We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of greenery in a dry land”

Viveiro, Botanical Garden & Zoo di Terra
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Viveiro: not only a greenhouse, but a wonderful botanical garden and animal park, where Flora & Fauna live together in harmony. Come discover this Paradise in the island of Sal! Enjoy a stroll through the garden, pet the animals, have a picnic on the grass...or enjoy a drink at our lovely Cafe.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I'd definitely recommend a trip here, only 5 euros to come and see a variety of rehomed animals and some lovely plants, which is much needed after Sal's arid climate. The birds, goats and monkeys are charming. The guy who runs the place seems very genuinely enthusiastic about caring for animals that have been made homeless or abused.
We had a beer and relaxed in the garden area by the cafe and read some books.

1  Thank Tessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"guinea pigs"
in 13 reviews
"an oasis"
in 11 reviews
"animal sanctuary"
in 10 reviews
"rescued animals"
in 9 reviews
"garden centre"
in 10 reviews
"small animals"
in 7 reviews
"desert island"
in 8 reviews
"plants and trees"
in 6 reviews
"italian lady"
in 4 reviews
"pleasant hour"
in 3 reviews
"animal food"
in 3 reviews
"local hotels"
in 5 reviews
"barren landscape"
in 4 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 12 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 8 reviews
"guided tour"
in 6 reviews
"short visit"
in 4 reviews
Filter

35 - 39 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

Viveiro Botanical Gardens and Zoo was lovely. Some really beautiful plants including a cactus garden - SO nice to see all these tropical plants - all the stuff we cannot grow in the UK. The animals were lovely too - rabbits, donkeys, goats, guinea pigs, parrots and 2 x monkeys. We fed the animals you can buy nuts from the cafe. We also had a snack at the cafe and drinks - I had the mint tea (mint from the gardens) and banana toast. The kids had cokes and cheese toasties. I think they are missing a trick not having a gift shop full of tat to look at when your finished - might have bought some palm leaf tea towels or a shopping bag! ... Just an idea for the management :) definitely worth a little trip out - it cost us 4-5 Euros in a taxi.

1  Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viveiro-CaboVerde, Manager at Viveiro, Botanical Garden & Zoo di Terra, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you!!!
You definitely made the best visit! We are trying to set up a little shop....and many other things!
Come visit us again soon! ☺️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

I dropped by Viveiro on Easter Sunday and the atmosphere was amazing. It's mostly a place for families but it's good for all ages, the animals are engaged and friendly, the gardens are beautiful and there's a cafe/bar. What more could you want? You don't need long there but it's worth dropping by.

Thank KensingtonBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viveiro-CaboVerde, Owner at Viveiro, Botanical Garden & Zoo di Terra, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you! You totally got the concept!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Nice spot..some lovely plants but none labelled to tell us what they are..same went for the animals..only the monkey had a name.

Thank Carrielynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viveiro-CaboVerde, General Manager at Viveiro, Botanical Garden & Zoo di Terra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi!
Sorry about the missing names: we are having them made, together with the animals’name.
All of our animals have a name!
Thank you for the visit!

Paola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

This nice botanical garden offered something different to do on the island. I enjoyed all the cactus and seeing the beautiful grounds and some of the birds were cute too. You can walk there from town or take a taxi for a few euros. I shared a cab going back to town.

Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viveiro-CaboVerde, General Manager at Viveiro, Botanical Garden & Zoo di Terra, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you ever so much, both for the visit and the review!
Hope to see you back here again!

Paola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viveiro, Botanical Garden & Zoo di Terra also viewed

 
Murdeira, Ilha do Sal
 

Been to Viveiro, Botanical Garden & Zoo di Terra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing