We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely villa, lovely holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa
Villa Pool Patio Dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Villa
Villa Pool
Patio Dining
Lounge
Dining
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 2
Lounge
Villa
Kitchen
Bathroom
Patio Dining
Resorts Tennis Courts
Santa Maria
Local Restaurant
Local Bar/Restaurant
Neptunes Submarine
Local Beach
Local Beach
Local Beach
Kite Surfing on the Local Beach
Ponta Preta Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Santa Maria, Ilha do Sal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeremy H
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely villa, lovely holiday”
Reviewed 30 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012

We recently stayed in this lovely villa and had a great holiday. It was really spacious and very new with large terraces for relaxing on the comfy sun-beds. It has an enclosed garden and small pool, which the kids loved and its location is great. It's been tastefully furnished and everything you could possibly need is included. A little bit of advise, take a couple of tea towels with you, as the maids didn't supply us with any.

The resort was a little quiet when we were there, as it had only just opened, but it suited us fine, as we just wanted to chill out and relax, which we certainly did. We would recommend going into the local town of Santa Maria for restaurants, many of which are located right on the beach, as the one on the resort is not as good as those in the town. Santa Maria is about 4/5 minutes by car or taxi (3 Euros). The owners send you a really handy "information pack" whch proved very useful. The resort also provides a shuttle bus that runs 4 times a day which takes you into Santa Maria, which is very convenient.

We all loved Cape Verde, which is so different to European countries, we will definitely go back again and also stay at the villa again as well, a really great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Eating out in Santa Maria
Liked least: It was a little quiet but the resort had only just opened, it suited us
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooperman...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Impressive Sal Island Villa!”
Reviewed 10 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Back from 2 glorious weeks in the winter sun and the combination of an excellent modern Villa (just as described), a short walk to the local white sandy beaches (stretching for more miles than you will ever cover), and the quaint local town of Santa Maria (mixed in with the friendliness of the Cape Verdean people) has left us totally chilled from our "wintersun" holiday in Sal over the festive period.

If you love your water sports or just watching them, enjoy warm winds meeting the Atlantic waves, constantly dry hot weather, good local food/hospitality, and the simple charm of a relatively undeveloped island, then this is for you.

Being in a less economically developed area may mean experiencing some utility/servicing issues from time to time but don’t let this put you off as overall the location is a gem of a place and the villa owners will do their utmost to support you to ensure you have a great time during your stay.

Will we return then? the answer is a definite yes to enable us to spend a longer time out there so as to include some of the other islands as well and to revisit Sal - before too much development of the region has occurred to cope with the mass tourism that will inevitability follow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: West facing Villa position - protected from the wind but able to see sunsets into the sea!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe C
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic winter sun holiday in luxury villa”
Reviewed 8 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Firstly the information that is given by owners, Paul and Sandy, is great. There are comprehensive details about the villa, the surrounding area, taxi charges etc. There is a list of restaurants - their cuisine and prices making the choice in the evening very simple. There is even listed the name of a taxi driver and his number to you can book a taxi.

The villa itself surpassed our expectations. It is extremely comfortable with every mod con available. Small things like having plenty of glasses, cutlery, cups etc so you are not having to wash up all the time. The villa is furnished to a very high standard. The sun terrace outside is definitely a sun trap at all times of the day. The pool is great for cooling off in. We walked to the beach each day, the bar serves great salads. We ate out every night and always felt safe walking around Santa Maria in the evenings.

If you are looking for guaranteed sunshine, a no hassle holiday, in a very comfortable villa then this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The comfort of the villa and the sun terrace being in all day sunshine
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonB2...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely villa, close to Santa Maria”
Reviewed 10 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Villa is located at Villa Verde a large resort just outside Santa Maria. The resort is newly opened and there was just a small supermarket and restaurant open on the resort. It was also extremely quite which suited us. The villa was very well equipped, everything was brand new and good quality. We didn't use the Internet in the villa, as we were advised by the reception that the signal wasn't very strong in that area of the resort, it may be better to purchase a dongle locally.

There is a bus that runs from the resort to Santa Maria a few times each day, alternatively taxis are also very cheap and it takes less than 5 mins to get there. Santa Maria is a small town with a few shops and a variety of restaurants catering for a range of tastes and budgets.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The quiet location - a great place to chill
Liked least: Very little fresh veg/fruit in the shop
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete W
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“save your money”
Reviewed 17 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Just stayed at the Vila Verde resort. On Arrival nice clean villa. Not long before problems arise. Wonderful views.. only if you like looking at corrugated iron and building machinery. Only aircon in the lounge so bedrooms really hot at night . Wind howls through the villa so awake most of the night.
No electric for 6 hours after a storm (be careful as safe runs off electricity so all our cash, cards etc stuck in there. No water for 18 hours as apparently when the water runs low in Cape Verde they cut you off. So no showers
The resort reminded me of a scene from Will Smiths " I AM LEGEND" searching for human life. Basically this resort is not open. There is one supermarket with hardly anything on the shelves and a restaurant that looks more like a supermarket cafeteria and its not open very often. All other shops are still empty with no sign of anyone moving into them. Walking around the resort is dangerous as there are many holes where the paths have lifted. After the worst 4 days holiday we have ever had we moved out and into the excellent 5 star Melia Resort and enjoyed an excellent 10 days. What a difference it was just moving across the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: moving out
Liked least: everything
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2012
With regards to the services being off for a period of time, this was due to a thunderstorm, which obviously we had no control over. This applied to all the resorts and properties on the island, not just the villa.

The client is correct in stating that there was air-conditioning fitted to the lounge/dining area only and not the bedrooms. This was a temporary situation, as the villa has been constructed for the installation of air-conditioning. The reason why they were not fitted to the bedrooms is due to the resorts construction company, Tecnicil Immobilaria, who have experienced delays in importing enough air-con units to complete the installation in all the villas and apartments on the resort. Therefore, they decided to install 1 large air-con unit into every property and fit the remaining units when they arrived on the island.

We are pleased to advise that the air-conditioning units have now been fitted to all 3 bedrooms.

As far as the resort is concerned, it is quiet at the moment, as it only opened earlier this year, but there are 15 commercial units where leases have been signed, so therefore it is just a case of time before there are more facilities available on the resort. However, there is a supermarket, bank, and 24 hour reception available on the resort. There are also numerous restaurants, bars, supermarkets and shops in the small local town of Santa Maria.

We hope this is of some help.

Paul & Sandy Withey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing