We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Grinnell's Restaurant
Ranked #64 of 1,468 Restaurants in Rochester
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Since the 60's, Grinnell's restaurant has been a staple in Rochester. We take pride in our tried and tested cuisine, and our chefs are experts in their craft. As a family own business, we know how treat guests, and only accept the highest standards of service from our staff. A dining experience at Grinnell's is a stress free environment, where delicious cuisine, friendly staff and storied history all serve as a backdrop for you to create memories.
Reviewed 16 August 2018

We ate here for our anniversary. My husband's steak was cooked perfectly. I had a pasta dish that I couldn't stop eating even when I was full because it was that flavorful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Owner at Grinnell's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Mindy, thanks for sharing the love for sharing the love for our excellent food and our great service for your anniversary dinner. We hope to have you back again soon.

Until then,
Dave & Matt, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2018

We recently went to Grinnell's to celebrate our 26th anniversary. Grinnell's is an old Rochester standard. Everything about it from the valet parking, to the place settings and dishware, the appetizers, the salads, the entrees and even the complimentary dish of ice cream or sherbet at the end is a throwback to an older time.

The food is good. Solidly good. Quality food prepared with care. We both had beef - hubby had a filet and I had prime rib. The kitchen takes its job seriously and presents a wonderful meal.

Here's the thing... the whole place needs a refresh... Upon entering, it smells like old. I don't know if it is the carpet, or the cleaning products they use, or just the decades of use, but it is not fresh. The decor consists of a hodge-podge of silk flowers tacked to the walls, some baskets on shelves, a few old framed prints. The bar is a faux-wood formica behemoth! The entire time we were there, the end piece was raised so that the bartender could easlily get in and out (?) but it is just sort of ugly, graceless.

If there is room in the budget for an upgrade or update, then I think the owners have to decide if they want to do a big refresh with 21st century design, or embrace the mid-century "Mad Men" vibe that this place was known for. In the meantime it is neither. It feels like a faded 1980s renovation that has gone dowdy. Don't get me wrong - it is clean. But it is not fresh.

Go there for the food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RochesterTraveler585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Owner at Grinnell's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

We're so happy you were able to celebrate your anniversary with us. Thank you for sharing the love for our delicious food, accommodating service, and relaxing atmosphere. It really means a lot to hear you had such a lovely meal with us, and we hope to have you back again someday soon.

Until then,
Dave & Matt, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Really nice job by the wait staff. Tim was on top of his game. Scallops were excellent, as the prime rib fell short. Dry and tasteless. It seemed to be left over and reheated. Hope I'm wrong and it was just a bad cut.

2  Thank LeonardoG408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Owner at Grinnell's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Leonardo, we're so glad you had a great visit with us. Thanks for sharing the love for our great food and service. It means a lot that you felt taken care of with Tom, and we'll keep your feedback in mind about your prime rib. We hope you'll give us another shot someday.

Until then,
Dave & Matt, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

This was our 2nd visit in several years. The 1st was not good. The 2nd was very, very good! Led to a table that was set. I mean, not silverware wrapped in a napkin but a properly set table. Our waiter Craig was there but not there. The special was a pasta dish consisting of scallops, shrimp and salmon. I am not a fan of salmon and Craig said he would check w/the kitchen to see if they would add scallops or shrimp in place of salmon. They did. The scallops were large and 6 in total accompanied by 6 very large shrimp. The sauce was exceptionally tasty. The garlic bread needed more garlic but then again I love garlic. Our Cosmo's....well....smooth! A very delightful evening of 2 friends catching up with our lives. It was a pleasure dining there...not eating but dining.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ellenkfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Owner at Grinnell's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Ellen, thank you for sharing the love for our excellent food and our attentive customer service from Craig. It means a lot to hear you enjoyed your meal and felt taken care of with us. We hope you'll give us another shot someday soon.

Until then,
Dave & Matt, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Grinnell's has great food and great cocktails, and guys to park your car and take your coat. Grinnell's also has the unique Rochesterness that we love. It's a local place with roots and whether it's the south of France or Western New York in the summer time, the best a traveler can do is to find great local places that really carry the essential flavor of the place and the people.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Owner at Grinnell's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Chris, thank you for the kind words for our wonderful food and cocktails. It means a lot to hear you're a fan, and we hope to have you back again someday soon.

Until then,
Dave & Matt, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grinnell's Restaurant also viewed

Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Grinnell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing