr old house. If you can't walk up a few flights of stairs, ask for a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We recently stayed at Winterclove and had a wonderful, much needed sress- free vacation.It's beautiful just pulling up to the front door, with the long porch, lined with the most comfortable rocking chairs and a carosel horse that the kids can sit on. We were greeted so warmly by Lenore at the front desk-she made everyone feel welcome, like family. The great room is so pretty, with wood floors,and warm carpets, with a large fireplace, piano, and plenty of places to sit and catch up with friends and relatives. Each bedroom is different, all with either antique or country furniture, with touches of home (and Grandma's home, too). A word of advice, if you have trouble with stairs, ask to be on a lower floor- the Inn is close to 200 years old, and does not have elevators.The mountains surrounding are breathtaking-there are many hiking trails besides streams, through the woods,rolling fields, or over a covered bridge. If you let your waiter or waitress know at breakfast, they'll pack you a good lunch for the trail. All the meals are included. I found the fresh air and walking made me work up an appetite, and the food is hearty and delicious.(I had an excellent tilapia in a light creamy sauce, with farm fresh vegetables, my husband had a tender pork roast that was the best he'd had in years). The smell of bacon cooking was my alarm clock-breakfast is delicious! The kids had fun in the pools. The outside pool was just redone, and was great. One day it rained, so the indoor pool is a lifesaver (some of the adults stayed on the porch playing board games-we haven't laughed so much in years) We never did get a chance to bowl, but the kids did.(there's a 6 lane bowling alley-just like when you were a kid) There's a nice tennis court, well maintained, and even a 9 hole golf course-all free. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very pleasant-they didn't even mind our bad jokes.All in all we had a wonderful time, just wish we could have stayed longer! We all can't wait to go back. Thanks winterclove!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cerrito, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We have been holding our family reunions here since the 1980's and every member of our family has lot's of precious memories. The resort is a classic Catskills resort that is still operated by the same family since the 1800's. Every family activity you can think of here from 2 pools to hiking, golf, tennis, bowling, etc, etc. None of it costs extra. (except bowling) The meals are not gourmet but still very good and the service is efficient and the young servers helpful and bubbly. The rooms are clean and well appointed. Nothing fancy about Winter Clove, but it has the warmth and tradition that more pricier resorts lack. A slice of heaven.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My family has been going to Winter Clove since 1956 It is here that my brothers and I learned to fish and swim ..
dMy wife and I got married on the front lawn in May 2010. Ecverything was and\ry room for a still is, OUTSTANDING. I hope that the negartive respondents would go back and give it another try,The place keeps its old fashioned demeanor so that families will do things together. There is magic in the place...go and enjoy and experience som

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Round Top
3.3 km away
Blackhead Mountain Lodge and Country Club
8.8 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
147 reviews
17.4 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
498 reviews
13.1 km away
Pollace's Family Vacation Resort
1.4 km away
Riedlbauer's Resort
Riedlbauer's Resort
#3 of 4 in Round Top
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Winter Clove Inn

Property: Winter Clove Inn
Address: Winter Clove Rd, Round Top, NY 12473-0067
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Round Top
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,636 - ₹ 33,075
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on over 300 pristine acres and nestled at the base of North Mountain Winter Clove Inn is an all inclusive family resort offering three delicious meals served daily, indoor/outdoor heated pools, bar/lounge area, bowling alley, 9-hole golf course, miles of hiking trails, waterfalls, fitness center, tennis, basketball, volleyball, and much more. YOU'LL LOVE IT HERE!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Winter Clove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winter Clove Hotel Round Top

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing