We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Preskil Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mahebourg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Stayed here as a couple in July 2012. We were very impressed by the friendliness and helpful attitude of the staff. The bar staff were attentive, reception always willing to help and the waiters in the restaurant excellent.
The steak house is really good.
Other reviewers have mentioned the flag system on the beach which worked very well and meant that you were always served immediately when you wanted it but left alone when you did not.
The highlight of the stay for us were two visits to the Isle aux Auguettes which can be reached by boat from only a few yards from the hotel entrance. This is a fantastic nature reserve with very knowlegable guides who showed us pink pidgeons and giant tortoises.
All in all a great stay made especially memorable by the friendly staff especially our room maid who made us some fantastic towel animals!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 924 of 2,506 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

A home away from home. The warmth and kindness of the hotel staff bowls one over. They go to extremes to make one comfortable. By the way it was my second visit. I wouldnt have gone for the second time if they were not so caring and perfect. Well done Preskil! You are not a let down as some of the reviews say what do they expect where there is sand?

Preskil does not lack anything. The food is excellent and the hotel brings different themes for different days. The entertainment is perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maks0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We recently spent our honeymoon at this resort but what a let down!
It was a lovely hotel set in beautiful surroundings but yet we felt it lacked some “je ne sais quois” The sand is hard and always make sure you have shoes to wear if walking in to the sea as the rocks and coral are quite sharp! It was a place we had deliberated over long & hard for our honeymoon & after reading thru brochures & doing hours of homework on the internet we chose Preskil Beach as the place to go. As we drove from the airport to the hotel we were shocked at the way the island looks. The girl who talked us through the hotel spoke quickly and very quietly and was quite hard to understand.
We had originally booked a Lagoon Honeymoon but decided as it was our honeymoon to upgrade to a Deluxe penthouse, a beautiful view but certainly not worth the extra GBP we paid. The room was very basic but yet comfortable. We had paid for an all inclusive holiday & as a well travelled couple we have plenty of experience of what to expect. Preskil is very eco-friendly & quite rightly so so why they feel the need to waste so much paper signing endlessly for every single drink or meal you have is beyond me. Surely the introduction of coloured wrist bands, as in so many other resorts would be more eco-friendly. On several occasions after eating at Spices we would wait for an eternity for someone to produce the bill and paperwork. The staff in Spices seemed rushed& not attentive to our needs for drinks and service on many occasions. The food was repetitive and cold, pizza, pasta, fish, chicken every night can be bit tedious, but yet go to Charka- The steaks are amazing, cooked to perfection.
The drinks menu had so many hidden supplements and made us wonder what exactly was included in an all inclusive holiday ? The evening entertainment seemed to cater mainly for the French & the stage/dance floor appeared to be in a bad location hidden behind poles and people, such a shame.
A minor detail but something I certainly felt would make a difference is final touches to the rooms, we had a lovely elephant made up of towels one day and it was wonderful but why over 13 nights this talent was only shown once I feel was wasted.
The blue sun loungers are uncomfortable and worn& staff did appear to be updating them to new brown covers when we arrived but only got half of them done, again a shame!
The Hawkers, need to respect the flag system and realise red means no, we were constantly hounded by them and sometimes I felt intimidated by their sales talk. The resort has ironing and laundry facilities but irons aren’t allowed in the room as a Health & Safety risk but how can this be when they have a bath on the same wall as electric sockets and plugs? After a 12 hour flight clothes get a little creased in a suitcase and an iron would have been very useful.
Just watch out for hidden supplements and wet, windy cold weather!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

At Easter 2012, my husband, 4 year old son and I stayed at the Preskil Beach. We had such an amazing holiday! I was so pleased that we chose this hotel – it really deserves 5 stars; service is impeccable and they truly want to do absolutely everything to make your holiday perfect.

We stayed in a lagoon room and it was sea facing on the ground floor just tucked behind the prestige cottages. It was great – only metres until we stepped onto the beach and coconuts fell onto our terrace for us. The double bed was simply enormous and very comfy. The room was cleaned twice a day (always tons of clean towels…) and there was even a turn down service when they plugged in the mosquito thingy and removed the mountains of cushions! We got very used to living in luxury…

We went half board (it was nearly £1000 extra with Thomas Cook Signature for 11 nights to go AI). As we are not big drinkers, had breakfast at 10:30am and ate dinner at 7pm, we did not need lunch. We bought snacks and drinks (to put in the room fridge) from the London supermarket (20mins walk away – you need some exercise when you eat all that yummy food!) and our end of holiday bill was minimal. Cocktails and wine was London bar prices but sandwiches/snacks in the pool bar were quite expensive. Half board worked out better value for us.

The hotel has a BRILLIANT Kids’ Club. They were amazing with our 4 year old. I am very nervous leaving him (and he is clingy) but we started with an odd half hour and he adored it. By the end of the holiday he was waving US off as he went off with the Kids’ Club staff on a glass bottom boat from the pier, into the harbour to see the fish! My husband and I could not believe it and we had some special grown-up time in the sunshine – heaven!! Then, the staff asked us if THEY could take our son out to dinner on the Saturday night. He wanted to have pizza with them in the main restaurant and my hubby and I drank cocktails and had a candle-lit dinner round the pool, overlooking the sea. What a treat for 2 hours! At NO charge – bargain! As the resort was fairly small (and there were so few children there – even better!) I felt safe as the staff just came and found us if they had a question about him. He only went for a couple of hours a day but they made such a fuss of him with Easter egg hunts, Kids Club t-shirts and backpacks and art and crafts, painting and videos. They were superb – well done Kids Club staff; you did an amazing job! He even went back to his Nursery at home without a fuss – miracle!!

We took the hotel catamaran out one day from the hotel pier. It cost slightly more than the travel agent’s trip but was worth every penny. What an amazing boat and service to Isle de Cerfs; you must do it… The hotel also offers lots of free water activities such as boats, water skiing, canoes (we canoed to the nature island opposite – brilliant), glass bottom boat twice daily that you can snorkel off and loads more. The Aqua Aerobics in the main pool was better than at my local leisure centre! We also had sunshine every day – although the sun sets early and it wasn’t as windy as I expected it to be. The only rain we had was at night and it was torrential.

There was a manager’s cocktail party one night with complementary drinks which we enjoyed! All levels of staff really want you to have a fantastic holiday and will listen to all comments and action any points immediately if they think it will make their hotel better. We saw 3 weddings whilst we were there and I can understand why they chose here. There are very few English couples/families at the hotel (which we quite enjoyed – it is very cosmopolitan!). Infact we got private transfers from the airport – even though we paid for coach transfers, as we were the only English. Only reason I can think for this is that it is quite expensive to travel to Mauritius and it is a really long way (we flew via Dubai with Emirates and although it is a great service on the new airbus A380, it takes so many hours!). So worth it though.

We did not choose to keep our room on the last day (despite a late flight) as it was quite a lot of money (around £40, I think) but the changing rooms were spotless, with fresh towels and they store your cases safely. Also, there is a little air conditioned room tucked away next to the main Reception Desk and you can use the internet terminal there for free (no time limit); very handy.

If you have booked to go to Preskil Beach then I am very jealous – it really is a little gem of a resort which suited us perfectly. If you are thinking of booking then don’t hesitate. It deserves much praise as the staff and management (including the Kids’ Club Team) go above and beyond to ensure that your hard earned cash gets spent on a holiday to remember. I feel very fortunate to have been to this hotel and would highly recommend it. Well done Preskil Beach, for listening to your customers, remembering that customer service counts, maintaining a gorgeous (gardens are stunning) quiet, peaceful resort and getting it so right. 10/10. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Just returned from our honeymoon in Mauritius and are desperately wanting to go back there! The hotel was the perfect place to stay for us! After just a 15 minute drive from the airport we were in the beautiful, peaceful hotel which was perfectly located out of the way of all the hustle and bustle yet still close enough for us to walk to the shops if needed. Every member of the hotel staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help you, especially mark in the steakhouse who does a fantastic trick with a sword. Haha.
We had a very warm welcome and introduction, barely having to lift a finger as everything was taken care of and were also treated to some 'just married' tops, free massages and a boat trip. Our room in the penthouse suite was out of this world and had a beautiful view of the beach. The bed was lovely and we were treated to a few gecko guests throughout our stay which was a real treat for us! The shower was heavenly and it made a change for the tv to actually have a channel our two worth watching.
The grounds are constantly being maintained by a team of workers who make sure the resort looks its best all the time, the paths are constantly swept and grass is constantly cut and all this is done everyday without interrupting the holiday at all. Even some work was being done on one or two of the huts but this was done so discreetly you wouldn't know unless you were being nosey.
The beach is well maintained and it's amazing to paddle out just a little and have this lovely underwater world at your feet! We highly recommend taking some snorkels with you as there is soo many fish to see! Although the glass bottom boat trip lets you see all these without getting wet if that's what you prefer.
The food.....well you MUST go to the steakhouse at some point, my husband is very fussy about his steak but I have never seen him enjoy a meal so much before in my life and once again we were treated fantastically all the way through the meal. The usual place to eat also has some great food and it's always nice to have a different selection each night. The entertainment is also nice, varying from a man with his guitar to Indian dancing.
The gym is fantastic even though we didn't use it and the spa was lovely, I really did enjoy my massages and they even managed to help my husbands back when we asked for help.
We recommend walking around the lagoon in the evening as the birds have about an hour of making the most incredible noise! But the only thing we will warn you about the the beach hawkers...they are annoying as anything. Luckily they are not allowed in the hotel so could hide from one in particular who was determined to charge us 600rps for a necklace that costs 90rps in a shop, be firm with them and tell them where to go! Also if you wander into town...anyone who starts talking to you about diving for lobster is also going to try and sell you something! Sadly no hotel can stop these people! Defiantly avoid a young man on the beach, he is the one that bugged us everyday and even got a bit rude saying he isn't there everyday and has to sell you something now coming up with every line in the book, claiming he is selling expensive stuff. We recommend kingleys trip though, he was lovely.
Other than that the place is amazing and if we ever manage to go back, we will be staying in that hotel again for certain.
Please choose this hotel.....you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Get a room off the ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahebourg
47.3 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,684 reviews
44.7 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
3,089 reviews
3.3 km away
Shandrani Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
511 reviews
43.1 km away
LUX Le Morne
LUX Le Morne
#1 of 11 in Le Morne
4,851 reviews
34.5 km away
Radisson Blu Poste Lafayette Resort & Spa, Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Preskil Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Preskil Beach Resort

Address: Pointe Jerome, Mahebourg, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Grand Port District > Mahebourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Mahebourg
Price Range: ₹ 11,261 - ₹ 25,110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Preskil Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Preskil Beach Resort is the only hotel in Mauritius to be on a private peninsula, with approximately 750 meters of beach, boasts of its exclusive location, its breathtaking turquoise coloured lagoon and its luxurious and fascinating natural surroundings. Located on the southeast coast of the island, just 15 minutes from the airport, from the historical village of Mahebourg and from the marine park of Blue Bay, this 4-star hotel, which came into being a few decades earlier, captivates all those who cross its threshold to enjoy its beautiful and enchanting surroundings. The refined and understated luxury of Preskil Beach Resort projects itself as being elegant without being intrusive, and blends harmoniously with the typical Creole architectural style of Mauritius, giving it a unique status of holiday, leisure and relaxation. You will only want one thing: to come back again… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Preskil Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius Hotel Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Hotel Mauritius
Preskil Hotel
Preskil Beach Mahebourg
Preskil Beach Resort Mauritius/Mahebourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing