We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical tavern food”

Foster's Coach House
Ranked #19 of 59 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Historic Foster's Coach House Tavern, originally constructed in 1890 as The Village Tavern, is owned and managed by the same Rhinebeck family since 1965. Well-known throughout the Hudson Valley for top-notch London Broil, homemade soups, Stuffed Clams, and juicy chargrilled Hamburgers, this classic and charming original offers great value and service. Al fresco dining in the warmer months and cozy tavern atmosphere year-round. Tap Room with full bar and 2 large screen TV's. Free, off-street parking. A must visit for locals and visitors alike when in the Village!
Reviewed 5 July 2016

A Friday night the four of us hit the road to Rhinebeck, about an hour away. This is a typical tavern, although larger inside than we thought. Friend and I had Blackeyed Susan's to drink, the guys had beers. The drinks were light on the vodka, but good tasting. We shared potato skins at the table, plenty for the four of us. One also ordered a wedge salad, it was almost more than he could eat! Fried Chicken dinner, the Rhine-BEC (Bacon, Egg, cheese) burger, and two turkey dinners. The egg on the burger was sunny side up, making it a bit messy to eat. The chicken and turkey dinners were very good. The place was busy, server had a lot of tables to cover, so didn't check often. Otherwise, good place to stop for light fare.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeannene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FostersCoachHouse, Manager at Foster's Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write. We appreciate your comments, and especially the specific descriptions. We are always looking at how the customer perceives our offerings.
Hope you stop in again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2016

Ate here 4th of July weekend 2016 with another couple. Had just spent the day at the Old Rhinebeck Aerodrone and was looking for a place to perhaps get a nice scotch ale or perhaps a porter to go with some scrod or shrimp. The first bad sign was that the beer list had only SIX beers listed! SIX! Bud Lite, Corona, Heiniken, Guiness, etc. And you call yourself a TAVERN?? The server said "Oh, those are just our bottle selections". So okay, what do you have on draught? Six more beers were named, mostly domestic. We ended up with Sam Adams Summer Ales, but a far cry from what we were looking for. They didn't even have a white zin for my wife, so she opted for ice tea instead.

The menu wasn't very exciting. Instead of a more substantial meal, we settled for burgers, which were actually very good, but we were famished,so I think anything would have tasted good at that point.

Overall, we came away disappointed from Foster's Coach House TAVERN.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FostersCoachHouse, Manager at Foster's Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Our Tavern has been operating since 1890, and has been owned by the same family since 1965. Good drinks, a full bar, excellent cold beers and ales, and wines complement our extensive, classic menu.
We think that maybe you were looking for more of a micro brewery. We are not that type of place, but more of a Rhinebeck institution with proven offerings.
We are very pleased that you liked our char-grilled burgers, however.
Thank you for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

I visited Foster's on Sunday 6-26 for my birthday dinner accompanied by my wife, sister and brother in-law. Positives: upon arrival we were asked if we wanted to be seated outside and since it was a great summer evening said yes. The drinks are a good size.
Prices are reasonable.

Not So Positives: The first table we were offered was in the hot sun, while there were many others in the shade. We asked for a shaded table. Three of us had steaks, and all asked for them to be cooked medium. They all came on the rare side of medium. Mine was on the very rare side. When our orders arrived, my wife and I who had ordered different steaks, and different potatoes found that they had confused the potatoes. the waitress never offered to make it right in the kitchen. We did it at the table.
Our waitress was not top notch, she had trouble taking our order, she did not come to see how we were doing. i do't want a server to hover, but they should be interested in their customers. It was not busy. As were sitting at dinner we noticed that there was silverware on the ground, lots of litter "the wraps for the silverware.

We had not been at Fosters in many years, since it is a drive of more than hour from home. We were disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FostersCoachHouse, Manager at Foster's Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

We are glad that you had drinks out on the patio. It is such a special spot in the heart of town.
We will continue to monitor the wraps for the silverware that fall onto the ground. We don't like the litter either. Thank you for your eagle eyes!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Havent been here in a few months and were excited to go back as we have always had a fantastic meal here. However,this time I was a bit saddened by my meal. My husband had the steak and his was cooked to perfection-his words! I had the filet and based on the menus chart ordered it cooked medium. When it came out it was over cooked- more medium well and crusted in some sort of peppercorn. I did not send it back as our server (who was very kind) was VERY over worked!
All in all a bit saddened by our visit.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FostersCoachHouse, Manager at Foster's Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

We're sorry that you're sad. Come back soon and we'll make you happy with another perfectly cooked steak just like your husband received.
And, yes, we are so busy these days with all of our repeat customers that our servers never stop moving, and never stop being kind.
Thank you for your words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Good for a simple meal nothing special Old bar old local crow
I will not go back there are many better choices in town.i ordered a salad the greens were old my wife ordered a burger . I like five guys better

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank MidniteCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FostersCoachHouse, Manager at Foster's Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Simple meals prepared with fresh ingredients...that's our recipe!
The crowd is very loyal to us and they like our drinks and food. Come back and try our proven, winning formula...we know that you'll like us better than the other choices in town.
Thanks for coming in MidniteCamel . See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foster's Coach House also viewed

 

Been to Foster's Coach House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing