We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pricey - but I'm glad I came” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mohonk Mountain House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mohonk Mountain House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pricey - but I'm glad I came”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We came here for a family reunion of sorts, and stayed in the back of the hotel looking over the lake. I loved this place! The food was good, the service was good, the room was comfortable, and the views were amazing. The trails and grounds are incredible. Checking in and out is a zoo, but we came during peak season.

Room Tip: face the lake!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peerless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    995
    484
    192
    128
    84
See reviews for
532
768
35
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (564)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellmore, NY
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We were here the weekend of 2/10 - 2/12/2012 for the chocolate theme weekend. We had gabled room on the sixth floor with a great view of the lake. This was the first time that I had ever slept in a gabled room (very unique ceiling line). The check-in was handled smoothly and our luggage was brought right up to the room.

The room was in excellent condition. Everything worked and it was extremely clean. The first night at bedtime, we were greeted by a stuffed owl on the bed. My wife loved it.

The meals were gourmet quality. We have been on 20 cruises and have yet to see cuisine that matches what is served at Mohonk. Their dining room service is very professional. Dinner was sit down with a chocolate dessert buffet. Breakfast and Lunch buffet with the emphasis being on chocolate. The chocolate pancakes and french toast were outstanding.

We participated in a pool aerobics session which was very enjoyable.

The evening's entertainment the first night was a tiramisu preparation demo. Anthony one of the sous chefs did an marvelous job. The tiramisu was to die for.

The second night featured a band "The Chain Gang". They focus on songs from the 50s and 60s. We thoroughly enjoyed that and stayed for the entire evening.

Saturday morning we had a light snowfall which give the resort a very Currier and Ives type appearance.

Two more demos were done which involved creating a chocolate "sundae" (three types of chocolate desserts on a shell) and a chicken mole. Both were very nice.

One wing of the hotel is being renovated, but outside of the morning when the temperature reached 12 degrees, it really had no impact on guest services.

We thoroughly enjoy Mohonk and would recommend it to anyone looking to take a step back to another era of hotel elegance.

Room Tip: One side faces the countryside and the other one faces the lake. Most PR photos are taken over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trainman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

The mohonk mountain house is an absolute gem in New York!
The rooms are absolutely beautiful and clean.
The 3 meals per day which were included in the price of the stay was absolutely outstanding.
The only drawback is it is alittle pricey.I hope to see a groupon discount soon.

Room Tip: The Tower suite is really designed for a couple only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noelle41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I talk about this resort on my travel blog at http://katrinawoznicki.com/. The property and amenities are wonderful! We took advantage of a midweek family special, although this is by no means a budget hotel or for families traveling on budgets. But the scenery is worth the money and we definitely felt rejuvenated by the jaunt. It's a very family-friendly place, despite the fact there are matches left in every hotel room because each hotel room has its own fireplace. The food is fine--it caters to a common denominator audience--so it tastes good, but there aren't really any culinary surprises. I didn't get a chance to check out the award-winning spa, and the lack of snowfall prevented us from enjoying complimentary snow tubing and cross country skiing. Everyone onsite was extremely friendly and our room was even ready ahead of schedule. Would definitely recommend for families.

Room Tip: Mohonk is about 5 miles from town. If you're traveling with kids and want to save a little money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This is the best resort in the Hudson valley. It's the real deal. Think The Breakers North

Helpful?
Thank j v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
5.5 km away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
21.6 km away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
13.2 km away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
30.1 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
8.0 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Property: Mohonk Mountain House
Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price range (per night): ₹ 35,607 - ₹ 54,670
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing