We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Be prepared to suspend your busy life and totally...”
other travellers have booked this property
Resorts Pool with Swim Up Bar
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Resorts Pool with Swim Up Bar
Private Balcony Lounge/Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Resorts Pool with Swim Up Bar
Private Balcony
Lounge/Dining Room
Main Bedroom
Lounge
Dining
Bedroom 2
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2
Kitchen
Resorts Beach Bar/Restaurant
Beach Bar
Private Balcony
Pool Side Restaurant
Relax Room
Sauna
Gym
Resorts Lobby
Local Beach Bar/Restaurant
Local Submarine Trip
Santa Maria Beach
Santa Maria Beach
Beer on the Local Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Carol R
Oxfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Be prepared to suspend your busy life and totally relax”
Reviewed 5 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Booking the holiday was very easy and Paul, the owner, responded swiftly to all our queries. I booked a few weeks before Christmas and paid the deposit. I completely forgot that I needed to pay the balance - I had a very gentle nudge as a reminder. Much appreciated. The additional information provided was quite extensive and enabled the holiday to go smoothly.
The apartment was spacious and held everything you could require - a fully equipped kitchen, a south facing balcony which was very quiet - a few evenings on the balcony with a glass of red was a great end to a long walk along the coast.
There was both a bath and a shower - unfortunately we had a couple of plumbing problems on our penultimate day, but an email to Paul enabled him to sort a local handyman to go and deal with this.
Our initial shock of the place being so quiet was something quite unfamiliar to us. We always go self catering and have plenty of meals out - we are on holiday after all. There is a delightful restaurant close to the apartment, we ate here twice and had excellent service and very delicious meals.
After a day of being in the apartment, we really relaxed and had fantastic walks along the coast to Santa Maria , and ate at a few of the restaurants there. Lots of fish dishes which were delicious.
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and it was one of the most relaxing holidays we have had. We will certainly return and will adapt to the pace of life away from the UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position and balcony
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Dear Carol

Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased you had a great holiday and even more so that you really enjoyed the apartment. We are always trying our best to make sure all our guests enjoy their stay, so its very comforting to hear that you had a great time and you were able to relax in nice surroundings.

Kind regards

Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAMJLONDO...
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved every minute!!”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A lovely apartment in beautiful surroundings. Apartment location is perfect for all amenities and both the apartment and the complex are spotlessly clean. If you are wanting a self catering holiday in Cape Verde this just can't be beat.
The booking with the owners was a delight, prompt responses to any questions asked and a great information pack was provided before we arrived., The staff were all very friendly and the entertainment was varied and very good, local dancers, drummers etc and plenty to do for children if they wanted to join in. The All Inclusive deal offered at Tortuga is extortionate at 81 euros per person per day but a 10 euro return trip into Santa Maria by taxi each evening offered many restaurants to choose from and those we frequented were all of good quality. We used local guides to turtle watch and waded in the sea with sharks both were fantastic and an excellent price! (Check out Blinkys Tours and Cara Mau Tours both on Facebook) You can also horse ride on the beach for only 25 euros for an hour which we felt was an excellent price.
All in all, we loved every minute of our one week stay in 441 and would highly recommend to anyone considering a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole complex.
Liked least: Difficult to purchase food as you are not on the All Inlusive deal.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser T
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good apartment in a decent resort in a nice part of Sal”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 weeks over Christmas and New Year. I think in general the description of the apartment and the facilities was accurate. Thomson gives it 5 "T"'s but it isn't 5*, perhaps 4. The apartment itself was very nice with 2 beds and 2 bathrooms. It was clean and well equipped in general though a little bit short of crockery and glasses. There was no kettle or coffee maker but apart from that it was fine. The position of the apartment in the resort is good. The balcony is south facing so it gets lots of sun and the view is pleasant (avoiding views of the neighbouring building site. It was also reasonably quiet, being a little distant from the main plaza of the hotel and away from the kids pool with loud music playing all day. Whilst it was a bit of a trek into the local town (which wasn't really made clear), it only cost 3 or 4 euros for a taxi so, in all honesty, it wasn't a big deal. You could walk to a better, albeit unsupervised, beach in 20 minutes, but it was the same again to get to the edge of the resorts of Santa Maria and their associated windsurfing and kite surfing facilities. The hotel was expensive and you couldn't eat al la carte in the restaurants, which was a pity. The only option was all inclusive which, for dinner was 48 Euros a head. That's a lot of money in Cape Verde terms. The town of Santa Maria, whilst a little "third world" in places is actually quite charming when you get to know it and we found prices reasonable, the food generally OK and the atmosphere on the whole pleasant. The temperature was more or less constant at 25 degrees or so, feeling a little bit warmer in full sun and a little cooler at night. A big Italian influence in Santa Maria means plenty of good Italian food, coffee, ice cream and cakes. Windsurfing and Kite surfing is world class but not good for beginners on the whole. The hotel was popular with people of all ages: parents with young children, families with children of all ages up to 20+, couples young and old. The activities were really good including beach volleyball, aqua gym and morning yoga exercise whatever. There was plenty for the kids to do. Overall good holiday. 10 minutes from Santa Maria by car was far enough. There are other resorts further away and, unless you are all inclusive and stay put, I wouldn't recommend them. In general I withdrew money from the cash point and paid in Escudos. You probably could have paid for everything in Euros but in general it would have cost you a bit more as half the places treated 1 Euro as 100 escudos rather than 110.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The weather.
Liked least: The beach at the resrt is not great. The distance from Santa Maria.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2015
Dear Fraser.
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the apartment and that you had a lovely holiday.
However, I was a little bit concerned about your comments of there not being a kettle in the apartment and that it was a little bit short on crockery and glasses. Therefore, as I am currently on the island, I thought I should check this out. I'm not sure if there has been some confusion, but upon inspecting the apartment, we found there is a kettle (black Morphy Richards), which was placed in the kitchen cupboard. Also, there were 6 wine glasses and 5 water tumblers (the apartment caters for 4 people) There were at least 4 sets of other crockery such as cups/saucers/mugs etc. However, there was a cereal dish and a small plate missing. We have an itinerary check every month, but unfortunately these 2 items were obviously broken since the last check was made.
They have now been replaced.
I appreciate your constructive comments and thank you for taking the time to submit the review. I'm pleased that you still had a lovely holiday.
Kind regards
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nicktudor
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice apartment on all inclusive resort”
Reviewed 3 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This apartment is in the Tortuga resort on Sal.
The apartment is comfortable, and very well furnished.
We had a very enjoyable and relaxing week in the sun.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: 2 bathrooms
Liked least: Overlooked balcony
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing