We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Rochester Museum has great connection with local history!!

Rochester Museum & Science Center is a smart choice to know more about local history because it has... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
NuvanTim
Lots of interactive events

The museum has 3 floors and a basement with sectioned types of activities. This place is also great... read more

Reviewed 1 October 2018
sivanmoyal
via mobile
Read all 293 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Rochester
from US$ 16.00
More Info
from US$ 15.00
More Info
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
154
96
29
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
96
29
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground railroad tesla coils all ages native american reciprocal membership light show da vinci great hands interactive exhibits hands on activities star shows kids and adults great afternoon local history first floor kids love year olds
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rochester Museum & Science Center is a smart choice to know more about local history because it has a great connection that shows in exhibits. I was there to book memories bus tours rochester ny was the way to see all exciting places like Rochester Museum to know more about local history. All over it's an entertaining educational place which encourages teenagers to travel more. I went there with two young boys, Michele and Robbert. Who love gift shop and exhibits.

Thank NuvanTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The museum was OK. We went through the whole museum in about 2 hours. I would have thought for a larger city it would have been a better museum.

Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

It was a treasure but like many museums has tried to modernize displays. sometimes a good diarama is imposible to beat and engages the viewer more than a video.

Thank Robert Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

The museum has 3 floors and a basement with sectioned types of activities. This place is also great for kids, but I would expect to spend only an hour there.

Thank sivanmoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

I usually go there first weekend of the month to see their new exhibit although I also enjoy the whole museum.

Thank maloucrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

There is so much to do and see here! All kinds of interesting interactive displays, great fun for kids and families or just adults! I was especially impressed with the Underground Railroad area and the Native American displays, there is more in this Native display than the entire Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian in Washington DC! Very well done and respectful. The planetarium was really interesting, had reclined seats but was very cool inside, about 60 degrees the day we went. but that is to reflect the actual nighttime temp at the current time of year.

1  Thank hawkeyed9sza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Many interesting exhibits, heavily focused on the native people, plants and animals of the region. Lots of school and camp groups there when we visited. This is an older facility that can be a bit noisy and crowded, however the presentation of many topics is effective and fun. Great for a day when the weather is less hospitable. Plenty of parking. At the time we visited, the cafe was closed, which was a bit inconvenient.

Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

The Museum and Science Center provides science and natural history based activities for kids and adults. The science activities are interactive and great for younger kids. We liked the first floor and the submarine simulator.
There is a cafe and gift shop available. There are also shows that take place throughout the day. We will be back to go to the Planetarium on our next trip.

1  Thank FabFannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

What a wonderful museum. We had a great afternoon with our grandson. There are many interactive exhibits that teach kids about science concepts. We had not been in several decades, and the improvements are excellent.
Some of the exhibits were in need of fixing or adjustments.

Thank finfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

My 14 y/o teenage boys enjoyed most of the science exhibits, some were too young for them. The history exhibits were great but the teens were not all that excited about them. We were expecting more science exhibits. What was there was good.

Thank Cathie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews