We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice place to drop a line in the water and get...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dock -
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Dock -
Kayak + life jackets are provided
Play badminton and bean bag toss
autumn is our favorite time of the year
Reading room
Family room with TV and pellet stove
Balcony off of master bedroom
Balcony over master bedroom. Perfect morning spot to enjoy coffee
Primo water dispenser
Enjoy a glass of wine or coffee in the morning or evening
Salmon River Falls - a 7 minute drive a MUST see
If you have a boat, take a ride over to the edge of Reservoir + be adventurous - rope swinging
extended outdoor sitting area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Redfield, Finger Lakes, New York

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
christali...
Painesville, Ohio
1 review
“Nice place to drop a line in the water and get away from everyday life.”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Overall we enjoyed our stay. It's a quiet and secluded spot to relax and decompress. The owners were in contact often making sure we had what we needed and quickly answered any questions that came up. They have the house stocked very well with cleaning supplies, paper products, games, bottled water, etc. The negatives are minor and we noticed the first two mainly because it rained a lot while we were there. The lighting inside the house could be brighter, there isn't much covered outdoor space, and the dock is much smaller than it appears in the picture (it was a tight fit for more than three adults). I would recommend this home for anyone looking for peace, quiet, and fish on the end of their line.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
We're glad you enjoyed yourselves and appreciate the positive comments.

I apologize about the inconvenience of the dock size. We are required, unfortunately, to follow regulations on dock size and must abide on not using a permanent one on the water.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashapaulo...
Nyack, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Weekend”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I rented this home to bring my parents and siblings living in the city. I had a ton of questions for Jacki and she was super patient and answered everything. She even provided additional ideas for me for things to do with my family. The place is very secluded. You can see the homes close by but can't here anyone. My family felt safe and comfortable in the area. There are a few small grocery stores so you stock up before you get to Redfield. When we got to the home, the directions were easy to follow although it would have been a little more difficult for city folk if we came at night. The house was clean and stunningly beautiful.

The photo makes the kitchen look so small and outdated but it actually looked brand new and very large. The bathrooms also looked newly renovated and clean. There were so much seating so our family didn't feel clustered at all. Two living spaces plus the fourth bedroom doubles as a ping pong room. We also played badminton outside. With so many places to relax and activities to do we never were bored or noticed how weird it felt without our phones. AT&T only had reception.

The backyard is arranged so perfectly that it was easy to stay there all day and night. We bbq'd outside, tiki torches surrounded us. We sat by the dock and fished. We brought our inflatable boat and boated around the lake. There was a canoe available but we didn't use it. Every hour the lake provided a completely different scene it was a great photo opp. At night we sat around the fire pit with pre-chopped wood there for us and a ton of already arranged seating just waiting for us near the fire. We thought we would leave the house but ended up having so much fun on the property. We only left to see Salmon river falls which was quite beautiful.

Jacki and her family were so helpful. we simply texted them if we had a question during the weekend and they quickly got back to us.

All three bedrooms upstairs have a a full bed and large closets with extra bedding and quilts. The master bedroom has a balcony that we looked out of in the morning with our coffee. The kitchen was stocked with utensils and pots and pans and plates and glasses of every kind. There were warm towels ready for us in the bathroom.

All you bring is your own food and toilet paper and you will be set for a fun and relaxing weekend with no worries or distractions. I'm grateful to spend some quality time and made memories there. My elderly parents came and they loved it and the long drive from the city was not as bad if you stop at Dino BBQ in syracuse on the way. There were no small children so I am not sure how they would be with the lake so close by and the large fire pit but it would so nice for them to have the rustic experience

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private dock by the lake was so nice.
Liked least: The shower pressure was a not strong.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Thank you for the positive comments. You are the ideal traveler and am pleased that you all enjoyed your stay. Please come back anytime :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert G
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“SECLUDED! Peaceful, quiet and great location.”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If your looking to unplug, recharge and just get away this is an ideal choice! My family, the wife, me and our 2 college age kids, stayed for 5 days and it was a fantastic vacation. The pictures of the views don't do it justice. Being right on the water was beautiful and very relaxing. The reservoir is a beautiful place to kayaking on. The house stayed cool without AC but we had ideal weather most of the time. It may get warm in hotter more humid weather but there are ceiling fans and window fans, we didn't use the window fans, This is a very nice rental house and the owners were terrific to work with! Very responsive and helpful including offering suggestions and reviews of local places to go, eat... There was no internet/wifi service, even though it was initially listed when we booked, it turned out to be a real plus most of the time, My son, a college senior, was taking a summer online class so we had to make sure we went to town for him to submit homework and take a test which we did at a very good pizza/Italian restaurant, Stefanos. So we planned our visits there so we could grab a bite and he could also get his work done. My. college freshman daughter also enjoyed that time to catch back up but even she says it was nice not having internet at the house. Our cell phones didn't have service with Verizon, Sprint or Virgin, so our phones became clocks or maybe played some music. It was really nice to not have instant access or to google whatever silly thing we're talking about... we made notes on what we needed to google for when we were in town ;) We had a great time interacting with each other without the usual distractions the phoned bring. The kids actually enjoyed that too, once the initial shock passed. The area is beautiful and the Salmon Falls are a Must See. We spent hours there and some of the inscriptions in the rock floor on the top of the falls date back to the 1920's if not earlier...

The fire pit is terrific and we usually spent the evenings there after grilling dinner. My daughter is hardly the camping type vs. my Eagle Scout son, and she really had a great time. She also enjoyed the one day we spent a the Destiny Mall in Syracuse, a little less than an hour away, which was a great place for some of the back to school clothes shopping they needed too. I'm Not a "shopper" but there were some very impressive deals we all took advantage of. :) They also have some fun activities there so it's not just shopping.

Overall, it's a great place to disconnect - I couldn't feel guilty not checking/responding to work emails - which was a wonderful change (I'm in a position where I'm usually answering emails in the evenings and weekends) and chance to really have a true get-a-way and enjoy time with each other! We'd all go back!

Having internet listed when we booked, it;s not listed any longer, was initially frustrating - This turned into a plus. With my son's online class needs in mind we may not have booked it if we knew it up front - but sometimes ti better to get what you really need vs. what you think you really want...

NOTE: if booking via Flipkey, which was great too, make sure to include your contact info on the BODY of the email you send - the property owners can't see the contact info you fill in for Flipkey.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, quietness, how beautiful and relaxing it is there
Liked least: not having some kind of phone service in case of an emergancy
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle...
1 review
“To Sum Up Our Stay...What a Deal! A True Gem in the Woods”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I cannot express enough how pleased I am with our experience at this beautiful waterfront home. The house is gorgeous, newly remodeled. The owners went above and beyond to equip the house with the necessary amenities for an extended stay, such as linens, towels, kitchen stocked with pans, pots, dishes, condiments, flat screen tv in living room and one in the master bedroom with balcony overlooking the beautiful Salmon River Reservoir. 3 bedrooms total upstairs, very nice, and a futon downtstairs in rec room with ping pong table. The surroundings were absolutely gorgeous and peaceful. The spacious backyard, complete with firepit, grill, plenty of tiki torches and citronella candles, overlooks the private dock. Since our family trip was primarily to fish for bass, my husband was able to launch his boat from the boat launch a 1/2 mile down the road and dock it back at the house. We also had a great time using the 2 person kayak to go on a few nice, relaxing, trips around the islands in the reservoir. We also visited the beautiful Salmon River Falls, about 10 mile drive. FYI fisherman: excellent fishing, early morning and between 8-10 at night. Total Smallmouth Bass caught: 17. This beautiful residence will now and forever be our favorite upstate New York getaway, and the owners went beyond to answer questions, keep in contact, make suggestions for local attractions, greatly accommodating. Thank you!!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing