We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oneonta
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK for one night”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed one night to attend a college open house. We arrived much later than we anticipated and it was a good thing we had made reservations because there were no vacancies. The room was on the 2nd floor and after the long drive, we had to carry our luggage up the stairs, making several trips. The condition of the room was good, but the bathroom left alot to be desired. The caulking around the tub and the surrounding wall had black stuff under it - it really needed some serious TLC! For one night, it was no big deal, but if we had to stay longer than one night, I might try one of the others. We were able to visit Walmart at 10:30 at night for the few things that we had left home, which was only a couple of minutes down the road - that was extremely convenient! We didn't get to use any of the amenities, so cannot comment on those.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneontaHI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the comments. Not having an elevator can be inconvenient at times, especially after a long trip. We do have staff on duty 24 hours a day that will gladly assistant you with your luggage upon arrival and departure. I hope you enjoyed the open house at the college! Next time you're in the area visiting, contact the hotel directly to make your reservation as we offer special discounted rates for students and parents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    72
    78
    35
    21
See reviews for
108
46
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Overall this Holiday Inn was VERY good. Its a newer property, located right off the highway. Check-in was easy. About 30 min drive to Cooperstown. Grounds were all kept well and decent. Only complaint was the nightly charge, seemed a bit pricey, but there aren't very many options in that part of New York. Walmart 2 mins away, and tons of fast food options. We left satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneontaHI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the comments. Please visit us again the next time you're in Oneonta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Room was ok, but dated, beds were good and all was clean, but the shower was a joke!
Had to jump around under the shower to get wet, more then half of the water holes in the shower head were clogged, even after scraping it off with my nails, still did not work properly, and the shower was really suited for people over 6 ft, I had to balance on the side of the bath tub to reach the shower head. For the rest the hotel is ok, but surely overpriced (+/-$ 200) in the summer months

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingridH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneontaHI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
I sincerely apologize for the problem you encountered with your shower head. I can assure you that it is an isolated incident and is not a typical occurrence here. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention and the matter has already been addressed. I'm glad to hear you were satisfied with our other services and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here when our daughter was in camp. The hotel is from the eighties and needs refurbishment very badly. Rooms are spacious but furniture and carpeting old. A/C unit in window smells and makes horrific noise. Bathrooms old and bathtubs scraped. Old tiles. Restaurant is very nice, serving American, heavy menu. Generous and diversified. Reception staff very nice and friendly. Pool clean. It is a shame that so much positive energy of great staff is used in an old, run down facility.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninakowalewska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneontaHI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
I sincerely appreciate you noticing and commenting on the friendliness and attentiveness of our staff. I apologize for your room not meeting your standards. We continually are working on improving and updating our rooms and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your comments. Next time you are in the Oneonta area, I hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Understanding that it is July and baseball season (Cooperstown, NY) - I'm currently stuck at this hotel with few options, dealing with a facility-hosted party that reminds me of my college frat days. That was ten years ago, I've driven 4 hours today and was hoping to relax. Rather, the hotel has a DJ blasting music, drunk guests screaming and kids running around the hotel.

When I asked staff about the event, I was told it was going on until 9pm - didn't really offer any help besides that. Not to turn down the music, not to end the open beverage drinking, etc. Pretty much, I'd have to just deal with it.

The nearest hotel is Binghamton and I'm actually considering the 1 hour drive and additional hour in the morning for a 8:00AM meeting.

So if you're here for a party, don't mind music you can hear in your shower (while running) and staff that just blow you off...go at it. I'm cutting up my priority card tonight.

Room Tip: Avoid, unless you enjoy loud parties and staff that blows you off
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OneontaHI, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Oneonta, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thank you for notifying us of your trouble during your stay. Immediately following your expressed concern at the front desk, we significantly lowered the radio out by the pool. The Manager on Duty was made aware of the situation and monitored the volume of both the guests and the music outdoors. We also offered to move your room further away from the pool to avoid any other disruptions you may encounter. Both the music and cash bar were ended by 9:00 pm. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience the noise had caused you. Again, thank you for making us aware of the problem. We always listen and respond to our guests' concerns as it is our hospitality promise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oneonta
4.9 km away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
890 reviews
2.9 km away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#5 of 9 in Oneonta
199 reviews
2.0 km away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
23.3 km away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
21.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oneonta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oneonta

Property: Holiday Inn Oneonta
Address: 5206 State Highway 23, Oneonta, NY 13820-3560
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Oneonta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oneonta
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,986 - ₹ 17,395
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oneonta 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Oneonta/Cooperstown Area, You like baseball, the kids like soccer, your spouse likes folk art & antiques. Well, you've come to the right place! Situated in picturesque Otsego County New York is the answer to your planning dilemma and is the area's only full service chain affiliated hotel. Visit all the attractions Oneonta has to offer - travel to historic Cooperstown, where much more than baseball waits! Complimentary wireless Internet in all guest rooms & public areas! Our Town Cafe & Pub gives you the Best for Breakfast featuring new low carb options because Morning Matters! Dinner in Our Town Cafe & Pub is the perfect way to end your day! The Pub offers a cozy atmosphere & our menu features a variety of signature specials. The bar is stocked with premium liquors, interesting wines, & local beer. The Holiday Inn Oneonta/Cooperstown Area is Oneonta's premiere banquet & meeting facility! Our 6,200 square feet of space can accommodate groups up to 300 people. Receive friendly & professional service at your next corporate meeting. Don't forget to ask about the Miles for Meetings program. Our wedding packages can't be beat! We also specialize in retirement and anniversary parties - ask about our specials! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Oneonta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oneonta Hotel Oneonta
Oneonta Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing