We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Auberge des Montagnes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pailherols
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Auberge des Montagnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pailherols
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

A well run hotel with lots of facilities. Beware staying down the road and eating in the main building, also limited menu in annexe down the road. Best to pay a little extra and stay and eat in the main building

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SexagenarianC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    54
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
52
134
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

The whole thing is a bit pretentious for the area and smells like a light rip-off. There are plenty of hotels and bed and breakfasts around that do not pretend as much but deliver much better...and at a much cheaper price!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duchmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mur-de-Barrez, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

We live 20 minutes from this place and we absolutely adore it. If you are met and greeted by the lady of the house (monsieur is head chef) or her daughter (who's twin sister is also cheffing in the kitchen), or son-in-law, your evening is going to be great. Lovely attentive service, great quality of food, super ambiance.
Not so great I guess if you are a vegetarian although I would imagine they can be flexible if you were to notify them in advance.
An absolute must is the Feuilleté de Truite, a house speciality, served / carved at the table by Madame. The accompanying sauce would be super on its own, and I have been trying for 6 years to find out what exactly is in it.
Deserts are worth holding out for, make sure you're belt can extend!
Very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanneke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

We wanted to visit the Cantal department and selected this hotel listed on Logis de France, but booked through the hotel website (communication was in fact excellent).

The hotel is situated in a quaint little village in the mountains.
It has good indoor and outdoor swimming pools and beautifully decorated rooms with excellent facilities.
The hotel is comprised of 3 distinct buildings:
- The Auberge, the oldest building with the restaurant and rooms upstairs
- Next to it is the Chalet de Jean, situated near the pools
- The Clos des Gentianes, lovely but 500 meters away.
We stayed in the Chalet de Jean but later had to move to the Auberge, where rooms are cheaper but, surprisingly, larger and nicely decorated.

The restaurant was very good, but it took us only 4 days do the round of the menu, so I recommend staying away from the half board formula.

The breakfast was rather basic: some simple items were missing or finished and not served again for the late riser. We assumed that the breakfast was included in the room rate as nothing is specified but in fact it isn’t and its price (7,5 Eur) is written nowhere.
Be aware that you are expected to have the BF and even expected to have supper at the restaurant even when you have not chosen the half board (where you do not eat à la carte, but a fixed menu!).

The management was friendly and efficient, though we found some people too directive and some rules (food, pool timings) a bit too strict.

But overall, we had a pleasant stay and loved the hotel as well as its location.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vegcutlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pailherols
25.5 km away
Logis Le Bailliage
Logis Le Bailliage
#1 of 3 in Salers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
5.3 km away
Hotel Beausejour
Hotel Beausejour
#1 of 5 in Vic-sur-Cere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
36.8 km away
Auberge de Concasty
Auberge de Concasty
#1 of 1 in Boisset
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Logis Les Messageries
32.5 km away
Auberge de la Tomette
18.9 km away
Hotel des Carmes
Hotel des Carmes
#1 of 11 in Aurillac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge des Montagnes? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge des Montagnes

Property: L'Auberge des Montagnes
Address: 15800 Pailherols, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Cantal > Pailherols
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pailherols
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,993 - ₹ 3,285
Hotel Class:2 star — L'Auberge des Montagnes 2*
Number of rooms: 188
Also Known As:
l Auberge Des Montagnes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing