We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stop off I-90”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Stopped here last year when traveling to The Cape at Thanksgiving time. So satisfied stopped again this year. Comfortable room. Arrived too late for the pool. Next year will try to arrive earlier to take advantage of the hot tub.
Above average toiletries provide compared to other Holiday Inns.
Not your average complimentary continental breakfast. Eggs, bacon, pancakes, plus pastries, cereal hot and cold. Very nice breakfast area as well.
There are evening meal restaurants near by, one just across the parking lot. Restaurants offer discount for guests of Holiday Inn.
We stayed on the second floor. There is an efficient elevator off the lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadrun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

I have come to like the HI Express but this one left me desiring. The pool area looked awful!! Cardboard wrapped pillars and rust and chlorine stains all around. I read another review about toilets not working properly and brushed it off. When I walked in my room the toilet was running. Jiggle of the handle every flush. Breakfast was good though crowded at opening.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleojakob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Picked this motel because of their free shuttle service to and from the Amtrak station. We had a one room king suite which was nice. We have reservations for October for the same room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FLtraveler1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We pick this hotel because it was easy access to I-90, we needed a place to stay for 1 night, and we thought that Holidy Inn express meant a CLEAN basic room. We were mistaken. The halls smelled smokey and like a wet dog. The room was SO Dirty. Carpets had coffee stains & barefoot you could feel dirt on the floor. The bathroom tile was missing grout in areas, the bottom of the bathtub was filthy& to top it all off, the bottom 2 ft of the cloth shower curtain was covered in mold(assuming it hasn't been changed in more than a month). As I went to call the front desk, I noticed that theogony was covered in dirt and dust and looked like it was never cleaned. Gross. Unfortunately, I was unable to find another hotel available in the area so we had to stay. Needless to stay, wedidn't rest well and felt 'dirty' after our visit. Never again will we stay at a Holiday Inn express!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gmo0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed here on the way home from Howe Caverns. Check in was painless and the front desk clerk (Austin?) was very nice. Pool was small but adequate for the kids. The whirlpool was nice. Pool area showed a little wear and tear, but nothing off-putting. The area was very neat and clean when we went down on Sat evening, but the chairs were full of dirty towels when we went in on Sunday AM. Not the hotels fault that people can't clean up after themselves. Small exercise room. Hubby went to use the treadmill on Sun AM, but it was broken. The room was decent sized (2 queens). TV was older tube style, but OK. Beds were comfy with choice of soft or firm pillows. Bathroom was a good size and clean. The shower curtain was a bit wobbly and not attached all the way to the wall.
Our room faced the road, but we didn't hear much noise with the A/C on. The other side of the hotel had nice views of the Albany skyline. Ask for those if you book. Breakfast was just OK. The danishes were very good. Lots of chain restaurants up and down the road. Price was OK ($143 for a Sat night -- AAA rate), but not great. I'd stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a skyline view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMMJRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rensselaer
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Albany East Greenbush
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany-East Greenbush
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Residence Inn Albany East Greenbush/Tech Valley
4.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
12.7 km away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline)

Address: 8 Empire Dr, Rensselaer, NY 12144-5728
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Rensselaer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rensselaer
Price Range: ₹ 6,899 - ₹ 9,865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Albany Skyline is conveniently located 3 miles from downtown Albany. The hotel features an indoor pool, fitness center, business center, meeting space to accommodate up to 120 people and a free breakfast bar included in all rates. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning. Visit Rensselaer, NY and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express East Greenbush (Albany - Skyline) Hotel Rensselaer
Holiday Inn Rensselaer
Holiday Inn Express Rensselaer
Rensselaer Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing