We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The die hard moaners make me laugh ;-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Boa Vista
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Travelled out with Thomson, flight on time and no issues, people keep posting the same comment about the size of the plane, they simply cant fly a long haul plane there the runway isnt big enough, maybe someone will soon realise this, food on flight was free and was ok, typical plane food, drinks alittle expensive but again its not weatherspoons, as for the hotel It was amazing had a great sea view with large balcony, cleaner in every day, food fantastic thou I probablly had abit too much same with the drinks, entertainment team worked hard but its love or hate i suppose, they aint westend stars are they and boy do they try, would I return...YES, enjoy your holiday and dont let things like the leg room on the plane spoil what is a great holiday destination, i checked online for a price this morning and notice that extra leg room seats can be booked.... dont be put off!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ianxx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (7,620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,855 - 3,859 of 7,620 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stayed in Nov 2011 for a week -we needed to get away from it all and this is the perfect place for doing just that.

I have to disagree with others who thought the Thomsons flight was cramped. I flew with Thomas Cook not so long ago and it was much worse. I was stir crazy after 2 hours. Thank god for drink!!!

On to the hotel itself - first impressions are 'wow' a true oasis in the desert. It really stands alone with nothing for miles around. Check in was fast and after a short walk to our room we found it spacious and well appointed for our needs (a bed, shower and safe!) seriously though it was great. Clean (and cleaned wonderfully every day) great balcony and a short stroll from the pool.

The food was okay. Good I suppose for all inclusive but it is not five star. There was always something we could eat and it was always hot and fresh which is brill for an all inclusive buffet.

The pools were very clean and the beach great.

There really is NOTHING to do here so if you are looking for an active holiday don't go. If you want to get away from it all, relax and get some sun this is a must see.

I won't mention the evening entertainment cos it's not worth it!

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

When booking this holiday we were told the weather would be amazing as we asked for a destination specifically to be cloud free mostly. we traveled as a young couple and well used to 5 star hotels and also a few AI.

Flight

small plane but runway at boa vista is small so this is all it can take passes quickly enough if you bring ipads/ipods/books or failing that go to sleep ! in flight meals provided both ways.

Weather

having just returned from two weeks there i can tell you that it is NOT for you if you want a holiday where its blue sky all the time which is what we wanted. the weather is overcast most of the time but warm we had 5 days out of 14 where there was a clear blue sky and two mornings it rained.
you will catch a tan through the cloud however and its really easy to burn because of the wind.

Hotel
Hotel is flawless really well set out and huge but it doesn't seem to take long to get anywhere. Spotlessly clean lots of cleaners everywhere during the day.

Room

Rooms are really nice two singles pushed together but its not a problem. Tv has really good English film channels always found something to watch. Bathroom has only a shower but its quite big. there is a hairdryer however probably best to take your own as its not that powerful and the attachment came off easily and i was using the pipe most of the time (was a lot better) There is a safe in the bathroom as well as a large area for clothes behind a hanging bead decoration many hangers provided. also sachets of toiletries are given in your room so don't rely on them. fridge under bathroom counter.

Pool

Very cold ! usually i can spend ages in a pool but this one was very cold and on days where its really overcast and its a bit chilly its a no go.

Beach

Amazing this was worth the whole holiday just to see it. miles of beach that you can see, crystal clear water really lovely. ruined only by smokers chucking their cigarettes in the sand which is disgusting. Water sports on the beach however you can only use all the facilities on green flag days and we had 5 days of green flag all the rest were yellow and only wind surfing is allowed.

Restaurants

All the food here was average Ive definitely had much better food at AI hotels this was really a letdown and it was very repetitive. booking into the extra restaurants was difficult ! had to book 3 days in advance and could only book one at a time. We went to the asian and again food is average all the currys and dishes where the sauces should be thick are just watery but then again you cant expect them to know how to cook asian food.

Bars

Cocktails were amazing very strong ! you could pretty much ask for them to make anything though and if they could do it they would.
Beer was really nice
Wine wasn't awful

Entertainment

First class some hotels would benefit from a team like this. The shows were always lively and effort that went into them was really amazing. During the day they would do dances in the stages around the pool and activities in the pool.


The only thing that i can really pick on that i found really awful was the amount of wasps everywhere. They would be inside the food pool bar all around the drink taps and inside them. the pool bar they would be everywhere at the counter all around the drinks and there would be grey boxes dotted around the resort where people left their drinks and they would congregate around them. When you were sunbathing at the pool and beach they would fly around you even right at the waterfront of the beach. Ive never been to a hotel where this has been such a problem before but it was here and this really needs to be gotten under control.

Also the restaurant would be ridiculous at meal times yes you do queue for food yes you are trying to get out of someones way every place you turn would easily be resolved with two main restaurants instead of one considering the size of the place !

the shop is very expensive there so make sure you bring enough toiletries


Tips

bring a hairdryer
pegs to peg your towels to your beds
phones work normally out there


Overall i think this hotel is not a 5 star however i think in a few years once the island is a more in demand destination with more hotels and more experience in the hotel business it will be incredible , Worth it to see the beach and for the experience but would not return.

Room Tip: Room 1151 !!! nice veiw of gardens not a long walk from main hotel yet a nice short stroll to beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Izzyl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Have just arrived back from a week at the Riu Karamboa. If your after a relaxing holiday this is the hotel for you. The hotel is huge and looks like a massive sand castle on the beach.!

The flight is very cramped as its a small plane for a long haul journey, this is something i feel Thomsons need to look at. But after talking to a few people on holiday its actually the airport at Boa Vista that cannot cater for a larger aircraft??

After arriving at the vary small Boa Vista airport, we were advised by the Thomson rep which coach to get onto, there were only two coaches. Transfer time to the hotel is only 3 and a half minutes which is my eyes is brilliant after sitting for 6 hrs on the plane.

Check in at the hotel was very smooth, was greeted with a refreshing soft drink, reception staff are very helpfully, your suitcases will be taken to your room for you.

Room was pleasant and very clean, the air con will only work if your windows and patio door is shut. Your room will be cleaned every day and towels will only be changed if you place them in the shower. The only down fall is that there is no mini bar in your room you have a fridge but this is empty, if you want botlled water you need to ask reception and they will give you as many bottles as you require, if you want to take a drink back to your room you will need to get this from the bar or the self serve soft drinks despenser located in the reception area.

There are three specialised restaurants you can book evening meals for, but the rep did recommend you book these three nights in advance, we didn't book any of the restaurants but after talking to a few people the Asian restaurant was the best out the three.

The main restaurant at the hotel is buffet style and offers a wide range of food, breakfast is excellent, if your a fussy eater then you will be limited im a fussy eater and i managed fine,but if you don't mind trying different foods then you will find this great.

Weather was lovely while we were there, there is a constant breeze so it keeps you cool, but don't be fooled you will burn so make sure you put plenty of sun cream on.
There are plenty of sun beds so you won't need to reserve your beds please be aware that if you do reserve your beds before 9am the hotel staff will remove your towels.

There are some trips you can go on, like a free walk to the local town, catamaran trip, 4x4 experience, quad biking and a few more, we didn't do any of the trips only because we just wanted to relax, if we had of been there for two weeks then we would of done a few of the trips.

Entertainment is provided every evening by the Riu Entertainment Team.

You will have a great time at the Riu Karamboa!

Room Tip: Request a beach or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank DaisyJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We did a lot of research before we settled on this hotel and we were not disappointed with our choice!
The flight is ok, a little cramped, but at least Thomson have now started providing a complentary light meal. No in flight entertainment though.
Boa Vista is barran, there is nothing there, so the focus of your holiday is the hotel. What things there are to see are best done through the Thomson excursions as majority of "attractions" are reached by dirt tracks, not sign posted, so it relies on local knowledge to get you there. We did the 4x4 highlights excursion, it's half a day and worth going on to see the island. We also went in a snorkelling trip through the hotel scuba centre, €15 for 2hrs and well worth the trip put to see the coral reef and fish.
The hotel itself is huge and very clean. Our room was a good size as we had a suite. Never really had trouble getting beds by the pool, beach could get busy sometimes. The beach runs a flag system but most days were green days with the odd amber day, so no issues with going in the sea. If you want to get in big waves, take a trip to Santa Monica beach, some of them were huge, but be warned, there's no lifeguard at that beach.
The food was pretty good. Only had one poor night. Get into the Buda restuarant, tends to book up quick, it's very nice Asian food. Plenty of drinks choice and the measures are very generous.
The only down point for us was the evening entertainment. Like most people have said they try really hard, it just wasn't to our taste.
Overall we had a great time, would recommend this hotel to anyone. The weather was gorgeous all week and sometimes unbarably hot. Just don't go expecting there to be loads to see and do as there is nothing there. It's a holiday to sit around, relax, and do nothing in lovely surroundings.
We'd give it 4.5 out of 5!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ukohacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boa Vista hotels
5.6 km away
Marine Club Beach Resort
4 km away
Hotel Estoril
Hotel Estoril
#5 of 5 in Sal Rei
93 reviews
20.3 km away
Hotel Riu Touareg
Hotel Riu Touareg
#1 of 1 in Santa Monica
8,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Iberostar Club Boa Vista
Iberostar Club Boa Vista
#1 of 11 in Boa Vista
2,029 reviews
2.5 km away
Royal Horizon Boa Vista
Royal Horizon Boa Vista
#4 of 11 in Boa Vista
1,966 reviews
4.1 km away
Residencial A Paz B&B
Residencial A Paz B&B
#7 of 14 in Boa Vista
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clubhotel Riu Karamboa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clubhotel Riu Karamboa

Address: Lote HO 1, Urb. Morrinho de Baguincho | Praia de Boca Salina, Boa Vista 4110, Cape Verde
Phone Number:
Region: Cape Verde > Boa Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Boa Vista
#2 Spa Hotel in Boa Vista
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Boa Vista
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Boa Vista
Price Range: ₹ 10,897 - ₹ 33,013 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clubhotel Riu Karamboa 4*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the island Boavista in the Cape Verde Islands. 2-Storey main building and 3-storey annexes. Situated on the beachfront. Complimentary sun loungers and parasols on the beach. 7 Km to Sal Rei. 1,5 Km from the airport. Credit cards accepted: Visa, Mastercard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clubhotel Riu Karamboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa Hotel Boa Vista
Clubhotel Riu Karamboa Boa Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing