We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PLEASE PLEASE READ THIS REVIEW!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Certificate of Excellence
YORK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“PLEASE PLEASE READ THIS REVIEW!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks staying at the Iberostar in Boa Vista. We had a really good holiday. The location is great overlooking the best beach we have ever seen. Unfortunately the red flag was flying every day so we weren't able to get in the sea. But we had some great walks along the beach. Because it's an island in the middle of the Atlantic you must be prepared for the wind. But without the wind the sun would have been too hot for sunbathing - beware the wind can burn you! Chilly at night so take a jacket or similar.

One bad thing happened while we were visiting Sal Rei on a Thomas Cook trip to the town. We went into a local bar, along with others and the Thomas Cook rep, and witnessed the most dreadful act of animal cruelty. It was either the bar owner or his friend who picked up a small cat by the rear legs and hurled it (like a rugby ball) across the road into a building site. We can't begin to think how badly injured the animal was. We were terribly upset and told the guilty man, who I believe was Italian, what we thought of him. He and his friends thought it very funny and just laughed. Our rep showed little concern and explained that we should understand that animals are not pets there. That is no excuse for such cruelty.
THE NAME OF THIS BAR IS 'ESPLANADA MUNICIPAL SILVES' . IT IS IN THE CENTRE SQUARE AND I ASK EVERYONE READING THIS TO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR CUSTOM. It is the only way I can try to make him pay. In the UK I would have reported him to the RSPCA and he would have been prosecuted.

On a happier note we really liked the hotel because it is not too big and cannot praise the animation team enough. They are fabulous. Don't read the bad reviews go and see for yourself but remember it is very much a developing country who needs our custom.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank ijoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for writing your review from your recent stay among us at Iberostar Club Boa

Vista.We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel so much during your stay. Thank you for sharing your experiences. We are sure that future travelers will find your tips helpful

We will continue working to improve your next experience with us.

Sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    783
    198
    51
    26
See reviews for
553
905
55
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel is set in a beautiful location overlooking the beach.
It's staff are the most well motivated staff I have seen, all very polite and friendly, always saying hello how is your holiday and attending to your needs punctually etc!! It's also one of the cleanest 5 * hotels I have seen in a while.
There are a couple of issues however; a red flag was positioned every day apart from the last when it was yellow with regards to swimming in the sea! Also, it would be nice to have more than one a la carte restaurant.
Providing the price was right, i would return and based on this experience at this iberostar I would go to one again!

Overall experience was great!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Holiyey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear guest


Thank you for writing your review from your recent stay among us at Iberostar . We are grateful that you value us so highly. Thank you very much for your motivating comment. Your feedback motivates us to continue working with illusion and enthusiasm improving better services and facilities. We will continue working to improve your next experience with us.


We are delighted with your powerful and positive words describing our complete services and facilities.For us is a priority to take care of the visitors properly and fulfill our guest expectations.


Iberostar crew will continue working to improve our services and facilities to make our guest feel welcome. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy our Hotel again in the future.


Thank you for sharing your experiences. We are sure that future travelers will find your tips helpful


Kindest regards,


Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Went to the Iberostar the last week in March. The Thomas Cook Flight was not too good as you are squashed in like sardines in a tin and there is no entertainment on the flight, the service was slow and the food on the outward flight was very basic and not too good. The food on the way back was better although the service was still slow. As we booked late we had to purchase our visa at the airport on arrival which we were informed about. The journey to the hotel only took about 10 minutes. On arrival we were greeted by dancers and given a cool drink. We were quickly given our "all inclusive bands" along with our key and information and told were to go to find our room. We no sooner shut the door to our room when our cases were brought to us. The room was lovely, plenty of storage and very clean, we over looked the pools and the beautiful beach. The room was cleaned everyday and we were given clean towels. The restaurant staff were lovely, very attentive. The food could have been warmer but of a very good quality. I do not eat meat but found something everyday to eat. We never had a problem getting a sunbed around the pool and you are given clean towels for the pool areas everyday by the reception staff. There are two bars for you to choose from both very good and also an outdoor restaurant area where you can help yourself to drinks and snacks. It was quite windy the week we were there and I did get very burnt. The sea was too rough to go into but you could go in the pool although the water is very cold. The entertainment staff always tried to include you but if you just wanted to sit by the pool that was fine. They did bring drinks and ice lollies around to you if you wanted them. They put entertainment on for you on the evening if you wanted to go. I have been to Sri Lanka, Maldives, Mauritius , to name but a few and yes it may not be of the same standard but they do try. if you are looking for total relaxation then i would say book a week here, it may not be the 5* you are used to but what do you expect, go with an open mind i read some bad reviews but was very pleasantly surprised.. I would definitely book another week.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Elvis_1_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

ive got to say i wouldnt recommend a holiday to boa vista as there is nothing to see or do, its like landing on the moon!
most hotels seem to be all inclusive to keep their customers penned in! and by the sounds of things happening over there its the safest place to be! i overheard reps talking about expats who had been burgeled and held up at gun point, he then went on to talk about high crime including knife and gun crime!
the local people do not seem to like tourists at all, the santitation and hygiene on the island isnt great at all and if you do need a doctors or hospital you might as well take your lilo and get floating to the canaries as people here wont help!
the hotel staff are ok, i cant say overly friendly to be honest, the rooms are ok and spacious but not cleaned well. id definately recommend taking anti bacterial wipes, hand wash and creams as many of my party were seriously ill in boa vista and upon returning to the uk 2 of us were hospitalisied with serious food posioning!!
the food at the iberstar is extremely basic, id say what youd expect from a 2 star property! definately dont eat meat here, the burgers are under cooked and sometimes raw, uncooked meats and fish were mixed with cooked meats and the flys were lovely the nightly buffet landing on everything!
as for adverts saying its like the untouched carribbean - it certainly is not!!! give me barbados anyday!
i traveled the world over and even in developing countries the hygiene is far better than in boa vista - i have also been to the other island Sal and would say maybe give that a try as it seems slightly more forward but dont expect much! personally if i won a free holiday here i wouldnt take it!!! just be very very careful if you decide to go!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank pinkladybec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your review from your recent stay among us at Iberostar Club Boa Vista. We regret profoundly the failure to meet your expectations, the head departments have been informed about your comments and we are sure they will help us to improve.

We are very sorry to hear that we could not fulfill your expectations of a five star hotel.
Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exclusive service for our guest. We will certainly take into our consideration and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

We would also like to thank you for sharing your observations with us as this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.

Yours sincerely

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Had agreat time at the iberostar hotel, clean, staff friendly and the food was excellent,
The island is unspoilt as yet so now is a good time to go, I would give this hotel 4+ not 5
i think they got the 5 for the 24hr lobby bar, There is no tea/coffee facility in your room
so take your own, Also there is no beer or pop in fridge but plenty of water if you whant
beer/pop you have to pay for it, The rooms are at one side of the amenitys so it can be
quite a walk with a coffee or beer to drink on your balcony,
The wine in the food hall was very nice (you can help youself)
Now i did find the breez a bit of a prob 24/7 Oven to fridge, and you do need a jumper for
evenings it gets cool,
The pool get up earley or you are down on the beach Brrrrr,
Theres not many hotels there yet and i think the iberostar is the best and i think its the only one
that serves branded drinks, you do have to ask for them mines A Gordons cheers:

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gromit071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, Thank very much for sharing this nice comment about your stay in Iberostar Club Boa Vista. The head departments have been informed about your wonderful feedback so they can share your motivating words with our team. Your positive Encourage words motivated us to keep on working with illusion and enthusiasms.


Iberostar crew will continue working to improve our services and facilities to make our guest feel welcome. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy our Hotel again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boa Vista hotels
8.3 km away
Marine Club Beach Resort
6.5 km away
Aparthotel Por do Sol
Aparthotel Por do Sol
#4 of 5 in Sal Rei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
6.7 km away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
#2 of 11 in Boa Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,750 reviews
18.1 km away
Hotel Riu Touareg
Hotel Riu Touareg
#1 of 1 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,180 reviews
0.4 km away
Royal Decameron Boa Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista

Property: IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista
Address: Playa Areja de Chaves, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Region: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Boa Vista
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Boa Vista
#1 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,013 - ₹ 18,455
Hotel Class:5 star — IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel is an All Inclusive 5-star resort in Cape Verde located along the beautiful beach of Chaves. Set against a backdrop of unparalleled beauty, this hotel for couples and families will surprise the guest with a range of leisure activities for all ages and gastronomy to please the most educated palates. Holidays in Cape Verde at the IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel allow you to discover a place as exotic as it is surprising. Chaves beach, a unique enclave.The top IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel is located right on the beautiful Chaves beach in a landscape of spectacular charm. It’s the perfect choice for visitors to enjoy a relaxing holiday in Cape Verde surrounded by spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean. Wide range of all-inclusive gastronomy. Restaurants and bars in the IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel will overwhelm the guest with a delicious range of local and international dishes and an extensive menu of drinks and delicious cocktails. The sounds of Cape Verde, live for you. Three evenings a week, the IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista puts on a unique live music show. Get seduced by the most genuine sounds of Cape Verde, right from the keyboard of our pianist, in our poolside bar. Family vacations in Cape Verde. The IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista hotel is a family resort whose range of entertainment and facilities are specially geared for children, with a children’s swimming pool, mini-disco, Mini-Club, etc. The hotel also has a kitesurfing school (charge applies). Fun at this 5-star Cape Verde hotel is always assured. Premium Wi-Fi. The hotel offers exclusive free premium Wi-Fi in all its facilities. A fine connection – 3.5Mb in up to six devices – to use during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your IBEROSTAR Club Boa Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Club Boa Vista Hotel Boa Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing