We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Bed, Bad Breakfast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Rochester B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Good Bed, Bad Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed recently for a Girls Weekend, and although the room was nice, we would not recommend the B&B…mainly because they forgot the importance of the second ‘B’. If you are going for the Bed, fine, but if you’re going for the Breakfast, don’t…especially if you are a Vegetarian.

Two pancakes with a strawberry on the side was the entire breakfast... no muffins, no fruit cup, just that. The lack of effort didn’t go unnoticed and it didn’t make us feel important.

Both mornings the breakfasts were very under-whelming. It’s pretty standard for all B&B’s to have scones or muffins to start, but they had nothing (even though their website says all breakfasts are served with muffins or scones). They did have bread on the breakfast buffet (with a toaster) but it was still in the store-bought package. Not much presentation. For breakfast we had a small cup of fruit, which was nice, but then just an omelet. We make omelets at my home all the time, so it wasn’t anything fancy or special. The next morning, the cook was running late so we literally sat at the table just waiting for 20 minutes…no scones, no fruit cup, nothing on the table…we had to ask for Orange Juice because they were running behind and didn’t bring it out. Again, the buffet table did have sliced white bread and jams and yogurt cups sitting on ice, but when you pay so much money, you expect to have a yogurt parfait in a fancy dish and warm muffins. We sat there waiting and we didn’t even get a glass of fruit this time – they went straight to the main course which was two pancakes with bananas on top and one strawberry on the side. That’s it??? Really? That was my whole breakfast experience?

As a Vegetarian, I don’t expect them to cater to my eating style, but it was the first of many B&B experiences where it felt like they just didn’t want to put the effort in to make something special. Usually the main dish is a quiche or frittata or casserole and there is some type of side dish to go along with it. It was a disappointing breakfast experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mk1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudeeq, Manager at A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Management has looked into the circumstances of this guests displeasure. It appears that there were items on the buffet that were purchased specifically in keeping with this guests written desire as a Vegetarian. Experience has told us that sweet items are generally not request or eaten by our many vegetarian clients. It has been our experience that our Vegan and Vegetarian guests in general do not eat large quantites of sugary foods. Offerings of whole grain products, yogurts, fruits, berries and nuts are incorporated in all of our vegetarian meals. We are always happy to provide special requests to all our guests specific dietary needs. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    12
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
59
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

The Edward Harris House is a wonderful B+B--perfectly decorated for its age and character, spotless clean, quiet, comfortable. The staff were very helpful with check-in and check-out, and made sure to ask about restrictions and preferences for breakfast (I suggested that french toast would be nice, and sure enough, that appeared on the menu). The B+B is in the Park Avenue area of Rochester, a lovely neighborhood. Park Avenue has many popular restaurants and little boutiques; the science museum and Eastman House are within easy walking distance. It's a pleasnt 2 mile walk to the downtown/convention area (there's bus service as well), so it's a nice alternative to staying in bland convention accommodations. If I go to Rochester again, I think I'll drive--it's handy to have a car, and the taxi from the airport is ridiculously expensive ($35 one way) for a 15 minute ride (though the drivers were very professional and friendly).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boomerCA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

This B & B has a very friendly staff and owners. The location is great - near many great restaurants. Unfortunately, we had problems with our room. It was beautifully decorated.The sink was plugged and the shower door didn't open and close properly. There was someone that came in to look at it but couldn't fix it. The next day the breakfast was interesting. They had bacon and french toast. Other B&B's usually ask give a choice between a small selection. There was no choice here or even a mention of what dietary restrictions there were. Some of the granola and other dried fruit was a bit old and stale.
For the amount we paid for the room you would think that the owners would at least refund some of our money since the sink wasn't functional and really did inconvenience us. They didn't even apologize for the inconvenience. What bothered me was when we left the next day they knew about these problems but still had the room available to book and didn't suggest another room when at the time of booking they were available. Not impressed with that at all. This kind of ruined a romantic weekend away.

Room Tip: Choose one of the modern decor rooms. Check the sink, toilet and shower when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 76sunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudeeq, Owner at A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Just a quick note to let the guests know that we had our contractor in on Monday to fix the items on their list with the bathroom. We appreciate their candidness and are truly sorry for any inconvenience caused by these annoyances. Although the rooms and baths have all been recently updated or renovated - it is an 1896 building with all it's wonderful flaws that happen from time to time. We had already sent them a gift certificate to be used for another stay in the future and hope they will accept our offer to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

This was an excellent B & B. The room, common rooms, breakfasts, and location were ideal. A real positive experience.

The neighborhood was wonderful, filled with stately old houses. It was a short walk to Park Avenue with many restaurants, coffee houses, etc., and was also a short walk to the Eastman House. Easy access to downtown and the Geva Theater.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RwithS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

I was the matron of honor of the bridal party who got ready here. It was such a great afternoon! We arrived and got settled in the room with all of our things. Soon lunch was ready and we went downstairs to dine on chicken salad croissants, salad and fruit kebabs. So delicious the bride even finished her meal!
The Inn is gorgeously restored and very elegant. The staff was very helpful allowing me to check in early as my husband and I were staying there that night. We stayed in room 2, Emily's Suite. The room is huge!
Breakfast in the morning was great, too. We were seated with the new Mr. and Mrs. and Susan was a wonderful hostess.
The neighborhood is good for walking. Would definitely come back for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smiles_for_miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudeeq, Owner at A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Thank you so much for the kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will have the opportunity to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
1.7 km away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
1.3 km away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.2 km away
Inn On Broadway
Inn On Broadway
#21 of 31 in Rochester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
3.0 km away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
4.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn

Property: A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn
Address: 35 Argyle St, Rochester, NY 14607-2301
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,360 - ₹ 16,546
Hotel Class:3 star — A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this Circa 1896 restored mansion in the heart of the Arts/Cultural District of Rochester, New York. Walk tree lined streets (one short block) to the urban village of Park Avenue. Visit area shops, cafes, fine dining, galleries and museums. Close to all area Colleges and Universities and business such as Xerox Square, Bausch and Lomb, Harris Corporation and Kodak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your A B&B at The Edward Harris House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing