We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Driftwood on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Driftwood on the Ocean
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Our family has been going to the Driftwood for over 40 years. I basically grew up there as a kid in the summers. The best part of the Driftwood is the beach. Not only is the Driftwood one of the closest properties to the ocean, but since Hither Hills is right next door, that means you have much more beach and privacy than if you stay at one of the other hotels further down the strip.

The quiet is also noticeable. At night it seems like you have the place to yourself, even though the parking lot could be full. Kids are definitely welcome and there's a playground and pool for them too.

It has gone through quite a few changes including ownership. Currently, it is a co-op which means each of the rooms are individually owned and managed by a management company. Although the property does have minimum standards, all rooms are not the same. Which also means some of the rooms may not be updated but many of the rooms have gone above and beyond to make it as nice as possible. That will really explain why the reviews here are across the board, it really depends on the luck of the draw as to which room type you get.

I do have to admit, we own a room by the pool. I fear that at least one of the reviews might be aimed at us. Which means we need to do a better job of keeping the room updated (the room was re-done during the winter of 2010-11) AND get on the management company to hire better people so when there are issues they are addressed quickly and professionally.

We do take pride in making sure our room is comfortable and well taken care of. That way, everyone that stay's there, loves it as much as we do!

Room Tip: Ask the question,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seaorskisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    41
    13
    7
    13
See reviews for
46
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at the Driftwood Room room #11 in mid-July for a week. Oceanfront room, right off the beach. Fabulous location, views, sounds, etc. Moonlight off the water, the works. Room is newly renovated with every amenity, kitchen is amazing, brand new everything. All new appliances including glass cooktop, dishwasher, huge fridge, surround sound system, free high-speed wireless internet, huge flat screen TV, king bed, ceiling fans, AC, beautiful tiled bathroom. Complete 180 from old room which we had stayed in before. Now it is gorgeous! Ask for it specifically, other rooms have been renovated but not like this. ROOM #11 ON THE OCEAN - BEST ROOM IN THE PLACE!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for Room #11 - king bed 2-room suite facing ocean, best location at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtrvlr55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

I was a little skeptical from the reviews on here but I went anyway and it was fantastic! We stayed in a 2 room oceanfront suite. My room was pretty much brand new. The grounds are very nice. The pool was heated and very clean. Very family oriented. The kids had a blast! The beach was clean. Our room was spotless. The housekeepers were wonderful especially Marlena! I have no complaints at all. I will be returning next year for sure! If you have kids, bring your flashlights so the can go frog hunting at night! That was awesome and you won't believe the size of those frogs haha!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jetaway15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
americanexpat10
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed at the Driftwood in late May, 2011 and were very disappointed in the quality of the room. When we were given our keys, we went to the room to find sand on the rug, stained sheets, an odor of feet, the refrigerator door fell off when we opened it, broken blinds, and no covering on the windowed door to the walkway. You could see right into our room - zero privacy. We called reception immediately and they came to nail a towel over the windowed door. They did not re-clean the room or offer us a cleaner room or fix the refrigerator door or other broken blinds. The manager's excuse? The rooms are privately owend and are co-op so the management cannot spend money for repairs! Pitiful. It's a shame because the location is excellent. Our friends had a room nearby and the condition was just as bad. The front desk is also not open 24 hours.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank americanexpat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

very nice,very short boardwalk walk to beach and the water.just far away enough from town.If your lucky Cyril's bar n grill across the street will be open.The rooms are ok we stayed in the efficiency,kitchen is nice,you can hit the IGA and pick up dinner to cook,or you can BBQ on your own BBQ provided complete with your own picnic table all in all very nice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iluvjamacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
3.4 km away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
10.6 km away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
7.7 km away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
7.9 km away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#10 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
6.3 km away
Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood on the Ocean

Property: Driftwood on the Ocean
Address: 2178 Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Montauk
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,357 - ₹ 25,473
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Driftwood on the Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Driftwood Resort, where family-friendly accommodations, supreme amenities and exceptional service come together to create a first-class experience. A beachfront resort just minutes from the famous Montauk Point Lighthouse and steps from the Atlantic Ocean, our resort on the pristine Amagansett Napeague strip sits on picturesque grounds, offers panoramic ocean vistas and is conveniently located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Driftwood on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood On The Ocean Hotel Montauk
Driftwood On The Ocean Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing