We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You really won't want to go home...”
Review of Fundu Lagoon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pemba Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fundu Lagoon
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pemba Island
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“You really won't want to go home...”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This is the most wonderful place that constantly exceeds expectations from the moment you set foot off the jetty. After a journey that involved 3 planes, a jeep and a speedboat we were exhausted yet revived almost immediately with the sheer joy of being in such a spectacular location and the warmth and hospitality of the welcome we received. We were lucky enough to stay in a Superior Suite and were truly impressed by the size of the accomodation, the standard of decor, the marvellous plunge pool, the proximity to the sea ...I could go on. Nestling into the hillside overlooking the lagoon we felt as if we were part of the local environment and not inside a 5 star bubble that could be anywhere in the world. We were able to enjoy watching monkeys play in the day and see bush babies looking through the trees with their huge eyes at night. The lagoon is tidal and so swimming best at high tide but there is a fabulous infinity pool in marvellous proximity to a very willing barman, Adam. The staff were amazing; so friendly and prepared always to go the extra mile to make you feel truly at home. Yet at the same time the atmosphere is so chilled that, barefoot for the most part, you just sink into the most wonderful relaxation. Food is great and the wine flowed.. The jetty bar provided a great pre- supper focus to meet up and chat with people as did the bar after supper. Hannes is the perfect host, whose attention to detail ensures that everything just seems to run so smoothly. He has a great team with William and Phil, who put themselves out to be available and help with activities and trips.This really is the first place that I have been to that I REALLY didn't want to go home...

Room Tip: If you can go for a Superior suite, but beach suites are good and we saw Jungle suite as well, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susanhiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    37
    9
    11
    6
See reviews for
30
238
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon after a week’s safari across Tanzania. From the minute we stepped foot on the island we felt at home and completely relaxed and it was everything we wanted after a week of moving from camp to camp. Everything here was perfect from the food, walks on the beach, snorkelling, fishing the people and a to top it all a candle lit dinner for 2 under the stars on what felt like our beach!!!

Amazing place and still when we look at the pictures now they bring a smile to our face.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

my wife and I spent 7 days here in january in a superior suite. It is indeed a fantastic resort, not the european 5* standard but made up for by the situation. All rooms and suites are basically a safari tent with over-arching thatch roof. Ours was well equipped plus mini bar, tea/coffee, mosquito net, coils and spray; 2 way radio for room service, hair dryer, ceiling fans, bath robes, umbrellas, torch, UK three pin sockets etc etc. Not all rooms are as well equipped. No TV, radio, phone or wifi but internet PC in the shop. We felt the extra for the superior suite was well worth as we had a plunge pool (with kingfishers)and direct access to the beach. Also large decking area and day rooms with an upstairs seating area in the jungle canopy with monkeys coming and going.

Room Tip: Superior suites worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

After our safari we spent 6 nights at this small and personal resort. It was pure relaxation!

The atmosphere is very laid back. The charming, attentive and friendly staff go out of their way to please, nothing is too much trouble. It’s once more about people who make all the difference: Hannes, William, Liz and the whole team make the place what it is.

The food was excellent (and we are not that easy to please). We enjoyed excellent three course dinners every night, a Swahili night and a phantastic BBQ on the beach. On our last evening we had an exquisite private dinner on the beach, which was a very nice touch! Lunch we ate at the restaurant by the infinity pool where we spent most days. A snorkelling trip to Misali island and a sunset cruise were also great fun.

We had a standard room which is a tent. The accommodation is comfortable but not luxurious.

It was our second stay and we would definitely go back a third time!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zurich_traveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Our jaws dropped upon being shown our "room": an overly spacious room housing a king-size bed, fridge, living area, and marble-tiled bathroom with double shower, and outside a deck with plunge pool, a covered lounge area, an upstairs deck with sofas, and a private section of beach! I felt embarrassingly like the "rich and famous".

The property also has a 2-tier pool with bar, a TV/games room with pool table, a large dining room visited by black-faced monkeys, plenty of lounge and bar area, and a professionally run PADI dive shop. Food was first-rate, staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful with our requests for earlier mealtimes and always had vegetarian options.

The snorkeling around the resort is so-so: we saw 3 lionfish, puffer fish, baracuda, but there's not much coral to speak of. However, on a picnic day-out to Misali island, we snorkeled from the beach and the coral is jaw-dropping: sea fans, staghorns, soft coral, purple tube coral,... TONS of colourful, varied coral like I haven't seen in years. Our second day out to the island we snorkeled from the dive boat and saw huge schools of little fish, as well as a turtle and sand ray. There are no large fish to speak of. Misali Island is a protected marine park, but just beyond its limits, the locals are seen out fishing every day. However, it's worth just to see all that pristine coral.

Beautiful stay to a fabulous Africa vacation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemba Island
20.2 km away
Pemba Lodge
Pemba Lodge
#1 of 1 in Kiweni (Shamiani)
91 reviews
0.0 km away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
7 reviews
12.9 km away
Hotel Archipelago
Hotel Archipelago
#4 of 6 in Pemba Island
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
365.5 km away
The Retreat Selous
The Retreat Selous
#2 of 3 in Selous Game Reserve
64 reviews
45.1 km away
The Aiyana
The Aiyana
#1 of 7 in Pemba Island
114 reviews
16.0 km away
Emerald Bay Resort
Emerald Bay Resort
#2 of 7 in Pemba Island
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fundu Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fundu Lagoon

Property: Fundu Lagoon
Address: Wambaa Peninsula, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pemba Island
Hotel Class:5 star — Fundu Lagoon 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Fundu Lagoon Pemba Island
Fundu Lagoon Hotel Pemba Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing