We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darling Tupa”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Darling Tupa”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We rented a 2 bedroom cabin. It had a kitchen, entry room, nice sitting room, 2 bedrooms and bathroom. We were very pleased with the accomodations - nice and quiet. There is a lake within walking distance and we took a short canoe ride in the morning. Would love to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzephyrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    29
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
94
60
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Three things impressed me about the Lapland Lake tupa that we rented: it looked exactly like the photos on the website (meaning the place was very well-represented and clean); it was quiet (no car or air traffic noise..........also, the place seems to attract people who are respectful of the quiet of nature; a big plus, this); the cottage was very well thought out and equipped: we wanted for very little; everything that was promised on the website was present and in good working condition.

So many details of daily living were worked out and present in our cottage experience: really, you don't find this level of thoughtfulness demonstrated even in the finer hotels/motels (well, you may, but I guarantee it wouldn't feel nearly as warm and homey). There is a thread of quiet intelligence and common-sense domesticity here, if that appeals to you.

Though, it rained for the three days of our stay in October, it was still a great and cozy place to stay. Had the weather been more kind, we would surely have made use of the many watercraft available at the water's edge (there appeared to be enough to accomodate most or all of the guests on the water at the same time).

The whole experience of booking and checking in/out was very smooth and seamless. The young woman behind the counter (I believer her name is Catherine), was very nice, very receptive to questions, and an all-around pleasant person.

The fact that this place is open year-round makes me want to take up cross-county skiing. There are miles of trail in a beautful wooded setting, and I can't think of a better place to get snowed in, what with the comfy wood-burning heater and all.

Wow! We rarely get this lucky on a first try...............though, I'm reluctant to tell you all of this; the selfish part of my nature wants to keep this place a secret (lest, next time it is hit with throngs of people). Keep the phone, TV, and other distractions at home; enjoy the company of the one(s) that you are with, again........here is the place to do it. Enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctfaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We're 4 grade school pals who get together once a year for a girls weekend away. Our stay at Lapland Lake was wonderful! The hosts Ann & Olavi are tremendous people, friendly and gracious, going out of their way to see that our stay was the best it could be. From the very start with booking the Tupa (cottage) to the very end with the follow-up "thank you for visiting" email the service provided by them was outstanding. The cottage was great! The bathroom in our Tupa (Lumi Tupa) was brand new and the Tupa had all of the amenities needed. The grounds are beautiful (be sure to visit the reindeer) and the entire place is quiet and peaceful, just what was needed for our getaway. Our group would recommend Lapland Lake to anyone looking for a getaway far away from the maddening crowds where you can catch-up, relax and enjoy yourself! Thank you Ann & Olavi...for everything!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imapoolgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed for just two nights en route from Toronto to Boston. The tupa (Lapin) was spacious and well equipped - everything you need (but if you are planning a barfbecue, bring charcoal with you as it's a drive to the town to get some). Furnishings very comfortable.

The lake is beautiful - peaceful and lovely for swimming and boating. Bike hire was worthwhile. Reindeer were an interesting sight too!

We thoight it would be lovely here in the winter for cross country skiing - shame it is so far from the UK.

Staff very helpful.

Overall - we wish we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GW581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penfield, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This was the second year my daughter and I went up to Lapland Lake. We already booked for next summer. The cabin was clean and the amenities are wonderful. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All the cabins I have been in are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center

Property: Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
Address: 139 Lapland Lake Rd, Northville, NY 12134-3962
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Northville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Northville
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,740 - ₹ 17,821
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center offers a touch of Finland in New York's southern Adirondack Mountains! We offer lodging in cozy tupas (housekeeping cottages), a pristine non-motor lake with sandy beach for swimming, fishing, kayaking and canoeing along with scenic hiking and mountain biking. Visit in winter for the day or overnight to experience our award-winning cross country ski center. Our four-season woodland retreat was proudly operated by former U.S. Olympian Olavi Hirvonen and his family for more than 35 years. New owners Kathy and Paul Zahray offer you their warmest welcome. We offer year round lodging in ten immaculate tupas (housekeeping cottages) featuring up to four bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens (refrigerator-freezer, range, microwave, toaster, electric coffee maker), baths with showers, screened porches, electric heat, wood stoves including all wood stove supplies, outdoor fire pit and BBQ. Our authentic Finnish wood-burning sauna is complimentary year round for overnight guests. Professional massage therapy is available. During the spring, summer and fall seasons overnight guests have access to our stunning 70-acre, motor-free lake with sandy beach. Woods Lake offers exceptional swimming, fishing, kayaking & canoeing with complimentary use of kayaks, canoes, rowboats and paddle boats. Our 30-mile of private hiking and mountain biking trails are available for our lodging guests' use. Our 3-mile self-guided nature trail is a delight for children and adults alike. In the winter months you are welcome to visit for the day or to lodge with us to experience our award-winning cross country ski center. 50Km of scenic ski & snowshoe trails are surrounded by the pristine southern Adirondack Forest Preserve. Trails are available for all abilities, from beginner to expert. Lapland Lake offers meticulous snowcat grooming; well-trained, courteous staff; two-story warming lodge; full rental-retail shops; daily PSIA ski instruction; children's tubing; ice-skating and two food service locations. Tavataan ladulla! See you on the trails! Come join us to experience Adirondack Splendor and Finnish Hospitality! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Hotel Northville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing