We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem in upstate NY” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mohonk Mountain House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mohonk Mountain House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in upstate NY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I came to this place for my engagement picture. By saying that. it should tell a lot about this place. The setting is beautiful. The background is stunning. The hike to the top of the hill is a must do while you are there. The dock, the rocks, the trails and the surroundings will keep you busy for a full day of activities. It is only a short drive from NYC and it should be a ideal quick getaway for any NYkers.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwongman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,014
    491
    194
    129
    84
See reviews for
539
780
38
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stephentown, New York
Level Contributor
260 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

Don't be scared away by the price - this place is worth every penny! A weekend at Mohonk rejuvenates and heals and is just about the best way a person could spend a weekend. Hiking trails, boating in summer and skating in winter, cozy reading nooks, on site museum and golf, horse back riding, indoor pool and outdoor beach, spa, world class chefs preparing local food, the gardens... there's just no way to describe it... you must go...

Room Tip: lake side is beautiful but mountainside is quieter on summer weekends... most have fireplaces, most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

My family has been going here for over 30 years. We've had many great weekend getaways, as well as two very memorable family reunions. There's something for everyone, no matter the season.

Room Tip: Rooms with fireplaces in them cost more but are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ms2258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I received a birthday gift certificate to the spa for a massage. I arrived early and was allowed to use the outdoor spa, indoor sauna and steam room for as long as I wished. The spa was immaculate and the staff was professional and courteous. The massage therapist was top notch. The outdoor spa was absolutely amazing surrounded by all of the trees and colors of autumn. The cool weather was just perfect. After spending hours at the spa, I walked around the grounds and visited the gardens. It's quite magical at Mohonk.

Helpful?
2 Thank risagirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

It location is beautiful.
Wife and I went for our anniversary. We are both vegetarians.
We had booked for the whole weekend, starting with Friday and ending Sunday. When we got there, the room we were given was stuff, had a smell of moisture .. when we asked for them to change the room, they did. The person who came to check confimred. So no hassle there.
There are two sections to this house. One still with its old charm and other developed with modern amneties. Their spa is located in the latter new building. Loved the spa.
As per meals, they have breakfast, lunch and dinner included. However, for a vegetarian the selection duing lunch and dinner is limited. They do make courses and you should let them know before you arrive, but i think they can improve on this.
Entertainment is scheduled every night. So you will meet other who are also staying there. We liked the afternoon tea and tour of the plant nursury. Ice Ring was closed when we went.
Bottom Line, Go for a day there. Hike in the morning and pay the day fee for the SPA and spend the day in the SPA.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EdisonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Paltz
5.5 km away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
13.2 km away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
21.6 km away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.1 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
20.1 km away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
8.9 km away
Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohonk Mountain House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohonk Mountain House

Property: Mohonk Mountain House
Address: 1000 Mountain Rest Rd., New Paltz, NY 12561-2814
Region: United States > New York > New Paltz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New Paltz
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,771 - ₹ 39,804
Hotel Class:3 star — Mohonk Mountain House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel, built in the 1860's and filled with charm...ideal for families in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Mohonk Mountain House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohonk House
Mohonk Mountain Hotel
Mohonk New Paltz
Mohawk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz Ny
Mohonk Mountain New Paltz
Mohonk Mountain House New Paltz New York
New Paltz Mohonk Mountain House Resort
Mohonk Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing