We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden, quiet, great”
Review of Founders Cafe

Founders Cafe
Ranked #155 of 1,372 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 12
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Founders Cafe offers freshly made sandwiches, panini and salads, and home style soups made from locally grown and sourced ingredients. We serve locally roasted espresso coffees and an outstanding house blend drip coffee. We also serveseveral modes of pourover coffee. Founders Cafe is located downtown, in the government center and within walking distance of the Convention Center.
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Found this a few months ago. The breakfast sandwiches are awesome. So is the cappacino. The coffee is OK. No flavors which is what I like best. It's very nice in the cafe and near county business offices.

Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
639MichaelE, Owner at Founders Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thanks for stopping in as well as for taking the time to post the great review. We look forward to seeing you again. Hopefully, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2017

I had the Chipotle Chicken Avacado panini for lunch. It was very flavorful & unique! I will definitely be getting lunch here again. And there are so many tasty sounding choices on the menu, I will have a hard time choosing what to get next. Highly recommend this place for a great sandwich!

Thank alissa216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
639MichaelE, Owner at Founders Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Thanks so much!for the terrific review,Alissa. Glad you enjoyed your lunch. Hope we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Great build your own breakfast sandwiches that are made to order. Lunch is equally good. Your order is filled pretty quickly and you can call ahead to place the order

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank uvarobin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

I concur with the other positive reviews.
Founder's Cafe is tucked in a building off of Main Street. There are table and chairs outside, but otherwise no indication there is a restaurant in the building.
Upon entering the restaurant I was given a friendly greeting and an offer of help with the menu.
I came for breakfast so I got the Colorado breakfast sandwich. It was very good.
I did not have lunch, but based upon the breakfast I would highly recommend this as a place for a casual lunch as well.

Thank UH60Blackhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael E, Manager at Founders Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thanks for stopping in and for sharing your experience here. We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you next time you're in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Tucked inside of a historic school building (now loft apartments) is this terrific lunch spot. Great wraps, sandwiches, salads and more made by the owner and his friendly crew. A quiet place to eat by your self or with friends, there are about a dozen tables. I usually take out and sit on the cute tables outside during the warm weather. Not a place you'd see easily from the road, but worth checking out if you're in the downtown neighborhood.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mbush1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael E, Owner at Founders Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to write a review. I wish I wasn't so "hidden", but Im glad to be a "gem." We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Founders Cafe also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Founders Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing