We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurricane Irene Rip Off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Born Free Suites by the Sea
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Long Island, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hurricane Irene Rip Off”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Hurricane warning, mandatory evacuations Island-wide!!! Yet this hotel will not refund my paid-in-full deposit for 3 nights, which would have started tonight. I spoke to their management and they refuse to budge on this.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    22
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
21
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

first of all, Montauk is not full of high end resorts. It's a family oriented town. The Born Free is located across the street from the beach and within walking distance to the town. The suites have one bedroom and fully equipped kitchens. They are kept clean and neat by the housekeeping staff. For those that complained about the decorating, the Born Free is a condo, so each owner decorates their own room- that's why there is a difference between rooms. I have gone to the Born Free for the past two years and am going back this August. It's a great deal, a nice place and in a great location. It sets the stage for a very nice vacation. If your room has weird decorating, ignore it and enjoy listening to the ocean from the deck!

Room Tip: book in Feb or March for a summer stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We have been staying at the Born Free for one week every summer for the past eight years.
We love the location and the room is perfect but the new management is more than we can handle...Every time you call the office the rules change, no one knows what they are talking about but they all have the same line... you booked under the old management. The 2011 prices for our August reservation vary according to when you book. We booked in February, that does not go by the 2011 rate schedule we go by 2010 which was $298.00 more for a week because we booked under the old management. We feel we should pay the price they are charging when we stay. Will not be back. Way to much aggravation for the four families on vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chocolate026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Rockaway, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I can't understand the opinions of the previous two posters. I am writing this from this motel. We checked in today. The suite is spotless, there are no odors, the carpet is immaculate, and the shower is roomy. It is true that this is not a very quiet place to stay, there are many young people here and the sound does travel but this is not bothering us at all so far. The beach is right across the street, the town is a block away, you don't need to drive anywhere. The only complaint is that there is no a/c in the livingroom but there is a ceiling fan which is satisfactory. The evening hours are cool anyway so it really isn't a problem. I would come back here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LLHowarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindenhurst, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Stayed here in the past & liked it.Like being in town & so close to the beach.Our problem was the other VERY noisy guests.When we signed in we had to sign a paper that stated they do not tolerate guests who are being loud & among other things...well every day & every evening these people( not young) had about 15 other people visiting them which was fine but they would be partying on the deck in front of their room & ours, talk very loud take our chairs so that even if we wanted to sit outside we couldn;t bc there was no place to stand or sit.We needed to turn the t.v. up really loud just not to hear them.They would flick their cigar ashes everywhere,heard doors slaming all night & very early in the morning.Just rude people....people need to understand that when you go away you are not the only one that is paying for a vacation & to be more considerate to other people that are also on vacation.So the next time i will be staying somewhere i know that truly doesn't tolerate RUDE people!Not the place to go to if your trying to relax & sleep.As far as the room goes the kitchen was perfect,the stall shower was WAY to small,there is only one a/c in the bedroom so that room you freeze & the other rooms are to warm & the couch bed needs to be replaced NOW! The carpets also need to either be replaced or at least shampooed.Lastly the wifi did not work & our room did not have alot of stations for the t.v.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshine6860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.1 km away
A Wave Inn
A Wave Inn
#33 of 39 in Montauk
95 reviews
0.2 km away
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
1.4 km away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
327 reviews
7.9 km away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#19 of 39 in Montauk
134 reviews
0.6 km away
Atlantic Terrace Motel
Atlantic Terrace Motel
#20 of 39 in Montauk
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Born Free Suites by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Born Free Suites by the Sea

Property: Born Free Suites by the Sea
Address: 115 S Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5191
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,888 - ₹ 26,221
Hotel Class:3 star — Born Free Suites by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the sun and surf is Born Free Suites by the Sea. Offering a choice of twenty-four accommodations. One and two bedroom suites for the evening, weekend, or week. Adjoining rooms are available. Each has a living room, kitchen/dining area, and bedroom. Open all year long! All the pleasures of a shore vacation combined with the comfort and fun your entire family will enjoy at Born Free Suites by the Sea. Live every moment to the fullest! Our beach is a great attraction where ocean bathing is without equal. Surf cast, beach comb, jog, or stroll along our beautiful beach… or just relax. Sailing, motor boating, horseback riding, and many other outdoor activities are offered nearby. Deep-water fishing on the open sea with licensed captains is also available. At Born Free Suites you can walk to a beautiful wide sandy ocean beach… yet be only one block from the center of town. Play tennis and enjoy the other facilities of Montauk Downs, which include a championship 18-hole golf course designed by the famous Robert Trent Jones. Comfortable living by the sea whether you’re single, a couple, or a family. By day enjoy the sun-drenched beaches. After sundown enjoy a moonlight walk along the beach. Relax to the sound of the surf and romantic setting of the moon over the water. When your appetite has been whet by the day’s activities, try one of the many fine restaurants Montauk has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Born Free Suites by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Born Free Hotel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing