We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing service”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Oia, Santorini, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alex R
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing service”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Visited in July for my 40th celebrations. The accommodation is amazing. The house is situated on the caldera so the views are breathtaking. Especially enjoyed sitting on the terrace. What made our stay though was the level of service we received. Eleni and the team went out of their way to make the stay as comfortable as possible. They made dinner reservations, organised a birthday cake and were even there to wave us goodbye at 5am. The birthday flowers were a great touch too. I've travelled quite a bit and have stayed in some great places but Lydia's House is up there with the best. Thanks for a memorable birthday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingle
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“In Oia's heart, and ours”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This review is a long time coming - better late than never.

An exquisite retreat, right in central Oia. It grows on you and becomes your special home away from noise and bustle, but in Oia's heart. Especially wonderful for a couple, or a couple with 1-2 children. It is lovely, dry and cool inside. The bed is comfortable, and the compact kitchen (which seems quirky and too small at first, ends up being fully-stocked and just right) and bathrooms are well-equipped. The pool makes for a refreshing respite - just the right temperature - after the day's activities. About 30 steps down from the main pedestrian path, an oasis of nighttime quiet, and morning beauty. Cool all day long.

You will appreciate all the carefully thought out design features in the villa, eg, fantastic lighting and fixtures, and built-in, padded bench in the living area. We spent many hours lounging on this bench, reading our books, escaping from the mind-day sun.

Manos and Eleni were kind, gracious, responsive hosts, leaving us with a parting gift that we still have. Every email and text was answered promptly, both during the booking process and after arrival. Eleni arranged dinner reservations which garnered the best tables during this busy season. Our 6 days was just long enough to sample Santorini's best offerings.

Lydia's House was our treasured home base. Easy access to the whole labyrinthine town of Oia, the bus depot (for excursions to Akrotiri, beaches, and other towns and villages), the path down to the swimming holes on the waterfront (walk the path LEFT at the bottom for about 15 minutes to find the best spot!), and the path for the long trek to Fira (see my detailed review of that), and all the choices of sunset viewing spots.

Oia in August was literally overrun with tourists and cruise ship day trippers and I would not choose to visit Oia at that time again. However, whenever we go again, we will consider Lydia's Place, and its balm for our souls, our first choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, coolness, view, pool
Liked least: the 30 steps up
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesli S
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant service and amazing house”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed her with teenagers and extended family and had an amazing time. The service and emails we received beforehand from the owner and his repressentative in Oia were really helpful and made arriving on the island very straighforward. The house itself is in a perfect location and we spent most of the time on the balcony enjoying the views. There are a number of stairs to get to and from the cavehouse but we managed, even though one of our members had a recent knee injury.
The island is not a cheap holiday as eating out/shopping is quite expensive and a number of places pressurised us to pay in cash rather than credit card.
We would recommendLydia's House as making a great holiday even more special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the jacuzzi
Liked least: Nowhere to do any clothes washing in Oia
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jared l
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunningly Beautiful. The perfect holiday retreat.”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

When we booked Lydia's Cavehouse, we instantly fell in love with the photographs. We were all a little nervous that it wouldn't live up to expectations. I am pleased to say that it surpassed our expectations completely.
The Village of Oia is gorgeous........definitely the prettiest on the Island. The views from the Cavehouse are amazing and it's location is really good.
Inside the Cavehouse is fantastic! It's been beautifully designed and well thought out. The heat on the Island was so intense on some days, the Cavehouse was the perfect place to chill out and cool down for a few hours.
We arrived pretty late and were pleased to find that they had provided some basic provisions including WINE (yay!), tea, coffee, milk, water, cereal and condiments etc.
Cleaning was done on a daily basis and Eleni couldn't do enough to help.
I would HIGHLY recommend this.
We took a 17 year old boy, a 14 year old girl and a 10 year old boy and they were all blows away.
The only downside was that there was not a lot of privacy in the villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kat S
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome stay in Santorini”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Due to it's location - the bellboy who carried the luggage met us at the post office and lead us to the house. Oia itself takes a little getting used to as there are so many little stairways and multiple paths to get to the same location but it is fun! We met the owner at the house and handed over the rest of the payment and with a few instructions/tour we were settled in and ready for our 6 night stay. As per usual it was not long enough and one day hope to be back as the city is breathtaking!!
The beds were comfortable, water pressure was good and the toilets cleaned daily (taking out the paper bin as you cannot flush the paper down the toilets). Kitchen had all we required but it is for 1 person to use at a time - we used it for pretty much every meal due to having food allergies and not being able to eat out.
Check out - we had to leave at 5am (thanks to a flight change grr) and the bellboy was punctual and helped carry the luggage again to the post office where we waited for our ride to the airport.

Only issue with the place was the smell of the indoor pool - the chlorine could get a little much/little humid at times but with the sea breeze it was not an issue during the day. At night when we had to close the doors due to insects it could annoy some visitors but I myself would happily rent this place again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: Smell of the indoor pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing