We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Hook Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Red Hook Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Red Hook B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
brooklyn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed over President's Day weekend, it was our first trip with just myself, my husband and our 7 month-old son. The room was very comfortable and spacious, if not just a little warm, and we wanted to use the lovely fireplace so could have stood it to be a bit cooler inside. We asked them to turn down the heat and they did, but the insulation kept it very warm! The tub was HUGE! The breakfasts were delicious, and the hosts invited us to join them for dinner one evening, which we'll take them up on someday. Nabil took us out back to the chicken coop so Henri could pet the chickens, it was a great experience, and they have quite the playground, even a swing that perfectly fit a baby! It is conveniently located beside an amazing bakery, Me Oh My Pies. We will definitely visit the Inn again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hicountryho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    57
    7
    20
    14
See reviews for
105
144
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I lucked out and purchased a groupon for a 2 night stay here in room #6 for my one year wedding anniversary with my husband. A quick Amtrak ride up the Hudson and we escaped the crazy fast paced lifestyle of NYC and found ourselves spoiled at the inn! Pat, chef nabil, and the staff were so accommodating, attentive, informative, and loving! As if we were part of the fam! It was such a treat! Can't wait to go back! The bed was amazing, the jacuzzi my favorite, the fire place picturesque, the whole experience was so relaxing, charming, and lovely! Thanks for everything!!!! Oh, and we loved the chickens!!! Fresh eggs!!! And REAL flowers!!! :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeenajensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Pat welcomed us like we were part of family, so we felt at home right away and we relaxed before going out for dinner then I had the most delicious sleep in a extremely comfortable bed. And what they say is true: at breakfast we met a very nice couple whose son was already in Bard so of course the conversation flowed. We felt part of it !

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gorgonzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyflyer4, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you so much for your gracious comments! We hope to host you often should your become a "Bard Family'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Both the owners and the town are very quaint and nice, but the property is very dated and dark. The rooms are dusty and feel extremely old. The room were broiling hot even though it was in the 30's outside. The "fresh flowers" are plastic. The lamp shades are covered in plastic. The whole place reminded me of my grandmother's house of the 1980's in a bad way. The Eggs Benedict that was served for breakfast was basically inedible. Stale muffins, eggs cooked through, half a slice of Canadian bacon between the two English muffins. The Hollandaise was made with mustard! The place is on a main road so there is traffic noise all night, though the bed was comfortable. I have stayed in other B&B's for significantly less and been much much more satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boski21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyflyer4, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
The Red Hook Country Inn is a lovely 170 year old building in the heart of the downtown Village of Red Hook conveniently located along Broadway within minutes to everything interesting that you would wish to visit in the Hudson Valley.

We are happy that you found our village quaint as it is truly a charming place to live, dine, shop and play. Our rooms are all different in theme, mostly kept in a 'dated' style to ensure that a guest who wishes to be visiting an 'antique' house will experience just that...memories of Grandma! While we do place fresh flowers daily in all of our rooms, for accent in two of our rooms we do have silk roses and giant sunflowers in the bathrooms. Fortunately thebathroom facilities are not dated, just the period furnishings, floors (170 years), floors and ceilings. We paint the plaster walls and the original house doors annually and during our winter season we have just completed the process.
As far as the excessive heat, we are very excited to hear about this as we just completed a full insulation project in our attic that is proving to maintain the heat in the inn! We now can turn off the heat at night and our 2 year old, triple glaze windows are able to be opened and closed securely and safely. Also, each room has a working ceiling fan and we also have table fans should anyone require more than that.
The Eggs Benedict is a favorite of our guests and is not made with mustard but with the true ingredients of a chef..lemon juice and worcestershire. We are very careful to give our recipe to anyone who questions and as my husband, Chef Nabil, is a Saucier, his soups and sauces are extraordinarily original and delicious. Since breakfast on Sunday features Eggs Benedict, with fresh fruit, all of our guests also have the option of eggs any style, french toast, fresh oatmal, granola style cereals, oatmeals, yogurts, bacon, sausage, fresh toast, homemade jellies & jams, fruit juices and farm fresh milk for their coffee and tea. If a guest prefers something other for dietary issues such as gluten free (we always have a loaf of gluten free 'bread' on hand)or for some reason or another requests an different or additional breakfast, the option is always available with a smile.
Our housekeeping staff works diligently to ensure that your stay is positive with careful ironing of our linens, daily dusting and vacuuming and whatever else it takes to make your experience wonderful.
We hope you will come back to give us another try and sleep in another one of our very comfortable beds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I was delightfully surprised when my boyfriend took me here, and we had such a wonderful night! The meal had such incredible, unique flavors that I've never had before, and every bite was so savory and delicious!! The room was gorgeous with a nice fireplace, and it felt like you were a welcomed guest in someone's home, and it didn't have the feel like you get when you're simply at a hotel. The owners were so nice and they really have us looking forward to going back again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleNegron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyflyer4, Owner at The Red Hook Country Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
We are so happy that you were able to enjoy your Valentine's Day with us! We treat everyone as we would like to be treated so reviews such as yours lift our spirits to know that you enjoyed our hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Hook
9.8 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
10.8 km away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
9.5 km away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
14.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
12.4 km away
Church des Artistes Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Hook Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Hook Country Inn

Property: The Red Hook Country Inn
Address: 7460 South Broadway, Red Hook, NY 12571
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Red Hook
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Red Hook
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,388 - ₹ 18,900
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Hook Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Federal Colonial built 1841. 2 Brand new First Floor Wheelchair Accessible Rooms with roll in shower. Carriage House, an accessible addition to the inn, has two bedrooms, fireplace, separate entrance and can accommodate pets. 7 Second floor bedrooms are private, some with jetted tubs, all with private bath, Cable HiDef TV, WiFi, All new triple glaze windows, living room fireplace, community breakfast room (accessible), newly completed back deck, great covered hot tub and outdoor screen house.Great covered front porch with ceiling fans, wicker and rockers! On site parking. Totally non smoking, all food requirements met, 24 hour coffee, tea, snacks and cold water. 4 guest refrigerators. Onsite wheelchair and portacrib available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Red Hook Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Hook Country Hotel Red Hook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing