We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (461)
Filter reviews
461 results
Traveller rating
170
181
82
22
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
181
82
22
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool cinnamon rolls front desk pancake machine room was clean two nights shuttle service train station king room great place to stay staff was friendly bagels free breakfast culinary institute of america sofa bed convenient location hyde park
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 461 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Beautiful new hotel. No complaints about quality---who wouldn't like a Holiday Inn Express cinnamon roll?---except maybe that the breakfast area is too small. But the price! even when colleges are not in session, the cost of a room here seems very high.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank nzclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Nzclark,

Thank you for your review and valued feedback.It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie and of course our new Cinnabon Sweet Rolls during our breakfast hours. We apologize you feel the price was very high during your recent stay with us, September and October for the Dutchess County area is high demand season for wedding's in the area. We do hope that our level of service and amenities that's included makes up for that since our staff delivers consistent, genuine service to every guest. This is very important to us as we value our guests and take pride in making all feel welcome. Thank you so much for your review, we hope you are able to stay with us again during the winter season and take advantage of the less expensive rates!

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

We are HiltonHonors members and always try to stay with the Hilton brand. This location is very convenient for visitors to Poughkeepsie. There is free parking, free breakfast, nice size indoor pool with jacuzzi and a tiny gym.

Check in was a breeze and the front desk was very friendly and helpful with directions. I initially booked a suite for Saturday and then added a rewards stay for Friday in a basic room. They were nice enough to put us in a wonderful high ceiling suite, room 132. The room had a dishwasher, microwave, sink, pull out bed and giant table with tv.

Only negatives were the staff walked in my room even though the “do not disturb” sign was still on and my wife was sleeping. Also, the gym is too tiny for the hotel. There were 7 people in there with both treadmills broken trying to use various machines and weights.

Otherwise this is a great location with what you would expect from Hampton Inn.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Haywood16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Haywood16,

Thank you for taking your time with your review, however I believe that you may have mistaken our property with another hotel since your review is left under the Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie page. Although you are a Hilton Honors member, we would like to welcome you to visit our property during your next visit to the Dutchess County area. We offer free wireless internet access, business center, 24 hour fitness center, the seasonal outdoor pool with large patio area and grill usage and sundry shop for snacks and drinks along with fresh baked cookies served daily. Not only that you can sign up with IHG Rewards to enjoy the many benefits while traveling worldwide! When you travel, you deserve the most from your experiences. As a member of IHG Rewards Club, complimentary Internet is yours worldwide with IHG Brand Hotels. Select personal stay preferences to customize hotel stays just the way you like them. And that’s not all you’ll enjoy, you can also enjoy the following as a IHG Rewards member :

Reward Nights
Points & Cash bookings
Gift Certificates
Airline Miles
Brand Name Merchandise
InterContinental® Ambassador Memberships
Digital Rewards
IHG® Foundation
Rewards Concierge
Gift Cards to Amazon, Starbucks and more
TSA Precheck
And more of your favorite rewards
*Rewards differ by location.

Thank you again and we hope you are able to stay with us next time your visiting the area.

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

I stay at Holiday Inns very often and they rarely disappoint. It’s clean, staff is nice and accommodating, pool, gym and normally in good locations. They are also accommodating with cribs for infants. This location is just down the road from a ton of shopping and close to great restaurants just 15 minutes north.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank johndV2904ZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear John D,

Thank you for your excellent review! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback during your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear your great experience with us that our entire team works hard to provide to our guests. Now that it's fall season, I recommend visiting during your next stay with us, the local farms nearby such as the Wilklow Orchards and enjoy their delicious apple cider donuts. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie anytime. Thanks again!

Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We stayed here two nights and it was clean and the staff was nice. Those are two important things I look for in any hotel. I never give a 5 because I don't ever think anything is "perfect". But, I would stay here again if ever in the area. They have an outside pool that looked very nice but we didn't have the opportunity to use it.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallieb321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Sallieb321,

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie and the service you received during your stay. Our team works very hard to ensure our guests have an exceptional stay and we are glad that this was what you experienced.
If you haven't already tried our Cinnabon Sweet Rolls during our breakfast bar, I strongly recommend it during your next stay with us. We also offer free wireless internet access, business center, 24 hour fitness center, the seasonal outdoor pool with large patio area and grill usage and sundry shop for snacks and drinks. Thank you again for sharing your positive experience with fellow travelers and we certainly hope you will visit us again soon!


Best regards,

Rachel Kuhn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights while taking the train to NYC. Clean, comfortable room. Unfortunately the A/C blower was very noisy. Restaurants and shopping area a short drive away. Breakfast included was the standard with open seating area. The food was in an aisle type area that was very difficult to get around with a full hotel of guests, including hungry college sports teams.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiepoughkeepsie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Margaret B,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback during your recent stay. I importantly apologize you were unable to enjoy your breakfast during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie anytime especially during this upcoming fall season since all Holiday Inn Express hotels are partnered with Cinnabon to bring an exclusive recipe for Cinnabon Sweet Rolls to all hotels. This sweet bakery treat will be offered daily on the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar and we hope you can return with us to experiment the new breakfast items starting this fall. Kindly give us a call when your ready to return and we will make sure our team goes above and beyond as we value all of our guests. Thank you again!


Best regards,
Rachel Kuhn

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews