We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Do not stay here ..........” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Do not stay here ..........”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

The only reason I would stay here, is because it is the closet place to get a room to
the Canadian border. So if you wish to walk over the bridge and stay on the NY side
then this might appeal to some. The reports and reviews in this site are true. This place needs a major overhaul. I would not pay more than $79 to stay here. Try the Sheraton or the Seneca Niagara Casino hotel. Far far superior than here.
If you are Canadian and on a shopping spree then book a motel closer to the outlet malls near Military trail, like the Holiday Inn or Econo Lodge. This motel is simply a tourist trap for people
who dont do their homework when booking a room.I would be very surprised if they get any repeat busines , other than senior bus loads or tournament kids teams ,or just naive travelers..
wanting to be close to the falls.Beware.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojo00139, General Manager at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Guest


Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at The Howard Johnson Closest to The Falls in Niagara Falls, NY. I am sorry your stay was less than satisfying.

On behalf of the of the hotel and it's team I would like to apologize for your stay. We have recently hired a new head housekeeper with many years of experience. In order to ensure
our guests enjoy a clean comfortable stay, The Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls has implemented in house training sessions for all housekeepers. Although our hotel is dated
we pride ourselves on keeping our guest rooms and public areas clean and appealing.

Also our hotel has begun an extensive renovating program with an emphasis on guest rooms
and public areas. We have all new bedding in place and have begun to replace all mattresses
and carpeting in the guest rooms. We take your feedback very seriously and will use the information provided to improve our hotel and make each guest feel comfortable and welcome.
It is my sincere hope that you will consider giving us another chance.

The Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls is a mid-priced family hotel with a great location,
minutes from the majestic Niagara Falls. Our rates reflect this. We have a great loyalty program(WYNDHAM REWARDS) that our repeat guests( many Canadians) utilize for free nights stays, airline miles, rail points and great rewards such as valuable gift cards from national retailers, restaurants, car rentals and more.

Once again please accept my apologies and consider The Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls in your future travel plans.

Have a great day.
Steve
GM
(716)285-5261
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    207
    268
    165
    153
See reviews for
454
269
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

I dont know where to start. Seems this hotel has not been touched since it was built in the 70's maybe. Its totally dated with worn out everything. Room and hallway had a bad smell like when you walk in a damp and moldy basement. Cleaning is not a priority here, and you'll see why. Bugs and cobwebs abound. Consider staying somewhere else in the NY side, or better stay on the Canadian side where the real nice hotels and action are. The reason i stayed in NY was that i could not take my rental car to Canada. The only positive of this hotel is just the location, about 10 min walk to the Falls. I visited in mid October and it looked like a ghost town with nothing to do on the american side. Whoever the owners of these hotels are need to spend some money and remodel, otherwise implode this hotel and build a new one.

Room Tip: Just stay at another hotel seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Axl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

I have found that Howard Johnson is the only hotel closest to the Falls on the American side that permits dogs. Why is it hotel owners think that just because I have a pet I want to be in a dirty hotel room? The carpeting in the room should have been cleaned a few years ago. My dog is clean and so are we, so, it was rather gross staying in that room. We only stayed one night so we tolerated it. My preference would be the Residence Inn (Mariott) which permits dogs and charges $100.00 per stay to clean the carpet. (When did cleaning the carpet of a small room cost $100.00?) I clean my carpets twice a year at home throughout the house and it costs a little more than that; but it's a whole house! Anyway, it's not frugile to stay for one night, but a few nights it's worth it cause the rooms are clean and so are the carpets. We didn't stay at the Residence Inn because it seemed like it was about 30 minutes away from the Falls activities. But that was it's only drawback. HOWARD JOHNSON'S needs to get their priorities in order. I don't mind old furniture, but I do mind dirty. Wake up already!!

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the first floor cause too much traffic going to the lobby and breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadgo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

the location was great and the staff was very nice, the breakfast room lady was very happy to do what she could for you. the rooms,wow.. stuffy and because they allow pets it smelled abit like a kennel one day. the sheets were very clean and white but the carpet needed help,its very 1980 so if you like that retro feel you will love the place

Room Tip: try the sheridan a few blocks away, we will next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed here for one night while visiting the falls on our way through. The room felt dirty and run down. The breakfast area was packed and hot. The location was fine, although there were certainly places closer to the falls. I would suggest staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M_R_TravelingTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 km away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#12 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#5 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.5 km away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls
0.9 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
#11 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.7 km away
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
#20 of 52 in Niagara Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Property: Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Address: 454 Main Street, Niagara Falls, NY 14301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,061 - ₹ 12,653
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Affordable comfort in the heart of Niagara Falls. Niagara's Howard Johnson - Closest to the Falls and Casino. We are just a short stroll to the Famous Falls, Maid of the Mist, and Cave of the Winds - all one & 1/2 blocks from the hotel! The Seneca Casino is just a three block walk80 spacious rooms, including luxurious jacuzzi rooms, all with free wireless internet access. Whether you crave adventure, sightseeing, gaming, romance, shopping, hiking, or fishing Howard Johnson Hotel can accommodate you. An Eco-friendly property. Hotel Highlights: Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all rooms and on site Packages available (click package tab above), King Jacuzzi rooms, Smoking rooms, Indoor heated pool/sauna, In-Room Safes, Free Parking, Helicopter Tours and Sightseeing Tours On-Site, Retro Game Room, Handicapped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Closest To The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing