We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
22
23
16
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
23
16
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool the lower level adirondack chairs would stay again new carpet bed was comfortable can't wait to go back next year lake motel signal renovation lodge mattress porch
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Stayed here over the holiday weekend and as usual had a wonderful time. Some of the rooms on the lower level have been remodeled and are absolutely gorgeous! Rooms on the upper level have been updated a couple of years ago and are very comfortable. Rates are very reasonable and the view is to die for. Awesome front row seats for the fireworks too! Owners are the best and will do anything to make your stay comfortable. Looking forward to being back here again in October.

Room Tip: Upper level has the best views of the lake
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank timvf101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

As a kid, my friends and I would backpack into the woods and camp for the weekend. The difference between tenting and the Forge Motel is at least the motel has indoor plumbing. To be honest, this was my second stay at the Forge, so I have no one to blame for this than myself.

This is an old, outdated property right in the village of Old Forge. So, in addition to the indoor plumbing, the location is good. I did enjoy watching the sun come up over the lake. Otherwise, the staff is fair and the rates too high. The room was dark and dingy. They offered free wifi but I could never connect and the free breakfast was a sad, continental affair.

Room Tip: To get a good room, try the Van Auken's Inn.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNY-Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerOwner, Manager at Forge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

We are sorry your stay was not what you expected. We are in the process of renovating rooms. We have renovated some but they are more expensive. We do advertise that we have a free continental breakfast which is exactly what we offer. We have bagels, danish, muffins, yogurt, fresh bananas, fruit cups, hot tea, hot chocolate, orange and apple juice. We offer wi-fi in our office, however it doesn't work in the rooms. The newly renovated rooms have microwaves, fridges, all new furnishings and new flat screen televisions. We hope you come back and maybe try us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We just returned from a quick overnight to the area. The Forge accepts dogs and is located right in the center of town. We had a double queen room. Our room had all new carpet, newer A/C unit and new queen beds. Bathroom clean and bright. The views of Old Forge Pond were wonderful. There was a concert on the waterfront Sunday evening which was an added bonus we really enjoyed.The only ding was on the wifi, signal was iffy from the rooms but ok out on the lawn in front of the room. Luckily we don't come to the Adirondacks to surf on our computers and it didn't matter so much. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lethargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Every room has a lake view and is steps from downtown Old Forge and beach.
Love the rustic style of the great room:lobby with indoor pool and
Patio again overlooking lake.
Rooms decent with glass patio door with lake view and a small patio area with Airondack chairs.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

My family have always wanted to go to the waterpark in Old Forge, NY, so we decided to do it and bring the dog! The Forge Motel was the only one who would take dogs, and it was worth it! But note, it's a dated motel. But for the price, do it! We had a room with a great view (though ALL rooms have great views) of the lake. We had 2 Adirondack chairs on the little patio and everyone around was very friendly. There were many people who brought their own grill and were having parties. We did not use the indoor pool since it was hot, but it looked great. It is walking distance to the famous water park and it's right on the main street with all the shops and restaurants. The lake is adorable!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view of the lake. We had a room on the end, which I liked because it was a little quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 716amyf421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerOwner, Manager at Forge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2016

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of renovating most or our rooms. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews