We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”
Review of Maid of the Mist

Maid of the Mist
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 134.94*
and up
Niagara Falls in One Day: Deluxe Sightseeing Tour of American and Canadian Sides
Ranked #1 of 23 Tours in Niagara Falls
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Maid of the Mist-America's Most Monumental Experience Since 1846. Trips depart every 15 minutes from Prospect Point, Niagara Falls State Park in Niagara Falls, New York. Tours are 20 minutes long. Take a ride to the base of Niagara Falls for an experience to remember. Souvenir rain ponchos are provided.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

If you do one thing when at the Falls, it is this. Feel the full force of several rivers blast you in the face, making you gasp as your adrenalin pumps through your veins and you lose sight of where the boat is going. Just do it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,038
    499
    63
    21
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awe-inspiring!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Seeing the Falls from the parks is truly breath-taking, but being next to it in a boat and watching the water cascading next to you will take your breath away. Captains manuever the large boats right into the horseshoe of the falls where you see and feel the power of this wonderful event of nature.

Rain ponchos are provided and will be needed! If you have high dollar camera equipment, make sure it's in a water-proof housing...it WILL get wet. Seeing Niagra Falls from this vantage point is truly inspiring of the power of Mother Nature!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank KeysgirlY2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

If you are expecting breathtaking views, you will get hugely dissapointed, but if you are looking for a new and fun way of seeing the falls, this attraction is for you.

You depart from either Canada or the US but both do the same trip. The views are very nice, but again, nothing spectacular.

One thing: prices on US website are not updated :( So when I went to pay for my ticket I realized I had to pay about $2 more per person than I thought. I had my credit card so it wasn't a problem, but keep it in mind if you use cash.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank ExplorerFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant way to get close to the falls”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This boat trip is really good. You get so close to both waterfalls. They give you a rain coat that I would advise to wear as the spray is mental!! The only slight issue I would have is that they do pack loads of people on to the boat, and getting to the edge to get a good picture is difficult so prepare for that. But that is to be expected in such a popular tourist spot. This was the highlight of the trip though as I done a day trip from New York.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank cahill1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Illinois
Level Contributor
346 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“An absolute must do experience”
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We weren't even going to stop at Niagara Falls but we drove a little out of our way to see quite possibly the greatest attraction/experience in North America. I was in awe at the power and beauty on display by this waterfall.
Quite possibly the only way to see the power of the falls is by taking a Maid of the Mist boat ride. Be sure to go to the front of the boat when you get onboard cause you will get amazing upclose photos of Horseshoe and American Falls. You will get wet (probably soaked) but it is part of the true experience. I still have the blue ponchos that they provide onboard. The Maid of the Mist boat pulls up so close to the falls within what feels just a few feet.

Helpful?
4 Thank wrigley1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maid of the Mist also viewed

 

Been to Maid of the Mist? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing