We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sport Value Bar None!”
Review of Sahlen's Stadium

Sahlen's Stadium
Ranked #56 of 116 things to do in Rochester
Attraction details
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We drove 3 hours from Pennsylvania to attend a professional women's soccer match here between The Western New York Flash and Kansas City FC. The stadium seats 12,000 and was built specifically for soccer although other events are held here as well throughout the year. Many of the young ladies who make up these teams are the very same that play on the World Cup National Team and the Olympic teams. There are stars from not only the US such as Hope Solo, Chrstin Press, Julie Johnston, Carly Lloyd,etc. but from other country's teams as well. The best thing about this is that there is no traffic, there are always seats available and the price of general admission is only $12! For you parents with young soccer players, after each match fans form around the exit to the field and all the players file past giving everyone autographs and selfies! If you were to attend even a friendly match of the National Team or Olympic team, you would probably not get tickets or, if they were available, the cost per ticket would approach three figures and higher! These matches have to be one of the best-kept secrets in sports! How else would you explain that there were only about 700 people in attendance?

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 5 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2016

There really aren't any bad seats in the house inside this downtown sports stadium. We saw the Rochester Flash play a women's soccer team from Florida, and everything went off perfectly well. The spectators were well behaved, and getting in and out for the game was easy. I must say that the food there was pretty good as well, although we limited our consumption to just the snacks. It was a great time, and I would gladly go back again.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

The stadium is way bigger than it need to be. I have been here countless times and it is never anywhere near capacity. There are only a handful of vendors, most of them are not permanent installments at the stadium either. There is almost no parking available, instead you have to park somewhere in the surrounding neighborhoods, which is a gamble, so don't drive too nice a car, and don't leave any valuables in plain view. While I have never had problems parking in the neighborhoods, I know several people who have either had their tires slashed, cars broken into or vandalized, or some combination of these things. The one good thing is that the tickets are cheap and the teams that play here are usually pretty good.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank Icarus4335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We always enjoy our time at Sahlen's Stadium watching the Rhinos. They routinely have beer specials, and the food is decent

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Navigator811251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

Place is clean. Parking in immediate area, plentiful. Seats are comfortable, visibility good. Surrounding neighborhood needs serious rejuvenation, but there are signs of rebuilding. Food choices are varied, scoreboard needs replacement.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank BlueMaxx14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sahlen's Stadium also viewed

 
Rochester, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Sahlen's Stadium? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing