We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center
Nearby Hotels
US$ 123
US$ 118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 76
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 59
US$ 57
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 76
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Flip Inn Motel(Northville)
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
198
30
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
198
30
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood stovecross country skiingski trailscozy cabinsprivate lakefully equipped kitchennight skiingfire pitliving roomwonderful weekendfrozen laketubing hillthe entire staffthe main lodgesaunacottageunplug
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Three things impressed me about the Lapland Lake tupa that we rented: it looked exactly like the photos on the website (meaning the place was very well-represented and clean); it was quiet (no car or air traffic noise..........also, the place seems to attract people who are respectful of the quiet of nature; a big plus, this); the cottage was very well thought out and equipped: we wanted for very little; everything that was promised on the website was present and in good working condition.

So many details of daily living were worked out and present in our cottage experience: really, you don't find this level of thoughtfulness demonstrated even in the finer hotels/motels (well, you may, but I guarantee it wouldn't feel nearly as warm and homey). There is a thread of quiet intelligence and common-sense domesticity here, if that appeals to you.

Though, it rained for the three days of our stay in October, it was still a great and cozy place to stay. Had the weather been more kind, we would surely have made use of the many watercraft available at the water's edge (there appeared to be enough to accomodate most or all of the guests on the water at the same time).

The whole experience of booking and checking in/out was very smooth and seamless. The young woman behind the counter (I believer her name is Catherine), was very nice, very receptive to questions, and an all-around pleasant person.

The fact that this place is open year-round makes me want to take up cross-county skiing. There are miles of trail in a beautful wooded setting, and I can't think of a better place to get snowed in, what with the comfy wood-burning heater and all.

Wow! We rarely get this lucky on a first try...............though, I'm reluctant to tell you all of this; the selfish part of my nature wants to keep this place a secret (lest, next time it is hit with throngs of people). Keep the phone, TV, and other distractions at home; enjoy the company of the one(s) that you are with, again........here is the place to do it. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctfaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We're 4 grade school pals who get together once a year for a girls weekend away. Our stay at Lapland Lake was wonderful! The hosts Ann & Olavi are tremendous people, friendly and gracious, going out of their way to see that our stay was the best it could be. From the very start with booking the Tupa (cottage) to the very end with the follow-up "thank you for visiting" email the service provided by them was outstanding. The cottage was great! The bathroom in our Tupa (Lumi Tupa) was brand new and the Tupa had all of the amenities needed. The grounds are beautiful (be sure to visit the reindeer) and the entire place is quiet and peaceful, just what was needed for our getaway. Our group would recommend Lapland Lake to anyone looking for a getaway far away from the maddening crowds where you can catch-up, relax and enjoy yourself! Thank you Ann & Olavi...for everything!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imapoolgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed for just two nights en route from Toronto to Boston. The tupa (Lapin) was spacious and well equipped - everything you need (but if you are planning a barfbecue, bring charcoal with you as it's a drive to the town to get some). Furnishings very comfortable.

The lake is beautiful - peaceful and lovely for swimming and boating. Bike hire was worthwhile. Reindeer were an interesting sight too!

We thoight it would be lovely here in the winter for cross country skiing - shame it is so far from the UK.

Staff very helpful.

Overall - we wish we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GW581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This was the second year my daughter and I went up to Lapland Lake. We already booked for next summer. The cabin was clean and the amenities are wonderful. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All the cabins I have been in are nice.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We ( a big family group) stayed in the resort for a summer vacation. The owners are friendly and helpful, and the maintenance person is very responsive, too. The lake is small but beautiful; the beach, the kayaks, etc are a great attraction to both kids and adults alike. The neighbors were very nice, too, and it is a safe place to let your kids roam around without looking out for them every second. ( very relaxing for the parents).The trails are wet and muddy after the rain, and the snowshoe trail is hard to follow during the summer months due to the high grasses.
The tupas themselves are clean, but very old and small. They are also somewhat dark inside, and the lighting is not adequate. The amenities are limited ( no dishwasher; matches required for the stovetops; internet connection is not very reliable)
Do not forget your shampoo - it is not provided.
Despite these minor inconveniences, we had a great time in the resort, and the kids loved it a lot.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews