We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, but nice hotel.”
Review of Hotel Pontao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pontao
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Lisboa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Basic, but nice hotel.”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

It's not a resort hotel like others on the island of Sal, but it doesn't cost the same.
I stayed there 3 nights.
Room was big and very clean.
The pool area and other common areas were clean too.
Breakfast was good.
Staff was quite nice.
Close to the center of Santa Maria and the beach.
The hotel also has a rent-a-car service; be advised the 80km included in the price, might not be enough to visit the island.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    101
    36
    7
    10
See reviews for
10
119
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burleson, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I was very dissapointed that i had friends in santa maria i have known for 10 years, i came to visit & the hotel staFF WOULD NOT LET MY FRIENDS IN TO VISIT ME. I FINALLY CHANGED HOTELS as the staff was not accomodating.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skyspice64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Being in our forties, my wife and I have traveled extensively. Having seen the poverty etc. in India, Africa, and Egypt and Tunisia to mention a few, we have never had such an awful holiday. We would rather have stayed again in a tent in the jungles of India than this hotel or Sal. illness was rife amongst our fellow travelers some quite serious but trying to get medical treatment was a joke. Food was terrible and so boring. I understand all water is imported but don't go near anything not bottled, not even for a swim. Service was none existant unless you wanted to buy a property on this, the most boring place on the planet. We spent best part of two weeks playing scrabble drinking what ever the hotel had available at the time and only when we could find some one to serve us. After 10 at night, forget it! Leave the hotel and the story is the same. No culture, no quisine, no local people or traditions, no natural resourses or habitats. Sorry there's a hole in a rock and a disused salt pan. The beach is nice if you dodge the glass, litter and dog dirt, assuming the 'breeze' doesn't knock you off your feet. Two fellow travelers, in their twenties, we met at the hotel paid £220 each to curtail their holiday by three days to fly to Gatwick. They lived in Manchester!! Don't waste your time coming here, there's millions of more interesting, pleasant and exciting places on the planet.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank happychapKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Maria hotels

Nottingham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We stayed at the hotel pontao for a week and that was enough the area around the pool was awful there were only 9 sunbeds and half were broken, the room was ok and the breakfast was allright but we did not like Cape Verde (SANTA MARIA) at all.

I think the travel agents are making it sound tropical and it's nothing like that we have been to many far and away place's and this is the worse.

  • Liked — The room was kept very clean
  • Disliked — the pool area and the staff could not really understand what you were saying
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank LeavesNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2009

we stayed on sal at the hotel pontao for 1 week in nov 08 with friends, we were looking for a relaxing week in the sun with out spending a fortune and this is what we got.The hotel is small offering just a b&b basics,the breakfasts are good but do get a bit boaring by the end of the week, the rooms are a good size and cleaned everyday. The hotel is located right in the town with loads of restrants and bars with in walking distance offering a good range of foods.Opposite the hotel is a very good fish restrant owned by a german couple who are very help full and the food is first class,we asked one of the guys who work there about doing the tour of the island he sorted it out,for the 8 of us to go for the full day in a jeep with alan as a guide seeing all the sights in our own time it cost 10 per person (thomsons wanted 38 per person) well worth doing.Dont worry about going out and about you may get asked to go to shops,but just say no thanks and keep walking we had no problens at all.The beaches are fantastic the sea warm and ok to swim in.We would go back but go soon before it gets spoilt.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — poor bar and no restarant
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank indiogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#3 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
1.2 km away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
0.6 km away
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
#11 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#5 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,324 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#13 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Aquamarina Suites THe Senses Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pontao? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pontao

Property: Hotel Pontao
Address: Avenida dos, Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal 4111, Cape Verde
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,198 - ₹ 5,559
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pontao 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pontao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontao Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Pontao Cape Verde/Santa Maria, Ilha Do Sal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing