We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax retreat”
Review of Fundu Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fundu Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pemba Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012

The tented rooms are very nice with a private small pool over looking the sea. The hotel is integrated in the vegetation. Skin diving is organized by the hotel, after having ben diving the world, I have been very pleased with what I saw, surprising! Food is not very good, they have to make a big effort to improve level, especially that beach, diving, siesta is all there is, so food is very important to make you stay agreeable. Bar on the pier is relax for dinner cocktails. Visit the village nearby. Excellent transport by speed boat from main Island to Pemba.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the sea is a MUST.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SergeLiege_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thank you for your recent review of Fundu Lagoon. I am pleased to hear that all of the transportation arrangements to our location fell into place for you, and that you were well looked after by our transport staff. I was particularly glad to read your comments on the hotel’s design, and that you appreciated the concept of the resort being as you quite rightly say, ‘integrated’ into the surrounding jungle. You clearly made full use of all the diving facilities that we have on offer which is wonderful; I must say that we are extremely fortunate in being surrounded by the most wonderful underwater wildlife, and I am delighted that you were surprised by seeing creatures that you had never ever seen before, in spite of being an experienced diver who has dived all over the world.

I was, however, saddened to hear that our menu was not to your taste. I am very proud of the high standard of cuisine that our chefs produce for our restaurant, pool and room service areas, and I can only apologise if you felt disappointed by the food on offer, but I trust that this did not spoil your holiday too much.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.


Ellis Flyte (Creative Director)
c.c. Hannes Wolters (General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 177 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had originally planned our honeymoon in Sri Lanka but couldn't get the hotels we wanted so choosing Pemba Island was a second choice. On reflection I think the Gods must have been looking down on us as this was a second heaven and, for the week that we stayed there, on the five for seven night option, we had the most peaceful and perfect honeymoon that anyone could have ever dream of. We are not young and had both been divorced. We married in Kenya and then travelled to Zanzibar for this holiday.
We are seasoned travellers in African and have stayed in African beach resorts and safaris and our assessment of Fundu Lagoon is to put it on a pedestal at or above the 5 star level we have experienced elsewhere in Africa. This holiday was particularly perfect for honeymooners.
The travel from Zanzibar went perfectly although this airport suffers from a lack of technology and efficiency with boarding but this is Africa after all! We were met at Pemba by two nice young lads who drove sensibly and proficiently fromr the airport to Nkoani where our boat was waiting to take us the 45 minutes to Fundu. The lads stopped to show us the rice fields, the exotic trees and spices as well as offering us bottled water and a guide book of the resort showing what we might expect and when we arrivded - sunset cruises, dolphin excursions, diving and sea fishing etc
Upon arrival at the end of the jetty as seen on the website, our luggage was off loaded and taken by the staff directly to our rooms while we checked in. We went through the usual pleasantries where we were again shown the excursion opportunities, the activity centre, restaurants and resort layout etc. Everything went smoothly.
We were advised that the rustling that you might hear in the leaves alongside the footpaths, particularly at night were crabs, and boy were they enormous when you got the chance to see them.
So what was really impressive - well firstly this resort is not packed with people, there are only 18 units and when we arrived there were only 10 guests so you can imagine the level of service we experienced. Secondly the beach, it was completely empty, no rushing here to get your towel onto the beach. Yes the locals come by as the tide goes out as the women come and collect clams and the men head out to see in their boats to fish. But unlike some resorts, particularly in Kenya, we were never hassled by the locals trying to sell us stuff. In fact they were friendly and nice when we asked to see what they had in the bowls they carried on their heads.
We had booked a Superior Suite and couldn't believe the size of the accommodation dedicated to us. Yes the bedroom is tented but to the highest standard with the most enormous bed sitting beneath the local style thatched roofing. The accommodation has excellent showers with nicely scented soaps and shampoos. The private decking, complete with personal plunge pool, overlooks the beach albeit very privately for those on the beach wanting to view in the opposite direction. The rooms give access directly onto the beach so no awkward drive or walk even to get to the water.
The sea is very warm, almost too warm at times, and we were worried about the rooms not having air conditioning. This is where the personal plunge pool comes to the for - just lovely having a dip in the night if you get too hot - particularly for honeymooners!!
There were not too many excursions and we werenot pestered to part with our money.
Most of the regular activities were included, the sunset cruise etc and a modest cost for snorkelling at the local nearby island.
The location for the evening meals was nicely varied although you could order food in your room. We found that having enjoying each others company all day it made a nice break to sit with others for 'sun-downers' before eating at the restaurant or on the beach or the pier, to meet other guests and learn what they had done and enjoyed during the day.
I found the food perfect, a limited choice but nicely cooked and not too heavy - considering that everything had to come in via the sea.
We loved the dolphin trip and the snorkelling - we didn't dive but those that did said it was fabulous.
There is no mobile phone access and very limited internet so you are really away from the crowds and the bustle of work and other activities.
I took the option to fish for a half day, It was quite expensive at 500$ but having caught a 10kg tune and a dorado of about the same weight it was well worth the one-off experience. I was amazed that they used the 10kg tuna whole and alive as bait to try and catch something bigger - alas we didnt but both fish were given to the chef for the restaurant.
Bearing in mind that everything at this resort has to come in by boat, it is to their credit that the food was always fresh, simple and nicely prepared.
I was bothered by a mosquito bite, one per night, despite using the repellents and keeping the tent closed at night. They just seem to like me - but this did not stop me enjoying my stay.
This resort is honeymoon heaven, quiet and secluded where you can relax, read a book, play scrabble and do all the other things that honeymooner do!! as well as enjoy the Indian Ocean and all the romance that comes with it.
We didn't elect for the 'honeymoon' option although, on our last night, they arranged a personalised candle-lit beach bbq of lobster and prawns with champaign that made a perfect ending to the most wonderful and memorable week.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nodrog_911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This is the most wonderful place that constantly exceeds expectations from the moment you set foot off the jetty. After a journey that involved 3 planes, a jeep and a speedboat we were exhausted yet revived almost immediately with the sheer joy of being in such a spectacular location and the warmth and hospitality of the welcome we received. We were lucky enough to stay in a Superior Suite and were truly impressed by the size of the accomodation, the standard of decor, the marvellous plunge pool, the proximity to the sea ...I could go on. Nestling into the hillside overlooking the lagoon we felt as if we were part of the local environment and not inside a 5 star bubble that could be anywhere in the world. We were able to enjoy watching monkeys play in the day and see bush babies looking through the trees with their huge eyes at night. The lagoon is tidal and so swimming best at high tide but there is a fabulous infinity pool in marvellous proximity to a very willing barman, Adam. The staff were amazing; so friendly and prepared always to go the extra mile to make you feel truly at home. Yet at the same time the atmosphere is so chilled that, barefoot for the most part, you just sink into the most wonderful relaxation. Food is great and the wine flowed.. The jetty bar provided a great pre- supper focus to meet up and chat with people as did the bar after supper. Hannes is the perfect host, whose attention to detail ensures that everything just seems to run so smoothly. He has a great team with William and Phil, who put themselves out to be available and help with activities and trips.This really is the first place that I have been to that I REALLY didn't want to go home...

Room Tip: If you can go for a Superior suite, but beach suites are good and we saw Jungle suite as well, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank susanhiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon after a week’s safari across Tanzania. From the minute we stepped foot on the island we felt at home and completely relaxed and it was everything we wanted after a week of moving from camp to camp. Everything here was perfect from the food, walks on the beach, snorkelling, fishing the people and a to top it all a candle lit dinner for 2 under the stars on what felt like our beach!!!

Amazing place and still when we look at the pictures now they bring a smile to our face.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

my wife and I spent 7 days here in january in a superior suite. It is indeed a fantastic resort, not the european 5* standard but made up for by the situation. All rooms and suites are basically a safari tent with over-arching thatch roof. Ours was well equipped plus mini bar, tea/coffee, mosquito net, coils and spray; 2 way radio for room service, hair dryer, ceiling fans, bath robes, umbrellas, torch, UK three pin sockets etc etc. Not all rooms are as well equipped. No TV, radio, phone or wifi but internet PC in the shop. We felt the extra for the superior suite was well worth as we had a plunge pool (with kingfishers)and direct access to the beach. Also large decking area and day rooms with an upstairs seating area in the jungle canopy with monkeys coming and going.

Room Tip: Superior suites worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pemba Island hotels
20.2 km away
Pemba Lodge
Pemba Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
98 reviews
44.9 km away
Constance Aiyana
Constance Aiyana
#2 of 7 in Pemba Island
134 reviews
12.9 km away
Hotel Archipelago
Hotel Archipelago
#5 of 7 in Pemba Island
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
8 reviews
41.1 km away
Gecko Nature Lodge
Gecko Nature Lodge
#1 of 5 in Pemba Island
203 reviews
16 km away
Emerald Bay Resort
Emerald Bay Resort
#1 of 6 in Pemba Island
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fundu Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fundu Lagoon

Address: Wambaa Peninsula, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pemba Island
Price Range: ₹ 37,176 - ₹ 61,528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fundu Lagoon 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Fundu Lagoon Pemba Island
Fundu Lagoon Hotel Pemba Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing