We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some major upgrades!”
Review of Mamaroneck Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mamaroneck Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamaroneck
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Needs some major upgrades!”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

While the location was great, and the staff was very friendly and helpful (suggested a delicious dinner spot - Nautilis Diner), the room we stayed in was in desperate need of an upgrade. It reminded me of something from the 1950s or 1960s, and probably hasn't been updated since then.

The bed itself wasn't awful, but there was wallpaper peeling in multiple places, the stove had a cover over part of it that was secured with duck tape, the tile in the shower stall had been grouted and regrouted and regrouted many times over, and the stall itself was TINY! The walls were paper thin too, so you heard EVERYTHING, from toilets flushing, to showers running, to conversations and TVs in the rooms next door. It was definitely not worth the $90 we paid.

With MOTEL in the name, it should have raised a red flag to me, but all the reviews were so positive, so I went with it. Next time I'll use my gut feeling!

This is the first time I've booked something based on TripAdvisor reviews and been extremely disappointed. Next time I'll be a little more cautious!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank disneyparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    29
    7
    10
    6
See reviews for
14
16
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This is one of the cleanest motels I've stayed at in a long time. The pillow cases are fresh pressed and the sheets wrinkle free!

Albeit a retro style motel, I loved it's charm and country flair.

The entire staff were an absolute pleasure. These are real nice people!

Parking is ample and the lot is well lit. The grounds are modest but extremely well kept.

What a great value for a a hotel so close to the local marinas!

Every type of food is within a mile.

Perfect for an old salt like me!

I will most certainly stay here again when I return in the spring

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tkmellc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My room was very cold and there's no thermostat in the room. I asked the front desk if there was a way to make the room warmer. They said they were not able to make the room warmer and all they were able to do was give me an extra blanket. I took the extra blanket but I was still very cold and didn't get a good night's sleep as a result.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinlisa140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mamaroneck hotels

Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

It’s amazing that this motel survives amongst the suburban swirl that surrounds it. Perhaps it’s because it offers such solid value. The Mamaroneck Motel is a compact fifties-era remnant of a pre-Interstate time. And despite its longevity, it remains well-kept, clean and unassumingly tucked away behind other buildings. (So much so that you should look sharp for its driveway entrance.) Not surprisingly, its U.S. 1 pedigree and proximity to eastern Westchester County locations are perhaps its greatest assets. It's directly across the street from Mamaroneck High School, around the corner from the Harbor Island Park and within easy driving distance of Rye Beach Playland. There is also a variety of nearby food choices. And it is by far the most affordable option in an area with precious few.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DoeHEAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Whilst dated the motel was extremely clean,the staff very helpful(even sending my daughters toy which we left back to England) and we all enjoyed our stay. It is very easy train access to Grand Central Station (30mins) and a nice 15min walk through the town to the rail terminal from the hotel. Very good budget accommodation for New York.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ross s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mamaroneck
4.2 km away
Radisson Hotel New Rochelle
Radisson Hotel New Rochelle
#1 of 2 in New Rochelle
663 reviews
4.6 km away
Residence Inn New Rochelle
Residence Inn New Rochelle
#2 of 2 in New Rochelle
225 reviews
8.0 km away
Courtyard Rye
Courtyard Rye
#1 of 1 in Rye
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Yonkers - Westchester
12.4 km away
Doral Arrowwood
Doral Arrowwood
#2 of 2 in Rye Brook
794 reviews
8.8 km away
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
#5 of 8 in White Plains
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamaroneck Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamaroneck Motel

Property: Mamaroneck Motel
Address: 1015 W Boston Post Rd, Mamaroneck, NY 10543-3349
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > Mamaroneck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mamaroneck
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,606 - ₹ 8,315
Hotel Class:2 star — Mamaroneck Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable lodging in Westchester County, only 21 miles north of Manhattan, the Mamaroneck Motel is an ideal location either for business stays or for fun vacations. Walking distance to beautiful Harbor Island with its beaches, picnic areas and spectacular views of Long Island Sound. Rye Playland located nearby. Nearby Metro North train access to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mamaroneck Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaroneck Hotel Mamaroneck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing