We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English Pub with Indian Fusion Options”

McDonald and Peacock Cider House
Ranked #38 of 85 Restaurants in Peekskill
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Discovered this English pub in Peekskill with an authentic feel. There were the usual comfort pub food options on the menu as well as English Indian fusion items and Indian dishes, a mix you don't often see on pub menus. I had the Bombay Bangers and Mash which were surprisingly good featuring Irish sausages in an lightly spicy, Indian red sauce served on a bed of creamed potatoes. It was a satisfying dish and a good value for the price.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Jet77491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

I visited with my parents on a day trip out of New York on the train from Grand Central. It was a very hot day (30'C / 90's F) so a cold cider or two sounded very tempting.
Being from the UK we tried the NY ciders which were crisp and served chilled to perfection. We all had the sweet corn chowder - it was light and not over thickened like some can be. It also tasted of sweet corn which is not always a given. Two of us had homemade Cornish pasties - these were stuffed with slow cooked beef and had a thin pastry crust. The homemade brown sauce was a perfect accompaniment, not too acidic and it all went. Vegetable samosas was our other main, again homemade with chutney sauces. These were generous in size and tasty (though the pasties were so good my mum got food envy).
Sue, our hostess was helpful and attentive while still giving us space to enjoy our food and drink.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank L2886TJandrewm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Great variety of "traditional" such as burgers, fish-and-chips, etc., and Indian offerings (including vegetarian), which many pubs in the UK offer, so really is also "traditional." One of the restaurant's specialties is the "Bengali Burger" - a beef burger with Indian spices. It's not hot-spicy, but very tasty. The barmaid suggested a couple of possible cider pairings and she was right on. My burger was cooked as requested and was very tasty, with requested toppings, and accompanied by hot fries and the above-mentioned cider pairing. Service was great. Some hikers walked in and the barmaid was able to provide local tourist advice.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Evan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We just had a flight of 8 NY and English ciders and delicious pub and indian food. Ate out doors. Really enjoyed ourselves. Friendly proprietor who lives part time in England.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We arrived here on a Saturday at around 5:30 for food and drinks. The bar was semi-full with older locals and half the tables were occupied. We noticed no one at the tables had food. We originally sat at a table but the loud chatter at the table next to us made us move to the bar, and we were promptly ignored by the bartender who was busy polishing glasses.

Finally a waitress asked us if we wanted food. We ordered our drinks and food from her. Literally, the old guy behind the bar did not even acknowledge us sitting there. We ordered the tater tots, fish & chips & steak sandwich. 45 minutes later, 2 (TWO) tater tots showed up on a plate. Another 45 minutes later, our food showed up. So, we were at the bar for nearly 2 hours and not once did the bartender even look at us. Chatted with his friends, but we were invisible. Didn't even ask us after an hour if we wanted another drink. The food was average at best. My chips were stone cold. There was a hole in the fish as if something punctured it after it was cooked.
Finger? Tongs? Not really sure. And for that, our tab was Almost $40 before tip.

The kitchen is small and open to the dining area. It looked frantic in there. No food was being served. I have no idea what was going on, but as more people came in for food, it just got worse.

We also watched several people come in, try to order drinks, get ignored by the bartender and eventually leave. So, we didn't take it personally that he had no clue what was going on at the bar or at the tables.

Ironically, it's a cute place. It looks like they put a lot of money into the decor but wow, they need some serious help. Peekskill is becoming a food destination in Westchester. If this place doesn't get their act together with the help, they won't be there much longer.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JudyMetroNYCarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McDonald and Peacock Cider House also viewed

Peekskill, Westchester County
Peekskill, Westchester County
 
Peekskill, Westchester County
Peekskill, Westchester County
 
Peekskill, Westchester County
Peekskill, Westchester County
 

Been to McDonald and Peacock Cider House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing