We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gus does New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gus does New York”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

First impressions of this hotel were poor. On arrival it looked as though someone had decided to build a hotel in the middle of an industrial estate. We seemed to be a long way from the centre of New York. There was nowhere to get a meal unless a burger in a run down, rather seedy looking outlet is what you want.
The hotel seemed crowded, there was a small reception area which was teeming with people. It all seemed very basic. We perked up a bit when we saw our room. Nothing fancy but big enough, spotless and with everything that we could want.
Breakfast is included, so the next morning we went down to the dining area. This is a rather poky room with insufficient seating. The area round the buffet resembled a rugby scrum. The food on offer was cereal, croissants, toast, cakes, yoghurt and sometimes some fruit. It's a case of grab a dirty table if you can.
Our initial despair at finding ourselves in the middle of an industrial estate lifted when we realised that the hotel is situated only a couple of minutes walk from the Subway and a 10 minute ride brought us right into Times Square.

The advantages of this hotel are that it is easy to get to any of the main New York attractions. It is reasonably priced. Clean rooms, fresh towels every day. Breakfast is included although this isn't great and you may have to eat it standing up in a corridor. Staff were very helpful, but then it seems that everybody in New York is helpful. Wonderful place.

The disadvantages are that, you may have to eat your breakfast, which isn't great, standing up in a corridor. It isn't in a nice area at all and there is nothing nearby. We felt perfectly safe, but it isn't an area in which you would dream of spending any time. My plan of a lovely day in New York followed by a shower, change and a nice meal close to the hotel was dashed. That wasn't a problem though, we just spent all day in New York and came back at bedtime.

If you want luxury, don't come here. If you want a hotel within easy reach of the centre, which is clean, comfortable and reasonably priced then I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Much of a muchness, you will only use your room as a bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Smulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bwplazalic33143, Manager at Best Western Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Management
Best Western Plaza Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    824
    272
    61
    49
See reviews for
550
555
114
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is still relatively new and the staff are very nice and helpful. We stayed for 2 nights and the breakfast in the morning was decent considering its free. There is limited parking and plenty of street parking thats free as well. The walk to the subway is literally 1 block away. I ran out of milk for my toddler at 2am I went down to front desk and gentleman gave me milk so I didnt have to run to the store. Very nice of him. I would stay here if I went back to NY.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadia2923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Every time I go to NY I stay there. Clean, very good location, next to metro station, very good reception desk.

Room Tip: High fllor with bridgee view is a very good place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Newish hotel a few minutes from the subway station. It's a best western so pretty predictable. Our room was great; 10th floor with a view Manhattan and it was really clean and comfortable.
Pros: 5 minutes on subway from NY; clean and modern; free parking outside or on street; affordable by NY standards; great views if you get the right room ( we stayed in 1005) .
Cons: area is housing estate/industrial so not many shops although you can find a deli. Not touristy.
If you want clean and affordable a few minutes from 5th Ave then try this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opheliabuttocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosillo, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I made reservations for this hotel about three weeks ago. Under my schedule I got to this hotel today and the attention at the front desk was pretty good, easy going and quick. Tha cab from Laguardia airport to the hotel was a very affordable cost of 13 dollars. The room is clean and with the enough equipment to have a confortable stay. The close subway station makes very easy and fast to get to any place in Manhattan. Today I went and came back from Times Square using the subway train and the experience with the transportation and in the city was quite good. I hope to think the same after the fourth night I´m staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodolfo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#2 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.7 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.1 km away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#11 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.1 km away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#20 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
1.2 km away
The Paper Factory Hotel
The Paper Factory Hotel
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plaza Hotel
Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,148 - ₹ 15,441
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, where guests will find friendly customer service and superior accommodations at an affordable price. Located just five minutes from public transportation to Manhattan this Long Island City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel is ready to ensure a memorable stay in Long Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing