We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“April 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Odjo d'Agua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Odjo d'Agua Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Santa Maria
northern ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“April 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

If you want to experience the real Santa Maria Sal then you must stay here. This is a beautiful quaint hotel in an amazing location, so much so people come here in the afternoon, from other hotels, for coffee/drinks to enjoy the full view of the bay. The food is simple but tasty, the hotel and rooms are clean and well presented. The staff are curteous and gracious. In my view this is the only place to stay when in Sal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank claire58009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    187
    52
    18
    18
See reviews for
61
300
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We chose Odjo d'Agua for its location and were not disappointed. It is located right on the beach (practically in the sea) and in the centre of town. We found the staff very friendly and helpful, particularly the ladies in reception. We had a room facing the courtyard but soon discovered that where our room was positioned that if you opened the shutters at the back of the room we had a sneaky sea view as well! The room and bed were comfortable and kept clean. The wardrobe was large but half of it was almost impossible to get to as the door was fixed. The shower screen in the bathroom was too large and precariously fixed to the wall making it a challenge to get in and out of the shower. These are just little gripes that in no way spoilt our enjoyment of the holiday.

Breakfast is taken either on the outside verandah or in the inside area which is open all around. When the waves are particularly high they can splash up onto the table. The views are spectacular and make it a wonderful way to start the day. The choice of breakfast was enormous and the food of good quality. We only ate one evening meal in the hotel and found the amosphere and entertainment good but the food average.

Would recommend the day trip round the island with Barracuda Tours - the rep was enthusiastic and friendly. We also went out on Neptunus, the glass bottomed boat, which was fun. For good quality, value for money food and drinks try Lanchonete Angela. This is located behind the hotel's beach. Our favourite restaurant was the Cultural Cafe in the main square, their house wine is very good.

All in all if you are not the all inclusive type try Odjo d'Agua - you will not be disappointed. You will always find a vacant sunbed either round the pool or on the beach. You are never more than a few steps away from the sea, bars, cafes, shops and local life.

Best feature of Odjo d'Auga? This has got to the its location.
Least favourite feature? If I have to find one I would have to say the bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Aquarius1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We were staying in the Riu hotel along the coast but wanted to get out and see a little bit more of the island. For anyone in a similar position would heartily recommend a meal at the Odjo d'Agua. We went twice.. both times my wife said the prawns were among the best she'd ever had.. and my food (brazilian style steak one night, fresh fried fish another) was also really good.

The main appeal though was the location and the friendliness of the staff. We sat overlooking the sea and for me the highlight was actually when the power failed for a few minutes.. all the lights off meant an even better view of the moon reflecting on the sea and a beautiful starry sky. Our waitress came over with a grin and a torch pretty much straightaway - am guessing it's a fairly frequent occurence and it's nice to be somewhere with a bit of character!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilDonathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I think this hotel is the best on Sal island. In case you don't need big hotel chains or basic bungalows and you prefer smaller, more intimate place, book this hotel. It also have excellent restuarant (literally above the sea) and also it's very close to all attractions you may need. Just a few rooms have direct sea view, so confirm in advance if you want this.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penistone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We booked this hotel through Thomson and spent two week here.

It was simply fantastic. This family owned hotel has a warm and friendly welcome and is situated in a wonderful position with sea on three sides. We booked the hotel on a half board basis and found that the restaurant was exceptionally good. Specialising in seafood, which was delivered direct from the nearby fishing jetty, the fish was exceptional.

The hotel itself is quiet, just perfect for a relaxing holiday reading books on the private beach or by the side of the small pool. When we went there were mainly adult couples as guests which provided a very laid back atmosphere.

The rooms were very clean (as was the whole hotel) and had minibar, AC (which worked!) and a balcony (with a hammock!). Also, the WiFi system in the rooms gave access to the outside world, but we found ourselves using this less and less as the holiday progressed as our brains relaxed into books.

The staff at the hotel were warm and friendly - and really welcoming.

If you want a change from the all inclusive ghettos, then this is certainly the place to be - total quiet relaxation.

Note to the hotel - please don't be tempted to go down the all inclusive route. What you have at the moment sets you apart from the rest. Please don't change and we'll be back.

Many thanks to all at the hotel.

Room Tip: The WiFi is a bit expensive at 35 euros per week, but apart from this the hotel has excellant value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jetlaga380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Maria hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Morabeza
Hotel Morabeza
#3 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
Hotel Oasis Salinas Sea
#5 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,291 reviews
1.5 km away
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
Crioula Club Hotel & Resort
#14 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
Hotel Oasis Belorizonte
#12 of 19 in Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
1.8 km away
VOI Vila do Farol
VOI Vila do Farol
#7 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Dunas de Sal
Hotel Dunas de Sal
#13 of 19 in Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odjo d'Agua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odjo d'Agua Hotel

Property: Odjo d'Agua Hotel
Address: Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Region: Cape Verde > Ilha do Sal > Santa Maria
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Santa Maria
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,305 - ₹ 8,687
Hotel Class:4 star — Odjo d'Agua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Odjo d'Agua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odjo D'Agua Hotel Cape Verde/Santa Maria, Ilha Do Sal
Hotel Odjo d Agua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing