We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Lady”
Review of Ellwanger Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ellwanger Estate
Ranked #2 of 9 Rochester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Grand Lady”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My friend and I were privileged to stay at this Estate last weekend. It was a lovely experience from the moment the car pulled in to the carpark and Rosemary came out to greet us.

Some people express hospitality as a seamless gesture from heart to action. Over the course of the weekend, we came to know that owner and steward Rosemary Janofsky has this gift. Always helpful and friendly, always warm but respectful of privacy, she made our stay comfortable and happy. She loves this estate and understands the responsibility of sharing it with guests, and the city. It's a lovely place, with comfortable places to sit and enjoy the day both inside the house and outside.

Our guest room had extraordinarily comfortable mattresses, pillows, and a bathroom stocked with sophisticated toiletries----and to my delight, a claw foot bathtub with bath pillow. I took baths both days. Slathered myself in lovely smelling natural lotion, emerged wearing one of the provided bathrobes. Heaven.

Happily, Rosemary also enjoys cooking. Her evening desserts and morning breakfasts were sensational. The cheery, light yellow breakfast room looked out onto part of the garden, and a massive beech tree. What a perfect background to enjoy croissants with fresh butter and pear butter (made from garden pears); steel cut oatmeal and warm cream; savory frittata and bowls of fresh fruit. I'm a coffee drinker and hers was tops. Guests share the dining table, and the conversations were always pleasant and upbeat and informational.

We spent the daytime hours on Saturday walking the Mount Hope Cemetery adjacent to the Estate, and would have continued to the beautiful park had my knees allowed. The Ellwanger Estate gardens offered a beautiful place to simply sit and enjoy a Fall day outdoors, share a cup of tea, and commune with the house black cat---who also has good taste, as she had selected the Ellwanger Estate as her home some time ago. Hers was the last face we saw as we departed on the gravel drive to the main road on Sunday. I recommend this lovely place, and will return in the Spring, when the gardens are in full bloom.

Room Tip: There is one room with two double beds, the Victorian Room. We found it to be spacious enough to al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
31
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The Ellwanger B & B is a wonderfully appointed historic building. The bedroom was immaculate, quiet, large and most comfortable. The common rooms are warm and welcoming. Rosemary's breakfast was bountiful and delicious. It was delightful walking in the neighborhood - beautiful Highland Park and (believe it or not) one of the first and finest urban park cemeteries in the country (designed by Olmsted). I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here last weekend for our anniversary and it was excellent! The mansion was gorgeous and well-decorated, with extensive gardens outside and a couple of patios (one in the sun and one in the shade); there was even some exercise equipment available in the common areas. The room was very spacious and lovely with excellent natural light, a very comfortable bed and sitting areas, and plenty of closet and drawer space; the only downside was that the shower water pressure was quite low. The breakfast both mornings was wonderfully prepared and very tasty, with several courses and beverage options. We would definitely recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: they all seemed to be lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

I probably wouldn't normally choose to vacation in Rochester, but both my husband and I went to college in Rochester, so we like to visit friends. The inn is beautiful and is situated in Rochester - but you almost feel like you're not in the city. The rooms are comfortable and the grounds are very nice. I'm sure the grounds are even better in the spring and summer, but we visited at the end of October after a lot of the trees had lost their leaves. Rosemary cooks up quite a breakfast - it's pretty much fantastic and one of the best of all the B&B's we've stayed at. Almost the entire first floor is yours to enjoy with many places to sit - even a nice porch (I'm sure the porch would have been great had it been a bit warmer). The only quirk is that the rooms only lock from the inside, so while the inn is locked all day, you can't lock your actual room unless you are in it. This really wasn't an issue as it is a small inn and people mind their business.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsTravlAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
1.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester/University & Medical Center
2.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Rochester Downtown
1.8 km away
Staybridge Suites Rochester University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
The Strathallan Rochester Hotel & Spa - a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.6 km away
The East Avenue Inn & Suites
2.2 km away
Radisson Hotel Rochester Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellwanger Estate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellwanger Estate

Property: Ellwanger Estate
Address: 625 Mount Hope Ave, Rochester, NY 14620-2730
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ellwanger Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Ellwanger Estate is located in the Mount Hope Cultural District of Rochester, New York. Home to world-renowned Horticulturist George Ellwanger and family for 115 years, the bed & breakfast has been recently restored. Four rooms with magnificent views of the lush gardens and courtyards, owned and maintained by the Landmark Society of Western New York. Enjoy the natural beauty of the Mount Hope and Highland Park Preservation area, along with the elegant ambience of the Ellwanger Estate. There are also many nearby attractions, including the Susan B. Anthony House, Strong National Museum of Play, Memorial Art Gallery, Rochester Museum of Science, Strasenburgh Planetarium, and much more. Our knowledgeable and friendly staff will be happy to assist you with planning visits to these attractions and making reservations at the many fine dining establishments in the area. And Now Get Ready to Charge Your Batteries At The Ellwanger Estate B&B. The Ellwanger Estate Bed and Breakfast teams with Tesla Motors to become the area's first lodging host to offer a Tesla Destination Charger for overnight guests. Tesla Destination Charging is now offered as a new amenity for overnight guests. This installation makes The Ellwanger Estate a new hot spot on the national electric vehicle map. We are a very green B&B, devoted to energy efficiency, conservation, reuse, recycling and a hypoallergenic guest environment. Tesla's focus on pure electric technology seems a perfect fit. We offer a full complimentary charge to our Tesla overnight guests. Just enter "TESLA" under special accommodations, when you reserve your room online to let us know you would like to plug-in. This is an added amenity for our Tesla and Electric Vehicle guests, but you must let us know in advance to reserve parking for your charge. The Ellwanger Estate B&B is proud to offer just one more example of all our exceptional amenities, making this the ideal home-away for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ellwanger Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing