We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sol Dunas by Melia(Santa Maria)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Dunas de Sal(Santa Maria)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pontao(Santa Maria)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,338)
Filter reviews
5,338 results
Traveller rating
2,344
1,706
797
301
190
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,344
1,706
797
301
190
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmelia dunasgabi beach barlevel guestsafrican restaurantlevel receptionrancho restaurantmanhattan barcape verdea la carte restaurantsthe lion kingspices restaurantchampagne barwhite partygolf buggieslevel areaaqua restaurantodyssey bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 5,338 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just about to start our 10th night and still have the same sheets we came with although putting the “please change me card” on several times. How do I know? A small tear in the same spot gives it away! Towels threadbare! Buffet restaurant is dire a bit like BHS canteen but even more chaotic! Al a carte not so bad so be sure to book these up. Weather good but bring a hoodie for the evenings as pretty breezy! The “Postcards of Sal” is a really good trip and well worth the money, a great day out. Watch out if you have young kids beach has dog poo on as lots of stray dogs/cats who are very friendly. A good all inclusive bit of cheap sunshine!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
8  Thank sunnyholidaysforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear sunnyholidaysforever,

Thank you for having chosen Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having taken the time to share your review with us and with fellow travellers on Tripadvisor.

We thank you for your comments regarding the positive point of our hotel and for having brought into our attention the not so positive points, which we will take them into account for the continuous enhancement of our services. The presence of dogs on the beach is a condition that affects the whole island not just the hotel itself. Regardless of this we already have taken measures to minimize its impact as much as possible with a team that dedicates to them, taking care of and taking them out of the hotel and lead to adoption. We advise our guests to contact our Guest Experience to report any anomaly or to request any assistance during their stay and allow us the chance to change your perception about us immediately. We always welcome and value the constructive feedback and suggestions from our guests as these will enable us to gain further insight into the needs and preferences of our guests so that we can adapt our services to meet your expectations.

We hope that we can persuade you to return and give us the chance to offer you our services once again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is too big and not enough staff to cope with how many rooms they have. Our bed was broke and when they tried to fix it still not right. Staff not willing to help in other areas for just a minute job. Too many people to cook for so tò much food to keep warm. No towels when needed and bed not made before 5 if clean sheets requested, no towels on last night till way after 7 even when we complained to tui rep. Overall poor for service.

Room Tip: Make sure your bed is not broke
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
6  Thank JSANDKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear JSANDKJ,

Thank you for having chosen Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays in December and for having set aside some of your valuable time to share your feedback with us and with fellow travellers online.

Having read your review, we are sad to perceive that we were not able to satisfy your holiday expectations, it is obviously not our intention to convey such an impression, quite the contrary we do our best to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us. The management team are always available to assist our guests with any help that they may need or to report any anomaly in our services. Having said this we will take your feedback into account we have no doubt that it will be very useful for us to continue to strive to offer our guests a high quality service each day.

We hope that we can persuade you to return for another stay and allow us the chance to offer you our services once more in the near future.

Kind regards,
Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The check in was definitely the worst part of the trip and we noticed a few others had problems with checking in and their luggage not arriving in their rooms on time. However overall the resort is brilliant and it is definitely worth going all inclusive.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
1  Thank vic2riarawdingguille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear vic2riarawdingguille,

Thank you having chosen Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your time to share your opinion with us and with fellow travellers through Tripadvisor.

We are happy to perceive that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We also appreciate you having brought our attention the point that you thought can be improved, we always welcome each constructive suggestions and feedback as these will help us to continue to enhance our services. Having said this, we have taken duly note of your comments and these will be taken into account for the continuous improvement of our services.

We thank you once again for your contribution and we hope that we can look forward to welcoming you as our guests again in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,
Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had concerns when booking this after reading such mixed reviews so only have ourselves to blame, wanted to keep cost down but should have gone for the more expensive 5 star.This is nowhere near 5 stars.Food very poor in all restaurants and we are not fussy eaters, like all different food but there was just no flavour at all.The Atlantis is like a big canteen, bright lights, no ambiance at all but would reccomend the wok food ,choose what you like and sauces...Had flavour and was hot.Entertainment poor. On the boulevard from 7 to 9 in the cold or 8 to 10 at the main pool bar which is quite a walk if you are beach end... again sitting in the cold. Why no entertainment inside when the wind is always there!!Service in bars on boulevard very slow and seems no organisation. Our room was good right near the beach and restaurants and bars on the boulevard everywhere very clean.Couple of times we got back to our room at 4 30 and not cleaned they would turn up at 5pm never known that before. Towells as many people have said..worn and dull...not 5 star.The beach is fantastic dogs are not a problem at all on the beach if you leave them alone they don't bother you Santa Maria is a great town..very buzzy go to the pier when the fisherman bring in their catch. Would I go back to Cape Verde... Yes, great weather although very very windy and cold in the evening so take Jackets scarfs and cardi Oh, not good for high heels only wore them once.Next time would spend more on 5 star hotel, know that this part of the world 5 star is not the same as in the Med for example but this one very poor Travelled with TUI, flight awful...cramped no in-flight entertainment on a 6hr flight have had more room on a 2hr flight.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Leolou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your time to share your stay experience with us and with fellow travellers on Tripadvisor.

We thank you for your appreciation of the positive points of our hotel, however, We are sad to know that our services did not meet your expectations, it is obviously not the kind of impression that we would like you to retain from our hotel, quite the contrary we do our best to guarantee the satisfaction of our guests. Nevertheless thank you for having pointed out the aspects which you thought needed to be improved. These have been duly noted and will be discussed with our team. Regarding the food, we try our best to cater to the different preferences of our guests, therefore we offer various themed restaurants so the guest has the choice where they would like to eat. In case of any anomaly in your room or with the service we advise our guests to not hesitate to contact the Meliã Connect by dialling “0” or contact our Guest Experience at the Reception for any assistance. we have no doubt that your feedback will help us to continuously enhance our services as part of our commitment in ensuring the satisfaction of our guests.

We hope that you will give us the chance to offer you our services once again by returning for another visit in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,
Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We checked into the hotel on Monday and as many schools had not broken up it was somewhat deceiving as the pool areas were not overtaken by towels on the beds and the restaurants were accessible.

Suddenly Wednesday the hotel became busy as expected however it is evident the hotel does not give the staff the resources to deal with the capacity of guests it facilitates in peak periods.

As a Melia customer I chose to book the hotel direct as Melia silver customer I have always been loyal to the brand. I am somewhat disappointed however by the reality of the hotel.

Thursday and Friday me my partner and six year old son were unable to get a sunbed at 10:30 Am in any of the pool areas in my hotel or by the beach. Then we tried to book a Bali bed and pay for it but this was an even worse experience

The manager of the gabi bar stated to my partner all beds rented and then engaged no further and basically dismissed him stating that the free bed was exclusive to the owner of Melia a vip. We were confused and went to reception to complain about lack of beds and understand why we could not rent the Bali bed.
The guest team were very helpful but told me it wasn’t the owner but Melia vip staff who had it. She advised the beach team would help clear a bed as lots of towels had sat on beds for 2 hours now unused. We went to the bar and I spoke again to the manager and again she dismissed me making out not to speak English and getting one of her team to talk to me. She explained it was fully booked to Monday on the Bali bed and we gave up. We then went seeking a bed again with a disappointed 6 year old just wanting to enjoy his day. Later I returned to the bar to hear the lady speaking full English to another couple.

I will be complaining to the company direct detailing the disturbing discrimanitice behaviour of their team member

Whilst sat at the reception I learnt further of another guest not having bed sheets in one room for 24 hours and in another room
No towels for the same period. I explained to the guest the island is developing so hence why they change sheets in the morning and wash to make beds at night. Also beach towels must be returned at 7pm to prepare for the next day. The concern is Melia As a company know the limitations locally on servicing hotels so should provide extra bedding and sheets so not to put pressure on their staff locally.

Other than that did a great tour with Obama tours across the island an amazing team of local Cabo Verde’s talking about the history of the islands and I shall write a seperate review on these. Highly recommend you book direct with them not through a hotel rep so the money all goes to the locals working so hard to service this island

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank Beckford_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunas M, General Manager at Melia Dunas Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Beckford_family,

Thank you for having chosen Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa for your holidays and for having set aside some of your valuable time to share your feedback with us and with fellow travellers online.

We are sad to hear that our services were not according to your standards. The majority of the feedback that we receive from our guests regarding our staff is a positive one, occasionally due to language barrier and cultural differences some of our staff members may be more reserved but not unfriendly or rude. The hotel have enough sunbeds for all clients, however, they are distributed along the pool areas and the beach area. We advise our guests against the reservations of sunbeds, in case there is not enough sunbed in one swimming pool there are sunbeds available at other swimming pools, or in the beach area. Furthermore, our staff will proceed to remove the hotel towels from the sunbeds that are left idle for too long. There is an information board in every pool house advising our guests against the reservation of sunbeds as these will be removed by our staff members. We kindly ask our guests to deliver the dirty towels to the respective hub daily, until 18:00 in order to be washed and ready for use the following day in the morning. The management team are always available to assist our guests with any help that they may need or to report any anomaly in our services. Having said this we will take your feedback into account we have no doubt that it will be very useful for us to continue to strive to offer our guests a high quality service each day.

It is a pity that we were not able to fulfil your expectations, we hope that we can persuade you to return for another stay and allow us the opportunity to change your perception about us.

Kind regards,
Meliã Dunas Beach Resort & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews