We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff, not so great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Ranked #36 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great staff, not so great rooms”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

the location was great and the staff was very nice, the breakfast room lady was very happy to do what she could for you. the rooms,wow.. stuffy and because they allow pets it smelled abit like a kennel one day. the sheets were very clean and white but the carpet needed help,its very 1980 so if you like that retro feel you will love the place

Room Tip: try the sheridan a few blocks away, we will next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    219
    289
    187
    172
See reviews for
492
300
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed here for one night while visiting the falls on our way through. The room felt dirty and run down. The breakfast area was packed and hot. The location was fine, although there were certainly places closer to the falls. I would suggest staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_R_TravelingTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Niagara Falls hotels

Red Wing, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This hotel wins the honor of being the worst and also the most expensive hotel on our 21 day road trip. I had made the mistake of not booking a room elsewhere before arriving in Niagara Falls. It was all I could find after looking at all the travel sites and calling over 10 places. I felt dirty just walking into the room. My son wanted to sleep in the van. The room only had one bed for 4 of us so the guy at the front desk brought us an old cot with nasty bedding. We were afraid to put our bags anywhere in the room for fear of getting bed bugs in our luggage. We were afraid to take off our shoes. This hotel is gross. Even the breakfast was bad. It left a terrible impression of Niagara Falls Ny. If you have a choice stay on the canada side as it seems the US side has mostly crappy outdated hotels along the falls. They're also the most expensive, how does that work? Really it's like an overpriced ghetto. We stayed out as late as possible and left as soon as we woke up. The only positive is that it is close to the falls not that that matters much as you can't actually see them from the hotel and there is plenty of parking near the falls anyways. I would never in a million years stay here again.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hotel really is closest to the falls as close as you can get without breaking the bank, that is. This hotel is a lot cheaper than the going rate in this area. Buffalo niagra airport shuttle stops righ tin front of it. There are great restaurants in the vicinity and the falls are at walkable distance.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Maverick182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This is a no-frills, family friendly hotel within easy walking distance to the Falls. It's exactly what you'd expect for the price.

Rooms are outdated to the point of being kind of retro-funky. However, they are well-designed for families with a dressing area outside the bathroom, an extra sink outside of the washroom, and plenty of closet and luggage storage space.

The indoor pool is small but well-maintained with a lifeguard on staff. There's also a sauna, which was a nice surprise for us.

There is a decent breakfast selection--cereal, fresh fruit, bagels and muffins...the usual suspects. The attendant went out of her way to be helpful and make sure everyone had enuogh of what they wanted.

The desk staff was welcoming and extremely helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations, etc.

You can't see the Falls from any of the rooms--in fact, I don't think you can see them from any hotels on the American Side.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojo00139, Owner at Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. I am thrilled you found our rooms at The Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls, NY to be a good value, spacious, family friendly and clean. I’m glad that you found the staff friendly and helpful with directions. Our proximity to the falls, friendly staff and clean spacious rooms make Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls an ideal family destination. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Niagara Falls hotels
0.1 km away
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
Days Inn Niagara at the Falls
#11 of 51 in Niagara Falls
445 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#3 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,028 reviews
0.5 km away
Quality Hotel & Suites At the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
Wingate by Wyndham Niagara Falls
#10 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,027 reviews
0.7 km away
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
The Holiday Inn Niagara Falls
#30 of 51 in Niagara Falls
741 reviews
0.4 km away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 51 in Niagara Falls
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino

Property: Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino
Address: 454 Main St, Niagara Falls, NY 14301-1526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Niagara Falls
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 51 Hotels in Niagara Falls
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,823 - ₹ 14,945
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Affordable comfort in the heart of Niagara Falls. Niagara's Howard Johnson - Closest to the Falls and Casino. We are just a short stroll to the Famous Falls, Maid of the Mist, and Cave of the Winds - all one & 1/2 blocks from the hotel! The Seneca Casino is just a three block walk80 spacious rooms, including luxurious jacuzzi rooms, all with free wireless internet access. Whether you crave adventure, sightseeing, gaming, romance, shopping, hiking, or fishing Howard Johnson Hotel can accommodate you. An Eco-friendly property. Hotel Highlights: Free Wireless High Speed Internet Access in all rooms and on site Packages available (click package tab above), King Jacuzzi rooms, Smoking rooms, Indoor heated pool/sauna, In-Room Safes, Free Parking, Helicopter Tours and Sightseeing Tours On-Site, Retro Game Room, Handicapped rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Closest to the Falls and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Closest To The Falls Hotel Niagara Falls
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing