We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great service and Meals, Great Hot Tub & Pool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Margaretville
Wantagh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great service and Meals, Great Hot Tub & Pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Class location. Meals are very good. Setting is beautiful. Indoore pool and outside hot tub was great after a day of skiiing. Staff is very nice. Very good for children as well as adults. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: 1st or 2nd floor are fine. Rooms arer separate from the pool house
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    33
    20
    13
    13
See reviews for
42
21
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My family and I stayed here this past weekend on a 3 day ski trip. As it was winter, the golf course and outside grounds weren't much to look but the views are fantastic and the main lodge and swimming pool are kept nice.
We experienced several issues though that make it 'not worth the expense'. For the price, I would have expected a much nicer room. Multiple spackle spots were clearly noticed on the walls in several rooms. Cleaniless was an issue as both our bathroom and phone needed to be completely wiped down for food (and other items) left behind. Our entire party purchased a package (3 nights/food included) and it wasn't stated by wait staff that certain menu items were not included. Also, there was no flexibility extended when one of our family members had to leave 1 night early. I would love to recommend this location to my golfing club as the location and scenery was beautiful (even in winter) but the high expense, cleaniless and inflexibility of management makes this impossible.

Room Tip: Don't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golfersworld, Manager at Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
We would like to personally thank you for staying at Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club! As always, we welcome all feedback (positive or negative). I do apologize for your previous negative experience here at Hanah.

I believe you stayed during President's Week this year. This is usually our busiest time during the winter. Naturally, during this time, our prices do increase slightly. I believe you stayed in a standard room which includes two queen beds, a full pull out couch, and a full private bathroom. Recently, we have been working to improve these rooms with fresh paint, carpeting, new mattresses, bedspreads, etc. I apologize if your group of rooms were not finished properly and to your liking. That was not our intention at all. We are a growing business and are always working to improve.

As for your menu selection, we do offer two separate menus when you purchase a hotel stay with us. One is called the "Pub Fare" menu which features pub food such as chicken sandwiches and hamburgers. This menu option is less costly and more family friendly. Our second menu is called the "Full" menu option which includes your bread, soup, salad, entree, and dessert for each person. It features more gourmet options and fresh, local ingredients. This menu option is only $20 more per adult. When we explain the two menus to our prospective guests, we encourage them to view both menu options on our website as well. However, even if there was a confusion and you wanted to upgrade, you and your family could have done this at any time on-site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Margaretville hotels

Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Myself and 5 friends go here every October for a one night/ 2 day golf trip.

This year the whole region (towns, roadways, bridges, peoples homes) was decimated by Hurricane Irene. It is truely sad to see the destruction that took place in this part of NY State. The rivers and streams are still running brown. Hundreds of homes are boarded up or in piles. Trees are down in huge swaths. Businesses are closed. Residents are fighting to bring back some semblance of order. Thousands of peoples lives have been changed forever. We knew this heading up here and did not want to change our plans. We wanted to support the area by spending our money in the area no matter what impact it had on the resort or golf course.

Before Irene: One of the nicest golf courses in the Catskills.

After Irene: It has been reduced to 9 playable holes. The 9 available holes were in good shape considering the magnitude of the storm. Crews were working hard to maintain the upkeep and another crew was putting the washed out holes back together.

The hotel did not look any worse for the wear. The rooms were nice, as usual. They are kept clean and fresh. They all have private balconies looking into the woods with a mountain view.

The main lodge was still beautiful. They have antiques and high end decorations throughout and I did not see any signs of water damage in any of the structures.

The issue this year is that the normally busy resort we come to every October was a ghost town. I suspect that most of the other groups that normally come up for golf did not. There were very few hotel and restaurant workers around. I think most are probably part-timers and without the business, the resort had no way to afford bringing in help. It really is a shame.

With good luck and weather the resort hopes to be back at full steam next year. If you choose to go here please remember the adversity this region faced before passing judgement on conditions.

Hanah Mountain is a great resort with great golf, good food, wonderful staff, beautiful views and nice hotel rooms. They know how to accommodate groups as well as couples.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bartendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golfersworld, Manager at Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
I would like to take this time to thank Trip Advisor for the opportunity to respond to this comment. I would also like to personally thank you for this wonderful review. I can't tell you how much it means to us that in our time of need, there were people who still came to Hanah despite what we could or couldn't offer. That tells us that you not only come here for the "great golf, great food, great atmosphere," but that you actually care about our staff and our business as a whole. It is guests and customers like you that allowed us to stay open during this very difficult time. Many local businesses were forced to close because they simply could not afford to stay open and repair their facilities at the same time. For that, we are very grateful and lucky to not have to make that kind of decision.

On October 29th, we are hosting a Halloween party. 10am-2pm for kids. 7pm for adults. It is free for any persons or families affected by the flood. We are also hosting a fundraiser for flood relief dinner and cabaret show. This will be on November 12th with cocktail hour beginning at 6 PM. We have also made countless donations of food to our local businesses that we knew were serving free food to flood victims. It is our greatest goal to not only bring our business back up to the quality it was, but to help other businesses to do this as well. Thank you for sharing that goal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

I stayed three night at this hotel in this Spring. You can get golf, pool and spa.A room was clean. restraint has lots of special and unique Japanese/Korean food.we got free wi-fi not only in our room, also lounge, restraint, bar. it made us relax and reflesh

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poko37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Went for a anniversary party- dining room and reception poor but the service and food was great.We stayed the night in a basic Motel room for over $200.00.Room in poor condition as are the grounds. What a missed opportunity because the setting is ideal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lovemustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
golfersworld, Manager at Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
Thank you for your feedback on Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club. We have a new upper lodge that has 29 rooms. All of these rooms have and comfortably fit two queen beds. All of these rooms have private bathrooms. Most of them also have at least one sleeper sofa bed. Our basic weekday packages start at $80. I'm not sure when or where you stayed on our facility, but I can assure you that the price point you described is not typical for Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club. If you stayed on a holiday weekend, in an executive or junior suite, or had a large number of people in your party, then yes $200 would be around what we usually charge. However, I can assure you that that price is not typical for us. Also, most of our guest packages also include meals and golf as well as unlimited use of our pool, gym, and sauna facility.

Here at Hanah, we try very hard to keep our prices low and our quality high. This is not only for our local regular customers, but for everyone that steps foot on our property. Due to Hurricane Irene, our golf course and grounds were badly destroyed. Our maintenance staff has been hard at work everyday trying to get the course back into shape before the first snow fall. I assume that the poor conditions that you saw were due to that and I sincerely apologize.

Thank you very much for your business, attention to detail, and constructive criticism. We will work our hardest to ensure that what you experienced here never happens again. With our sincere apology and gratitude, we will continue to grow and improve as much as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Margaretville
35.5 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
17.7 km away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
13.1 km away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.6 km away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
39.4 km away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 5 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
14.7 km away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club

Property: Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club
Address: 576 W Hubbell Hill Rd, Off Route 30, Margaretville, NY 12455-2438
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Margaretville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Margaretville
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,487 - ₹ 18,164
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanah Mountain Resort And Country Club Hotel Margaretville
Hanah Mountain Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing