We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Greco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Greco
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Acceptable.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Family of five (three teenage boys) stayed three nights as part of a Greek Island Hopper tour. First impressions were good, rooms were clean, albeit a bit minimalist with no hotel information kit and sparse toiletry items. Our double room didn't have bath towels but a quick call to reception and they brought them over within the hour. Buffet dinner the first night was ok. Breakfasts were hit and miss, the best part was when they had fresh fruit, but we only saw fresh fruit 1 out of three days, either they'd run out the other day when we arrived towards the end of the session or they hadn't put it out yet on the day we were early? The queue for breakfast can get a bit long during peak time (9am-10am) as the hotel has a lot of rooms. Didn't use the pools so cannot comment on the lounger wars but did see towels out on loungers early in the day with no people in them. 1st floor balconies were communal, no dividing walls which makes it a bit awkward. The walk to the nearest kiosk or grocery store or public bus station or Fira is a good 7-10 minute walk (not five easy minutes unless you are walking very fast), and consider when it's a hot day, the walk can be a grind, even at night. We splurged on taxi's twice, once to Fira and once to Oia. Well worth it. The El Greco did allow us hotel beach towels for a day out at Perivolos beach, and we used the local bus to visit Kamari Beach and Oia, very easy and convenient. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable, and overall it was a good experience at the El Greco. Absolutely loved the Island of Santorini.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    588
    168
    66
    41
See reviews for
362
741
45
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

As the heading suggests, on first impressions this hotel was exactly as we expected. Good quality rooms, fantastic pools, very picturess, and all in all a very nice, pretty hotel, if there can be such a thing.
However, what really lets this hotel down is quite simply, the breakfast is truly awful, and the hotel seems to be used as an overnight stay for the entire population of backpackers in Santorini, it felt like a motel rather than a hotel!!!
I have to say that all in all the holiday was fantastic, Santorini was a beautiful island, with stunning sun sets, and stunning views. The walk to Fira was a pleasant stroll, and the location was itself perfect.
What was extremely disappointing was the breakfast. It was like going back to my old school days when you had to queue for around 10 minutes in a long line for your food. The selection was pathetic, and it was about as fresh as a tomato that had been left in the sun for a week. The orange juice was as bout as cold as the pavement in the midday sun, and the eggs felt as if they had been deep fried, they were so oily and greasy!!!
We were lucky, we stayed in room 527, a fantastic location, right next to the pool. It was great because we had the advantage in the daily sunbed wars!!! You may ask yourselves what the sunbed wars are...unless you were up armed with your towels at 06.30am, yes 06.30am, to claim your precious sunbed, you were nackered, and were left with nothing, no sunbeds, it was like a game of endurance every day!!! What really annoyed me the most was not the fact that we had to get up every morning at that time, but that people were claiming their sunbeds but not turning up until 2 to 3pm, therefore depriving others of their use and enjoying the relaxing atmosphere around the pool...note to El Greco...invest in more sunbeds, you have plenty of space, get more beds there.
On my note about the relaxing atmosphere, this was true for the first few days, but as our week wore on, the discovery of backpackers really shocked us. I have nothing at all against backpacking, ive done it myself as have most people, but I stayed in hostels or lowly rated hotels. It did come as a surprise that the pool was becoming more of a party zone for backpackers, rather than a relaxing 4 star hotel which it should have been. Unless backpackers have suddenly become extremely rich and Privileged , i have a funny suspicion that the hotel provides them with cheaper rates than unsuspecting members of the public like ourselves, which, if true, is extremely unfair.
All in all, would i stay here again? Yes, if the breakfast improved, and the hotel was more like the levels you expect from a four star hotel, with the clientèle you would also expect in a four star hotel.
Santorini is a fantastic place, El Greco has so much going for it, the pools are lovely, the rooms, although basic, are perfect for what you use them for, they just need to make a few changes, and hotel will live up to its rating, and we will certainly stay there again!!!

Hope this helps

Room Tip: Try room 527, great location as long as you dont mind being on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ggj90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Beautiful hotel, very nicely appointed, with lots of swimming pools and elegant courtyards, and spacious, clean, attractively decorated rooms. The breakfast spread was quite nice. This hotel is slightly outside the main city (Thera/Fira), but it's a short, easy and pretty five-minute walk there with a caldera view to admire. Very romantic.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta,GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed at El Greco for 6 nights with my family and my sister's family. We had 5 kids between us and the resort was perfect for us. The pools were clean and refreshing. Our room was off of one of the smaller pools so getting a loung chair was not a problem during the day. Our room ( and my sister's) overlooked the caldera which was fabulous with our own private patio. The rooms we had, 2 triples and a quad, were spacious and clean. The AC worked fine and it definitely cools off at night in Santorini. The rooms had lots of windows and felt very open. They provide big fluffy beach towels for you to use which was a big bonus for us. Internet was very reliable in the lobby. We had lunch at the pool bar a couple of days and enjoyed it. the girls loved the chicken nuggets and frozen virgin daiquri's. Our room had a fridge so we walked to the market often (5 min. away) to stock up on drinks and snacks. The front desk was wonderful and helpful. For what we payed I think it was a good value.

Room Tip: The caldera view rooms are amazing, but they are very close to the street so you will have some nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gcball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Our experience at this hotel was perfect from start to finish. Our room seemed huge and the bathroom was also very spacious. The swimming pool areas provided a perfect place to cool off at the end of a day's sightseeing. The breakfast provided a good range of foods for all tastes. Both the hotel reception staff and Pedros the barman at the pool bar were welcoming and friendly and very helpful. The hotel is just a 10 minute walk from the main centre of Fira which provided countless options for eating and shopping. With all the local bus services leaving and returning to Fira it was easy to use these and we spent a really enjoyable day at Oia, definitely a highlight of our time there. This was our first visit to Santorini and it easily not only met but surpassed all expectations. Definitely hope to go there again!

Room Tip: This is a very large complex but the layout of the rooms is such that there is probably no "bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fira hotels
0.6 km away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
1.5 km away
Santorini Palace
Santorini Palace
#22 of 80 in Fira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 km away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.7 km away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
0.6 km away
Tzekos Villas
Tzekos Villas
#14 of 80 in Fira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco

Property: El Greco
Address: Fira | Box 91, Fira 847 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Fira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Fira
#21 Family Hotel in Fira
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fira
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,064 - ₹ 23,240
Hotel Class:4 star — El Greco 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your El Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Fira
El Greco Hotel Fira
El Greco Santorini/Fira
El Greco Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing