We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 10 for location”
Review of Hotel Kavalari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kavalari
Ranked #36 of 81 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Situated along the main pavement of Fira, the location is super convenient to the bus station, to restaurants and most importantly have a million dollar view of the caldera. Breakfast and sunset viewings are a delight.

But, not suitable for those with knee problems, a lot of steps. Also, my room has a perpetual musky smell, with a cave like toilet. Whilst there's some pluses to the Executive room , like cute windows, generous in-room space, right next to big breakfast patio for convenience, on hindsight I would rather pay a higher price for the Superior room instead.

Overall, a nice place and staff is friendly.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JamJamFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017

Our stay at the Hotel Kavalari was amazing. Right from the start, when I booked our 3 rooms, their Customer Service was outstanding. My many emails were answered within 24 hours. The Hotel Kavalari arranged our transfers from the airport to the hotel and from the hotel to the port. Because the hotel is in an non-accessible vehicle location, the hotel had a staff person meet us at the end of the street and take our luggage to the hotel. He then carried our luggage to our hotel room which was located many steps down from the main street. Our room, #14, was wonderful. It overlooked the sea which a patio balcony. We had twin beds, which we requested, and the room was spotless. We had a cave room and the experience was very memorable. Breakfast, located on the patio overlooking the sea, was included and it was delicious. Service was wonderful. The Hotel Kavalari is in a perfect location; walking distance to all of the shopping, restaurants, cable car, donkey rides, etc. The Hotel does not have a pool only a small spa pool. It was such a fabulous way to experience Santorini. My family and I would definitely stay at the Hotel Kavalari again. Thank you, Hotel Kavalari, for a wonderful vacation!

Room Tip: If you have difficulty walking, ask for a room on street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loves2Travel1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

The location and view from this hotel make it absolutely excellent! Yes, the rooms are a bit dated (even in the Executive rooms), and the beds are a bit hard. However, the staff and views make up for these small shortcomings. Also, if you rent a quad/buggy, there is a close parking lot down near the hotel Atlantis which is a very short walk!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Very disappointed :/

The pictures on the website looked fantastic, and the location superb... but as you can see, a picture is worth a thousand words. Be careful with this hotel as not all rooms are nice. Some are amazing and some are... well, like the one we had.

Small, twin beds (when we explicitly asked during the booking for a double bed, as we were a couple looking for romantic holidays), we even had to do our own beds (???). Totally charmless.

The views were very good though, and the breakfast too (including natural orange juice). The woman who attended us during checking/checkout: very nice as well.

By the way, there is no Wi-Fi. We tried almost everything, including two visits to reception. Nothing. In 2017 Wi-Fi is not something nice to have but must to have.

Oh! And the jacuzzi: fantastic if it were not for the fact that the water was COLD! Crazy...

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidcontrerasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Although our room was small we had a fantastic view and positioned close to entrance and breakfast terrace.....what a fantastic way to start the day having breakfast with that superb view! Dimetrious and Maria helped to make our stay very special with their genuine friendliness and knowledge of the island .
I recommend using Wifi in Reception area .

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.7 km away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.1 km away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#41 of 81 in Fira
311 reviews
0 km away
Panorama Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Nemesis Rooms & Apartments
0.2 km away
Tzekos Villas
Tzekos Villas
#32 of 81 in Fira
594 reviews
0 km away
Adamis Majesty Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kavalari? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kavalari

Address: Fira 84700, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price Range: ₹ 6,102 - ₹ 20,796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Kavalari 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kavalari, a small unique hotel originally a captain's house, the property retains its traditional island architectural style. Situated on the rim of the Caldera, 300m above the sea, the property has exterior stairways which wind down the cliff face to various flowered terraces overlooking the volcano. Rooms are built directly into the cliff with access to various flowered terraces where guests relax enjoying beautiful surroundings and spectacular sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kavalari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kavalari Hotel Fira
Hotel Kavalari Santorini/Fira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing