We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Covenient to but cheaper than Manhattan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Long Island City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramada Long Island City
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Kilrea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Covenient to but cheaper than Manhattan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

The main reason we stayed here was because it was much chepaer than hotels in Manhattan. Although based in Long Island we found the hotel to be conveniently located.

If arriving at JFK Airport, get the Air Train to Jamaica station and then subway train E to Queens Plaza. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from Queens Plaza. In terms of getting to Manhattan from the hotel, go to the subway station on 39th Avenue and get either subway train N or Q. It is less than a 10 minute walk from the hotel to 39th Avenue station. From 39th Avenue station the the travel time to Times Square is about 15 minutes while 10 minutes will take you to Central Park. All in all we found this to be very convenient.

We had a room with a Manhattan view. Yes the view does include a Power Station but did also provide us with a decent view of the Manhattan skyline. The room was a decent size. It was clean and included a fridge, a coffee making machine, air conditioning and free wi-fi. The Ensuite was also clean and of sufficient size.

We found the hotel to be very quiet at night with no noise from other rooms or from outside (we were on the fourth floor). The hotel is located in what could be described as a slightly run down area. However we found the area to be quiet and safe when walking back from the subway station late at night.

The one negative about the hotel as mentioned by many other reviewers is the small breakfast area. There are only a few tables and it can be difficult to get one of them in the morning and when you do you usually have to share it with others. The hotel describe the breakfast as complimentary. We found it to be satisfactory. There was bread and a toaster avaialble. There was a also a choice of cereal, juice and doughnuts (which were very nice). There were also mini omelettes available each morning. A coffee making machine is also available from which you can get free coffees at any time of the day.

The staff whilst not overly friendly were polite and helpful.

Oveall we found this to be a good choice of hotel and certainly much better value than staying in Manhattan.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan_ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    369
    283
    93
    81
See reviews for
235
354
80
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
coventry uk
Level Contributor
159 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

I last stayed here two years ago and had nearly as a pleasant stay as last time. Only down point was that some of the tv channels were not working and we had issues connecting our laptop to the internet. It was a little more expensive than last time, but is still a bargain if you don't mind the short journey into Manhattan.

A small hint. If you arrive into penn station from Newark airport. Do not take a town car to your hotel, they quoted us $45. It only costs $15 in a yellow cab.

Room Tip: City facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank couchguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The hotel is located in Long Island City which is in Queens, across the East River from Manhattan. The hotel is located within four or five blocks from four subway stations. From there, you are only one or two stops from Manhattan depending on the line you take. It is also fairly easy to get a cab. The neighborhood looks sketchy, but it's really just industrial. There are plenty of places on 36th street nearby to get something to eat and drink. The hotel staff was friendly. We were assigned room 103 on the first floor which we soon realized was probably the worst room in the hotel. It was next to the stairway and we hear the booming of the closing door all night. Next, the air conditioner was sporadically loud. The room appeared to be very clean, but upon closer inspection we found makeup stains on the sheets and dried blood on one of the pillow covers. I probably would stay here again if I needed cheap lodging and there was no Manhattan option, I would just be more diligent about checking the linens!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the higher floors, even though elevator was slow. Rooms are small, but not the tinies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

First of all, let me clarify that this is a decent place in a safe neighborhood, relatively cheap and accessible to Manhattan by a 15 min subway ride. So all's well... until you run into some issue.

For me, it was a reservation issue. We had booked through the flaky hotel website which, upon check-in, I found out had booked 2 rooms instead of 1. Since it was past their cancellation policy, I was charged for 2 rooms. I asked to speak to the manager. And here's the most inexcusable part -- the manager was not available, could not be contacted and would not get in touch with me! I requested the front desk that I wanted to talk to the manager, reminded them each and every day that I was there and left a message with my email address and phone number. Till date, no one from the hotel has contacted me to ask what has happened and what they could do to resolve it.

So overall, I would not recommend this place. There are a few other hotels in the same locality and price range. I would check them out first before venturing here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KosTravelisLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

+ close to the subway and not very far from Manhattan
+ cheap and clean
+ free WiFi
+ breakfast included
- not very friendly staff
- extremely crowded in the morning (you might not get any breakfast at all)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
1 Thank Kris4534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.5 km away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#21 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#22 of 31 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#9 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#13 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Four Points by Sheraton Long Isl...
#18 of 31 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.1 km away
LIC Hotel
LIC Hotel
#6 of 31 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Long Island City

Property: Ramada Long Island City
Address: 3830 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101-3602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Long Island City
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,816 - ₹ 12,502
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Ramada Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing