We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional in every way”

Carmelo's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Carmelo's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 48 Restaurants in Lewiston
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 13 March 2016

This is not only the most consistently excellent restaurant in Lewiston, but for many miles as well. We dined here last night were blown away by the quality of the food and wonderful, tag team, service. We started with the spaghetti carbonara. If this is on the menu, order it! Sublime and perfectly cooked pasta blends with Chef Carmelo's uber tasty choice of ingredients. We fought over the remaining noodles. Next up was a Atlantic cod in a white bean stew. Word. Desert was the beignet with a side chocolate dunking sauce. Outstanding.

Take advantage of the cozy bar, too. I had a wonderful Pinto Noir and even had a Keith Radford citing at the bar. The local newscaster told us it's by far his favorite restaurant around. The man has great taste.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joefkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2015

We had heard great things about this restaurant. Great food and top notch service. We went there with three other couples. Boy were we disappointed. While the food was good the very poor service ruined what should have been a good experience. One of the members of our group ordered wine with his meal and it never arrived until he reminded the server and then it came with the check. Another member of our group told the owners wife that she did not like her main course and was told she would send our waitress over to take an order for a replacement. This never happened. Water glasses were not refilled. Additional bread was requested and was not brought over for a great length of time. For a restaurant that charges first rate prices they did not deliver on first rate service. They didn't deliver on average service.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2015

Although I've only been here twice I did enjoy it thoroughly both times. I would suggest this place anytime for foor and drink while in Lewiston

Date of visit: March 2015
Thank Chartersinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Really a 5 star meal. Being adventurous I tried the duck and was not disappointed. Waitress recommended medium rare and of course I complied. So very good with the farra, farro? pasta. My husband had a lamb sausage pasta dish which was very tasty. Our companion couple had steaks which melted in their mouth. Dessert was a chocolate marshmellow carmel delight. Was worth every bite.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tkasper3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Had dinner tonight with 2 friends. The menu is seasonal so what is offered this week may not be available next week. We tried the house salad, shrimp with heads, squid, pasta w sausage, cod, roast beef and apple crisp. All dishes were well prepared and we'll presented. Each dish had a fresh seasoning that made for a very enjoyable taste. Fresh herbs and smoked peanuts in the salad and an herb pesto on the beef were stand outs. We felt that prices were reasonable. The service was attentive not intrusive. We will be back!

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris14223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carmelo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carmelo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing