We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful serene campsite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nick's Lake Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Forge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nick's Lake Campground
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful serene campsite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

Came across this beautiful campsite by chance on our way further into the Adirondacks. Were lucky enough to be given site 99 in Loop E which was the most wonderful site we have ever camped in. Lovely lakeside setting in a clearing in the trees. Plenty of space and not close to others. Good hot showers nearby. Close to the beach. Take a walk there in the evening as the lake in the sunset is stunningly beautiful and very romantic. There were deer drinking at the edge of the water. Definitely want to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ClaireEastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rome
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

This campground was very beautiful and relaxing to stay at. It has plenty of well maintained and modern bathrooms all over the grounds, as well as hot showers. A very nice playground our kids enjoyed and a lovely swimming erea and hiking trails. I plan on returning every year with my family. It is only 5 minutes from Old Forge, yet far enough away to enjoy the outdoors!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jengemRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

We stayed at Nick's Lake Campground for the first time this past June/July. The campground is very nicely situated on the lake, far away from the busy downtown, therefore making it a very quiet place to stay. The bathrooms are centrally located on each loop and very clean. The staff was very helpful when asked any questions. There is an IGA and a Kinney Drug nearby. We also went to the wonderful local italian deli for fresh pizza and sandwiches. Once you drive the short drive (5 miles??) downtown, everything is very close by. The Enchanted Forest Water Safari was awesome!! Unfortunately, it rained most of our trip so we didn't get to do all the things on our list. We still had a great time!.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islanderVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2007

The staff bent over backwards to accommodate our late attempts to find a camping spot. We thoroughly enjoyed our week there and will get back there every year in our RV. We don't mind having no hookups when the new shower facilities are superb!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank FortySixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2007

i arrived at this campground at 12:30 pm on aug. 10, 2007 when i pulled up to the window and said i would like to get a site and i asked if this is where i did it the lady in the booth got snotty and said Yeah like i was an idiot. then still with an attitute she told us she only had one site for one night. my husband and i felt she was rude and decided not to use your campground i feel if you are trying to bring in coustomers they shouldnt be treated rudely.

  • Liked — nothing i stayed at another campground with better staff
  • Disliked — i waas treated rudely before i got to stay in this campground
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Treatedbadly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Old Forge hotels
0.0 km away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 km away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
0.0 km away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#9 of 12 in Old Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Nick's Lake Campground? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nick's Lake Campground

Property: Nick's Lake Campground
Address: Bisby Road, Old Forge, NY 13420
Region: United States > New York > Old Forge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Old Forge
Number of rooms: 112
Also Known As:
Nick`s Lake Campground Hotel Old Forge
Nicks Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing