We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday dinner with friends ”
Review of Davenport Press

Davenport Press
Ranked #7 of 90 Restaurants in Mineola
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 30
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is decorated so nicely for Christmas-one of the main reasons we decided to go here. The menu is large and has many specials. The portions are large and the steak was delicious. We sat in the front room which isn't as nice as the back room with the fireplace so ask to sit there. The bartender was so nice and they had some live music playing. Overall we enjoyed our food and drinks and would go back.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank cruhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2016

I went with a group of friends for lunch awhile back and really enjoyed the experience. The food and service were good, and the environment charming and cheerful. The menu has a wide selection of foods to enjoy.

Date of visit: December 2015
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Two of us had lunch one afternoon and the food was delicious and ample. No tiny portions here.
There was a specials board with a large number of offerings as well as an extensive written menu. The service was likewise very professional and there is parking beside the building and to a lesser extent on the nearby streets.

The bar is spacious and welcoming.

And the noise level is low so conversation is possible without screaming at each other.

This is an old favorite for good reason.

Date of visit: October 2016
1  Thank StephenM447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I've been to many restaurants in my life. A few have outstanding quality food on a consistent level. Mim's, Peter Luger's and DEFINITELY Davenport Press. If you were a visitor, and asked me to take you to the best restaurant I know for under $80, this would be where I would take you. Even the pre-meal appetizers are extraordinary. Instead of just bread and butter (high in fat, low in fiber), they give you little toasted rounds of bread with a finely chopped combo of tomato, parsley, garlic, olive oil. Hmm good. Their food is ALWAYS cooked just right. They never once over cooked salmon when I ordered it. They have exotic dishes, including duck, halibut and other unusual dished. Service and the ambient is always great too.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Santiago M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We were there last weekend for our daughter's baby shower. Lindo ensured everything was perfect, from the table settings to the centerpieces. The food was excellent, a few of the choices were salmon, penne vodka, chicken, teramasu, key lime pie and more. The food and deserts were excellent and everything went perfectly. The rates for the party were inline and the service was great. Our daughter and guests were very happy. This is an old school venue and they do it right. We look forward to going back there for dinners in the future. Thank you.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SlowPoke59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Davenport Press also viewed

 
Carle Place, Long Island
 
Garden City, Long Island
 

Been to Davenport Press? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing