We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give Me Liberty or....”
Review of Liberty

Liberty
Ranked #17 of 59 Restaurants in Rhinebeck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 26 July 2018

.....Give me Fish 'n Chips! Or butternut squash ravioli! Or arugula salad with fresh shrimp and pineapple! The Revolutionary War-inspired décor in a lovely old building in Historic Rhinebeck was the perfect place for a girls' night out! Kir Royale, House Rose and some fine dining along with Big Band Music playing in the background was perfect! Very comfortable surroundings. Staff was friendly but not constantly checking at our table; and no offers of a "second round" were made - we were kind of left alone after our entrees were served. (Cons: Bathrooms are apparently not handicapped accessible as they are on the second floor of the old building and in a small room; seating can be close if the place is busy [we were there on a quiet mid-week night].) Interesting and different choices for dinners. Most entrees were in the $16-$18 range. Overall, this restaurant is a 8 on my "scale" and I look forward to returning.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AlwaysPlanning-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2018

Excellent meal in a wonderful setting

We tried the a fish entree and a salad with chicken. Both were excellent. There are two rooms. We preferred the quieter, elegant room on the left as you enter. There is a more spirited, bar with table service if you go to your right.

Service was very fine, The old paintings and other decor set a comfortable scene.

We recommend this highly and look forward to coming back.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Grumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We shared 2 full dinners! We should have shared one, but we liked so much of the menu! We agreed to have the Fabulous Buttermilk Fried Chicken & the Delicious Fish and Chips (the BEST Sweet Potato fries ever!). We didn't eat everything but we left room for a Real New York Cheesecake! This is a MUST place to eat!!!
Patricia (the Owner/Partner with her son), came over to our table for a friendly chat. We mentioned to Patricia that Lauren was the main reason we wanted to come here for dinner. Lauren met us while passing/strolling this adorable small town of friendly people the day before. She works here and she is extremely pleasant! Our server, Page and her back-waiter, Matt, provided excellent service. Kudos, Cheers to the Fabulous Chef for the food and presentation! Don't pass this place up, it is First Class!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank stampinsherp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Nice atmosphere and good food. The place is extremely worn and run down, but that is the ambiance. Enjoyed it, but they kept the windows and doors open and it was pretty chilly in there.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank AbrahamLincolnCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Not sure what all the fuss is about. This place (which I frequented as a boy when it was the Starr Library, so yes, I'm not young and hip) showed us nothing special. Curt service. Mediocre food. Long wait to be served. With all the NYC foodies in Rhinebeck these days, why the overwhelming show of love? The interior is really nice (despite the lack of books...) but I just didn't feel that the kitchen or the servers cared a whit. Maybe a second visit would be better, but honestly, I don't think I'd give it a second shot...

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank overeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Liberty also viewed

 
Rhinebeck, NY
 

Been to Liberty? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing