We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget friendly and great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Budget friendly and great views”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Yes, this isn't manhattan. So, buyer beware, you won't find ladies walking their dogs in strollers wearing diamond necklaces noshing on patee. However, this hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and we were able to get one of the few parking spots in the garage. My family and I loved the convenience to the subway. It was nice to come out of the city to a quiet room and get a good night's sleep. Pretentious people judging the people who live nearby apparently have bigger issues, so don't let those reviews sway you. No, it's not an awesome neighborhood, but there's no need to assume it's in any way violent/ghetto. My husband got an awesome sandwich from the deli nearby and the people we engaged on the street were respectful and friendly. I travelled with my husband and two young sons and never felt unsafe. The room was clean, well appointed and was totally worth the extra few bucks for the manhattan view. Free breakfast in the morning was a big bonus and Firoz (the breakfast attendant) was awesome to my boys. Fair warning: the breakfast is usually very busy, but not many other hotels had the breakfast included option as part of the room rate. I would definitely stay here again and have already recommended the hotel to family and friends as an alternative to staying in the hustle and bustle of the city. The "F" train took us everywhere we wanted to go and within minutes. One complaint was the housekeeping. They were reluctant to replenish items that you used, example: toilet paper, laundry bags, hand soap. Also, the only ice machine that had ice was in the breakfast room which was very inconvenient for our 8th floor room. Other than that very happy that this worked out for us. Nice job, Best Western Plaza Hotel!!

Room Tip: definitely pay the few extra bucks for a great manhattan view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    864
    284
    63
    53
See reviews for
593
583
116
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The best things about this hotel are as follows: 1) Very reasonable prices by New York standards; and 2) Fairly close to the subway station and a short commute into Manhattan.

However, there are a number of serious issues with this hotel:
1) The area surrounding the hotel is very dodgy. It's not too bad in the day-time (and the fact that it's only a 2 minute walk to the subway station helps) but I would not want to even do that 2 minute walk on my own at night. Luckily I had my boyfriend with me, so this wasn't an issue.

2) The WiFi service is appalling. They shouldn't even advertise free WiFi. We were at this hotel for 4 days, and in that time, we were probably able to connect to the WiFi for about 15 minutes. My boyfrend couldn't access it at all. There was consistenly the same error message that 'too many users were subscribed to the service', regardless of whether it was the middle of the night (12:30am) or as soon as we woke up in the morning. The only time I was able to access the WiFi was at around 11am, when everyone else must have left the hotel. This was a serious inconvenience to us, as my boyfriend had to go into the NY office the next day and didn't know how to get there. The front desk provided us with an ethernet cable, but even this didn't help, as it wasn't the WiFi itself that was the issue, it was the poor quality internet service. For a hotel of this size, they just need to fork out for more internet subscriptions, or just don't advertise free WiFi.

3) The breakfast room is about a third of the size that it needs to be. Every morning there were either people lurking about, watching you like a hawk so that the second you finished eating they could pounce on your table, or worse yet, trying to balance plates of breakfast food to take back to their bedrooms so they could eat the food there. The actual breakfast selection was pretty average as well. Great if you like to eat donuts for breakfast, but the healthier options were few and far between.

4) Smell: despite being on a non-smoking floor, the whole place smelled of cigarettes, enough to trigger a minor asthma attack!

5) Hotel Booking System: On our second-to-last day in the hotel, I received a call at 11:15am, asking why I hadn't checked out yet. When I said that we were staying another night, the front desk team told me that this wasn't in their booking system. I had added the additional day to my stay (and paid in advance) SIX WEEKS prior to arriving. It was lucky that I'd had a late start that day and so was on site to sort out the issue.
However, upon checking out the next day, the front desk team also then tried to charge me for the full stay (even though I'd paid in advance); when I explained this to the girl and showed her my receipt; she apologised but said that an extra charge had already been put onto my credit card (for what, I do not know) to the amount of $130! She then spent the next 15 minutes trying to refund this amount back to me.

Overall, despite the cheapness of the rates, I would not recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lac La Biche, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

3 couples went to NY for a week, and I booked us at this hotel because of the price and clean bed bug review. Excellant staff, Hugo really stood out making sure we had a pleasnt stay and travels in NY. We got asked a few times during our trip, and people were always surprised that we picked Queens. It was a nice change from the busy Manhattan days we spent sight seeing. Excellant proximity to the subway. The F-Train (friendly) was close by. People were always ready to help with directions or help with suggestions on dining experiences. Thank You to all the friendly people of NY for the visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1proudalbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Handy 2 minute walk to subway. But is located in what I can only describe as a ghetto. I was approached by 2 people begging for their next fix as I walked to the local shop on my first day. After that I had to get taxis in and out. You wouldn't want to walk outside at night. Also cafeteria like a cattle market after 7.30am.... far too small for a hotel that size. Also hotel behind sat right in the middle of city view.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee44441101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The hotel is clean, well managed, and close to Manhattan. I have stayed here about 10 times in the past two years. Very special mention goes to the employee in charge of the free breakfast. His name is Firoz and he is especially helpful and courteous. He not only sets up the breakfast, he helps guests who need help and he clears the tables in the dining room. he is to be commended for the excelletn servie he provides.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvinmarvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 33 in Long Island City
735 reviews
0.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#26 of 33 in Long Island City
1,806 reviews
0.7 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 33 in Long Island City
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#12 of 33 in Long Island City
1,131 reviews
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 33 in Long Island City
512 reviews
0.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Queens/Queensboro Bridge
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#5 of 33 in Long Island City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plaza Hotel
Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,649 - ₹ 15,663
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, where guests will find friendly customer service and superior accommodations at an affordable price. Located just five minutes from public transportation to Manhattan this Long Island City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel is ready to ensure a memorable stay in Long Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing