We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Peaceful Lodge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsavo
Certificate of Excellence
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Peaceful Lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Lovely peaceful setting – rooms looked out over the reserve and animal watering hole which was just the other side of the swimming pool. Comfy room, with extra pillows, safe, tea and coffee making facilities, though had to get a kettle from reception. Free tea and coffee was provided all day in the hotel foyer. Good shop with postcards, stamps, books, some Masai handicrafts. Meals were usual large and varied buffet; good standard of service. Small game reserve but animals less easy to spot, though 2 lions ambled past our van at very close quarters!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMCGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    57
    21
    6
    0
See reviews for
42
79
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We only stayed one night at this hotel and to be honest that was enough. The room we were given was a triple and had a view of a tree and the back area of the hotel, lots of crashing bottles and bins. The toilet didn't work and we had to get a guy to fix it twice, the bath didn't work, the ceiling fan was incredibly dangerous so we didn't use it and had to suffer a really hot night with little sleep. The mosquito nets were full of holes and you could hear the beetles dropping off of surfaces in the room during the night!! Another couple travelling with us had to be moved due to no electric in their room.

The restaurant was like a fast food joint, the waiters made you pay for drinks as soon as your meal was finished after lurking by the tables. the food was ok but not great.

The swimming pool was even dirty. I know its in the bush but we had just been to the Zwani camp which was tents and that was fantastic.

The location of the hotel is great but its just really run down and outdated, not really luxury anymore, just a tired hotel desperately needed some tlc.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunnybunny49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

Whilst on a three day Safari we stayed in this lodge for 1 night. The only negative I can say was that the facilities are a little dated and we had to tell reception that our toilet was broken a couple of times before getting it fixed but the rest of our experience was great. The lodge accommodated three girls sharing a room with three single beds and we still had plenty of room to get ready in. The location of the lodge was amazing with a waterhole just by the pool. We had a close encounter with elephants and water buffalo drinking both day and night and access to the hotel roof gave amazing views across Tsavo Park. The staff are very friendly and there was a tasty selection of food for both dinner and breakfast. The reception and bar area was very warm and cosy with a huge fire in the centre where we all enjoyed cocktails and a chat in the evening. I liked the fact that the lodge was decorated with authentic African decor overall it was an enjoyable place to stay whilst on Safari.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

I've seen this lodge listed as 3*, but consider ourselves fairly well travelled and would classify it as 4* personally.

We had room 101 with a great view of the waterhole, elephants visiting all through the day/evening, along with 'deer', cranes etc.

Room spacious and very clean, balcony with mesh door so you could have it open but still keep mozzies out. Bathroom only a trifle 'worn' but that is the case in a lot of hotels, the bathroom always seems to suffer a bit, bath/shower.

King size bed, mossy net which draws right round it on a 'runner', not draped from a central ceiling piece. Ceiling fan. Toilettries, tissues, tea/coffee making facility, 2 small bottles of water per day. Towels soft.

Pool clean and inviting but FREEZING. Plenty of sun/shade sunbeds but not really used much while we were there, most guests seem to be out on safari I presume. Gardens nice.

The waterhole is located just beyond the pool area, separated by a low hedge. The elephants aren't fazed by people in quite close proximity and just go about their business quietly - difficult not to get some great photo's.

Some staff very friendly & chatty (pool attendant and guard), others less so, but all staff polite and helpful.

Food was excellent in our opinion, plenty to choose from, all meals buffet style with waiter service for drinks. Tea/coffee available from the bar/lobby area on a 'help yourself' basis.

Though on arrival we had a small problem with our toilet not flushing, it was sorted out within a few minutes and well worth it to get a room with a decent view from the balcony over the waterhole.

Tipping, we did tip a couple of staff separately and also used the 'tip box' near reception on the wall by the door. Nothing is done for you with a view to receiving a tip though, staff seemed helpful regardless.

Went on safari in their sanctuary, which adjoins Tsavo East but has no fence apparently. We were first 'on the scene' for a pride of 4 lions who settled themselves around our van - fantastic to watch for those few private minutes before the other vans arrive.

We can't think of a negative thing to say about this lodge, would happily recommend it and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. In our opinion everthing about it was of a good standard.

Room Tip: When you check in, ask for a room overlooking the waterhole - I think a few overlook gardens/parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotFlushes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

The poorer cousin of others in it's group, this is in need of a refurb but still has a little retro appeal. Stuck in the 70's!! We arrived for dinner and left after breakfast so didn't get much chance to enjoy the pool or the grounds etc.... other than being glued to the watering hole at the foot of the garden, separated from herds of elephants by nothing more than a hedge! Watching the elephants and being watched by a bush baby outside our room made for a memorable experience. Room was clean and food was OK. Would need a refurb and improved service before we would recommend though.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daley2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsavo
30.9 km away
Ngulia Safari Camp
Ngulia Safari Camp
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
41.1 km away
Hunters Lodge
Hunters Lodge
#7 of 8 in Tsavo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
1.2 km away
Man Eaters Camp
Man Eaters Camp
#1 of 8 in Tsavo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Loyk Tsavo Camp
Loyk Tsavo Camp
#18 of 23 in Tsavo National Park East
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 km away
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
Sentrim Amboseli Lodge
#4 of 8 in Amboseli National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
157.6 km away
Shimba Hills Green Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge

Property: Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge
Address: Taita Hills Wildlife Sanctuary, Tsavo, Tsavo National Park West P.O. Box 72493, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West > Tsavo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsavo
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,815 - ₹ 21,506
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge is located at the main entrance to the Taita Hills Sanctuary in South Eastern Kenya, 400 km from Nairobi and 200 km from Mombasa. A one hour flight from Nairobi or 30 min from Mombasa by private charter lands at the Lodge's own airstrip. The sanctuary is a 3 hour drive from Mombasa and a 6 hour drive from Nairobi on tarmac roads. Located at the main entrance to the Sanctuary, Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge is an inviting stone building of 60 spacious rooms and two suites, all with their own private viewing balcony. Clients can command views of the adjacent Taita Hills, or the well maintained gardens surrounding the Sanctuary. At night, floodlights illuminate the swimming pool and gardens and provide an opportunity to see any wildlife in the vicinity. It is not uncommon to see elephants daily at the watering hole next to the swimming pool. In addition to the rooms and suites, the Lodge has a Main Restaurant, Bar & Lounge and many bush dining options. The free form swimming pool has its own pool bar. The Lodge has its own fleet of well equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. There are meeting rooms and numerous outdoor venues for dining and leisure. There is a gift shop, fuel station and business center. The climate is very pleasant, with temperatures averaging between 18 Degrees Centigrade and 30 Degrees Centigrade year round. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November & December. While in Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge, you get to view some of the most exotic species of animals in Africa. Find your way to the local villages and learn a thing or two about the local culture. What better way to get the most out of your Kenya Safari holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Taita Hills Game Hotel Tsavo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing